We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hidden Gem”

Ridgeway Country House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smallridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridgeway Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Smallridge B&B and Inns
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous hidden Gem”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

What an amazing little hotel! Rooms are lovely. Very clean and individual Each one has its own special feature The owners are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Comfortable and lovely atmosphere. Excellent home cooked food. Portions are more than ample. Presentation is lovely. Would highly recommend this hotel. Location is off the beaten track away from the noise of traffic Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family recently enjoyed yet another first class celebration birthday meal at this great hostelry.We have been visiting The Ridgeway for such events for over ten years and have seen it blossom from a delightful village pub to the very attractive country establishment it is today. Kevin and Carole, and their staff, are to be congratulated on their achievements.
Two of my family members originally lived in Berkshire, and a highlight of their visits to us in Chard was always a meal at The Ridgeway. They now reside in North Somerset and still want to come!
Back in the 'pub days' the food, the service and the atmosphere were excellent and we are pleased to say that all of that remains the same today - the menu choices are great ! the preparation is great! and the service and welcome are also great!
We hop[e to be with you again soon Kevin and Carole.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axminster
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a family meal here, last night. We had never been before but had heard about the place. We received a warm welcome and the service was excellent and friendly.
I ordered the Steak Diane and it was the best I have ever tasted.
There was none of the "rushing" that I have experienced in many places.
A great evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Visited the Ridgeway for a meal with friends for an evening meal,absolutely delicious.There were 10 of us and the entire place seemed to be full,but that did not cause any delay in us ordering our meal and it was served to us in a very reasonable time.The friends that had steaks said they could have cut it with the back of the knife,they were that tender.All in all a very good meal at a reasonable price with super service.We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Following a family funeral in Axminster we had afternoon tea for fifty people at the Ridgeway hotel on 5th April 2013.
The staff were very friendly and attentive , we had small sandwiches , scones with jam and cream , homemade cakes of all sorts , each time one was finishing another one appeared ! The food was all made by the owners wife Carole ...an excellent afternoon tea, all our guests commented on how nice it was ,ample tea and coffee .Kevin opened the bar for some of the more thirsty members of the family.
The room was good plenty of tables and chairs , we were also able to spread out to the bar area. Lots of comfortable seating , everywhere was very clean and tidy .
Most important was that we were made to feel very welcome and were not hurried.
Parking was easy.
Unfortunately it was too cold to sit in the garden but it looked really nice and lovely views over the counrtyside .
Many thanks to Carole and Kevin

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Had a meal here for about 40 of us. The place itself is very nice. Lovely building and dining room. The staff were friendly and attentive but the meal was very average. Admittedly they were catering for a large party but my main course was overcooked and the fish my wife had was bland

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My partner took me here for a surprise night away. The location is lovely, so peaceful and pretty. It has parking which is a big bonus!

The room was beautiful, quite spacious, very clean and tidy.

The food was delicious, they were very busy with a birthday party and all the other tables were full, but our food came out swiftly and was very tasty!

Quite a find!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Additional Information about Ridgeway Country House Hotel

Property: Ridgeway Country House Hotel
Address: Smallridge Road | Smallridge, Smallridge EX13 7JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Smallridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smallridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgway, set in the Blackdown Hills, with panoramic views over the East Devon countryside, an area of outstanding natural beauty, just five miles from the Jurassic Coast of Lyme Regis and one mile from the River Cottage Shop at Axminster. Whether you are looking for a touch of decadence,the country feeling or a more contemporary style there is a room at the Ridgeway to suit you, Fine Dining using only the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Country House Hotel Smallridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing