We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuckers Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuckers Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Dalwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The perfect country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We regularly visit this fabulous pub. They do the best Sunday lunches! The cheese platter was amazing! It's a proper old Devonshire pub with a thatched roof and open fires. There's an outside seating area for sunny days and lots of cosy seating for the less than sunny days. Excellent menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    25
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Went back to the Tuckers for a family Sunday lunch ; its the most bautiful and ancient building in a lovely village and w ehave never eaten badly ; this time everyone went for the roast beef served with perfect yorkshires and probably 10 different vegetables; followed by puddings and washed down with local beers,and ciders. Service was charming and efficient from a young and attractive team who coped with everything very well

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

It's hard to remember this is just a pub. The food has really improved with the current owners. We had the best meal in ever in the Tuckers for many years and I would say compared to the other places we have eaten in this year they are the top. Our only suggestion would be to reduce the portion sizes a bit. If you have starter and main you will struggle to eat a sweet too. In past they have had some owners who don't care the current ones certainly do. My brother in-law is a few hundred meters away so we have eaten here many times over the years. With the current owners in charge we would highly recommend the Tuckers.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BarcodeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Had dinner there on our trip around the Old Dart,recommended by our B n B hosts at the "Summer Lodge"in Dalwood,I personally made the fatal mistake of ordering an entree(which was superb)then when the mains came I was gobsmacked,their was enough to feed an army and it was delicious,unfortunately no room for desert.Service was great(hope the barmaid/waitress made it safely to NZ)Will be back on our next trip over.Lovely Yorkshire hospitality in Devon.Cheers The "Johnsons" from downunder.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Had lunch at the Tuckers Arms today. As ever - EXCELLENT. Many thanx.
Never disappointed, a proper country pub with great food!”
The Tuckers manages to be very much a local pub, whilst at the same time offers food of fantastic quality. It's not cheap, but it is worth it - with generous portions of well prepared food. I've always found them friendly, the service is excellent, and the choice of food is excellent. This has become a regular haunt and well worth visiting the village for!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard and Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were advised to visit Tuckers Arms as it was good quality food and a nice country pub. We visited mid-week without booking but the pub was more or less deserted so did not struggle for a table. We went for simple sausage and mash and it was lovely although the veg left a little to be desired. As for the service, it was quite pleasant but not very swift. We sat waiting for our table to be cleared whilst the two women chatted at the bar about anything and everything...
Overall an OK pub meal but I don't think we would go out of our way to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz6484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked the Tucker's Arms to take out relatives to celebrate a big anniversary and were not disappointed. An excellent, varied and tempting menu was followed by food which entirely lived up to the expectations on the menu. Nicely presented and extremely tasty food which applied to all of the many meals served to the group; service was very attentive too.
The beers were also very good.
An excellent choice of venue and we shall be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalwood
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.8 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.2 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 1 in Chardstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckers Arms

Property: Tuckers Arms
Address: Dalwood Nr Axminster, Dalwood EX13 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dalwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwood
Hotel Class:2 star — Tuckers Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tuckers Arms Hotel Dalwood
Tuckers Arms Dalwood, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing