We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions of excellent homemade food”
Review of Tuckers Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuckers Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Dalwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large portions of excellent homemade food”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A trip to Dalwood and the Tuckers Arms should be on everyones list when visiting East Devon. The pub itself is a very interesting 12th century building, the food served is excellent - very tasty, plenty of it and reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and efficient. We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    25
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were staying in the area and were recommended to go to Tuckers Arms and we were not disappointed. Beautiful food, quick service all you need from a country pub.
I had the chicken breast in a tandoori sauce which was delicious, better than my local curry house.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plantlady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We had a meal on a Saturday night recently to celebrate a family birthday. My father asked for a medium rare steak and when it arrived he joked that it was so rare it could almost have been still chewing the cud! He said it was also quite tough to cut up. To be fair, he did not give the staff an opportunity to rectify the situation as, not wanting to 'make a fuss', he told them his meal was fine when they asked. Everyone else's food was very nice - although the ploughmans arrived in several plates and bowls on a large wooden chopping board, which made the table crowded (and half the quantity would have been sufficient). Those of us who found room for desserts said they were delicious. The waiting staff were very friendly and pleasant. Our second visit to the Tuckers Arms and I am sure we will be back (but won't order steak next time).

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank theevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

After staying in Dorset, we booked a room for one night before travelling home. This pub is so full of character - thatched roof, inglenook fireplace, stone floors and ancient beams. We booked a room with dinner B & B. The evening meal was really delicious - great taste and presentation on all three courses! Service was very good. Breakfast was also plentiful and they even did a 'Doggy' portion for our dog, who stayed too! The only negative would be that the rooms are rather dated, but were adequate and comfy and the food and service were well worth the stay. Friendly staff and locals in this beautiful, little country village. We would return :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Traditional, friendly, great food and beer. What more could you ask for? In the middle of a charming village full of friendly locals. If you are looking for a nice country pub for a few beers and food this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 318ise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuckersarms, Owner at Tuckers Arms, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
thankyou very much for your review...we would like to take this oppertunity to thank yourselves and also the many others on here for some wonderful feedback..unfortunatly running a busy family business we dont always get the time to respond to everyones lovely reviews although we always read them and take the comments on board x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

The drive here was in itself worth the visit to Dalwood, beautiful location.
The pub is lovely. The scent of an open fire set the mood for a relaxing sunday dinner! We had guests over from sweden and we couldn't have found a more authentic british pub.
The food, sunday roast, excellent ! All 5 of us very satisfied. And the amount of food was more than satisfying !
We will be back ! This one will be hard to beat !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lukemclachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

During a recent stay at Aller Farm on a Glamping holiday we visited the Tuckers Arms on the last night of our break - we just wish we had found you on the first night.

We didn't book (booking is probably recommended) but they managed to make up a table of 8. for us on a Thursday night. The food was excellent, we all had a different dish off the menu and everyone commented how tasty it was. Highly recommended and already suggested that visitors to Aller Farm in Stockland pay you a visit.

There's even a skittle alley for a bit of fun - we didn't use it but think anyone can have a go if you want to.

Total bill for 2 courses with 2 drinks and tip was just about £20 a head - better value than the River Cottage Canteen that we lunched at on the same day and much better food in our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalwood
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
7.8 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.2 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
4.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 1 in Chardstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckers Arms

Property: Tuckers Arms
Address: Dalwood Nr Axminster, Dalwood EX13 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dalwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwood
Hotel Class:2 star — Tuckers Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tuckers Arms Hotel Dalwood
Tuckers Arms Dalwood, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing