We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly and family run”
Review of Tuckers Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuckers Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Dalwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly and family run”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The Tuckers arms does brilliant food with friendly service providing very welcoming and comfortable surroundings typical of a country pub / inn.

Have been many times and it's always very good especially those Sunday roasts, you need a hearty appetite.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    25
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
38
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Recommended by the owners of Summer Lodge, it was a true surprise at how amazing the food was. Great portion sizes, and the food and selection was delicious.
We never stayed in the accommodation so can't rate the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We ate here a few weeks ago and the food was absolutely fabulous. My husband has a severe dairy allergy but there was no problem in getting the dish of his choice made 'dairy free'.
We were warmly greeted upon arrival and made to feel very welcome and the service throughout was attentive and friendly.
It's also nice that the Tuckers has a dog friendly area although space is limited so booking in advance would seem sensible.
Very well worth a visit - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staying in the village with friends we had the joy of eating Sunday dinner at the tuckers arms.
The roast beef dinner with all the trimmings was the best roast many of us had ever had. Beef slow roasted and full of flavour accompanied by crisp expertly cooked vegetables and Yorkshire pudding, and plentiful serving too.
First class staff who were helpful and obligingly gave us tastings of beer before we bought.
A really lovely memorable meal at a really good value price, nice surroundings nice people. Perfect in fact.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountdurand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A major disappointment; all down to very bad front of house management.
We had called a few hours beforehand and booked a table for 8:00, but on arrival the pub was quite busy and seemed understaffed/unable to cope. As a result no one was able to greet us, so we had to make our way to the bar where there was another 10 min wait before we were finally served and could announced ourselves, at which point we were told that because we were late they had given our table in the bar area to others who were waiting for a table in the dining room. However, we had arrived on time and it was only their lack of staffing that meant we had not been greeted or been able to announce ourselves.
Our wait then extended from being ‘only 10-15 mins’ to nearly an hour. We were not impressed. The manageress couldn’t seem to bring herself to apologise sincerely without offering loads of excuses and blaming us for what was ultimately her bad management.
We finally sat down to eat at around 9:15. The staff were noticeably less friendly to us. We had to ask for more drinks; we were not offered desert; we were not offered coffee. The bill I asked for twice didn’t arrive and we ended up getting up from the table and having to ask again.
The manageress just didn’t have the sense, experience or intelligence to realise that a genuine apology and a smile can make an enormous difference to a situation like this. She was incapable of offering a genuine apology and came across as rude and arrogant. We wouldn't recommend going here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stopped here for lunch just before Easter. The food was absolutely outstanding - warm fresh bread and a delicious and imaginative salad - not the usual bit of lettuce and unripe pub fare. Otter beer on tap - Otter lager is very good as well - and free refills of coffee: very welcome. Friendly staff - what else can you want? It is, as the French might comment - well worth the detour!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickypritc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The four of us went in, no booking or prior discussion, for our evening meal whilst on a short break staying in Axminster. Normally I'm the real problem one, which can make the others somewhat uncomfortable. However instead of having to have an egg and chips meal, or something similarly basic, chef adapted the meal of my choice and presented a wonderfully tasty, very imaginatively done gluten and dairy free meal. It was amazing, flavours brilliant. I felt so well looked after. Good food all round.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalwood
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
38 reviews
7.3 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andrewshayes Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckers Arms

Property: Tuckers Arms
Address: Dalwood Nr Axminster, Dalwood EX13 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dalwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwood
Hotel Class:2 star — Tuckers Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tuckers Arms Hotel Dalwood
Tuckers Arms Dalwood, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing