We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladismith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My family and I stayed here in December. Such natural beauty,which is breath-taking. The trip down to the reserve was awesome . When we arrived ,we were greeted by the owners and there was such a personal feel about the place and we were made to feel very welcome.
The lodge we stayed in was superb and accomodated 9 of us. Great space and very comfortable.Amazing views.
Food in the restaurant was superb and service excellent. Great chef.
A 6.30am safari is well worth it.
On leaving we were given super pic-nic boxes. Sad to leave such a wonderful place. Hope to go back .
So much more i could write. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the lodge for two nights. The setting and the drive through the Boschluiskoof pass to get to the nature reserve was amazing. The owners welcomed us personally and provided excellent service throughout our stay. The food was very good and we enjoyed each meal. We loved the peacefull and serene setting and the fact that there was no mobile signal, meaning that one can truly switch off and relax. We went on an early morning game drive and saw a lot of game including kudu and zebra. We were also extremely lucky to see a leopard one evening, something that we will remember for the rest of our lives! We will most definitely return and visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoMdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I first visted the area many years ago and a friend and i nearly bought the farm , such is the natural beauty of Bosch Luys Kloof !! However , we could not ever have done justice to the setting in the way the present owners have.This is a very very special lodge , Magnificent accommodation and a personal touch of service not easily found .The menu is superb , and for once , we found an exciting and varied winelist .Not to be missed , and the Swartberg is a must for Mountain Biking , hiking , 4x4 trails , and the animal and birdlife ( especially around the nearby Gamkkaskloof Dam is stunning.
john and hilde lee

Room Tip: the cottage furthest from the lodge has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zambez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Thanks a lot, we had a magnificent time in the land of yours.
It really feels like coming into another "zone" once winding down the pass, high of anticipation
what will be discovered around the next rock formation.

And our discovery at the end of all bends and curves was priceless indeed. We loved your chalet with all its comfort and decent design and we enjoyed the company of your amicable staff. They looked after us so very well. Please send warmest greetings to Jeanine, Margie and Gerdus.
Our breakfasts and dinners were amongst the highlights of our stay, well prepared delicious food and such swift and decent service. Many thanks !

And we found us in such splendid isolation, just in the marvellous company of the so likeable geckos, lizards and huge variety of birds. We did not come for any game and the sightings of Kudus, Bontebok and Oryx came as a welcomed surprise. Not to forget the impressive tortoise shuffling her way up the hill one morning.

We shall come back one day !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbergsvater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Thanks a lot, we had a magnificent time in the land of yours.
It really feels like coming into another "zone" once winding down the pass, high of anticipation
what will be discovered around the next rock formation.

And our discovery at the end of all bends and curves was priceless indeed. We loved your chalet with all its comfort and decent design and we enjoyed the company of your amicable staff. They looked after us so very well. Please send warmest greetings to Jeanine, Margie and Gerdus.
Our breakfasts and dinners were amongst the highlights of our stay, well prepared delicious food and such swift and decent service. Many thanks !

And we found us in such splendid isolation, just in the marvellous company of the so likeable geckos, lizards and huge variety of birds. We did not come for any game and the sightings of Kudus, Bontebok and Oryx came as a welcomed surprise. Not to forget the impressive tortoise shuffling her way up the hill one morning.

We shall come back one day !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbergsvater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent 2 great nights in this stunning Lodge. The food, rooms, beds, just everything was excellent. The drive on the 4 x 4 was amazing. We saw so many animals and learnt such a lot. When I say room I really mean your own house, with a lovely bath where you can look out of a huge window and see the bush. It is so peaceful you can only hear the birds and baboons.

Room Tip: The lodges are set apart and all look just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44hawthorn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Bosch Luys Kloof was an excellent choice for my wife and I during our recent long weekend excursion into the Karoo. It ticked a lot of our boxes for a weekend getaway - far enough but not too far from Cape Town, different alternative routes to and from the venue, unspoilt natural beauty and breathtaking scenery, stunning lodge with excellent food and service, private and romantic accommodation tastefully decorated, the opportunity to explore the 4x4 routes and do game viewing in our own vehicle. A testimony of their attitude to service was when the lodge chef offered to prepare a picnic basket so that we could enjoy a wonderful early morning breakfast in one of the gorges ("klofies") whilst doing a 4x4 route in the reserve.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ladismith hotels
24.2 mi away
Mymering
Mymering
#1 of 13 in Ladismith
390 reviews
23.5 mi away
Oaksrest Vineyards Guest Farm
19.6 mi away
Ladismith Manor
Ladismith Manor
#4 of 13 in Ladismith
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
24.5 mi away
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ladismith
67 reviews
19.4 mi away
Albert Manor Guest House
Albert Manor Guest House
#2 of 13 in Ladismith
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve

Address: Seweweekspoort | Off Route 62, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ladismith
Price Range: £53 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and "out of this world!" A 14,000 ha mountain wilderness area with free roaming game in the Great Karoo offering a four star lodge and chalets and guesthouse with fantastic chef-prepared meals served in the lodge and included in the rates. Bosch Luys Kloof boasts extraordinary, unspoilt Karoo beauty and scenery for an all year round break-always. Guided nature drives in open Landrovers, nature walks, 4x4 routes, MTB and more! Malaria free. Contact us for a personalised quote year round! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing