We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“my favourite hideaway”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The stay at the Wolverfontein cottages was the absolute highlight of my vacation.
This accommodation has a very friendly vibe, it is perfectly situated and the hosts are simply adorable; these hosting skills could only be topped by the charme of their dogs.
If you are looking for something real and pure, the joy of connecting to unspoiled nature and the sound of silence, well, you have found what you were looking for.
I can`t thank enough for the warm hospitality, all the informations and the feeling of being recharged.
Surely I will come back for an extended stay.
So, many thanks to my hosts for this great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katja w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kraaifontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

After a pleasant drive from Oudtshoorn we arrived at this little piece of heaven close to Barrydale. It was the perfect way to end of a magical honeymoon week for my wife and I. The hosts were very kind and helpful but the best was yet to come. The cottage was superbly decorated with the most interesting memorabilia and things to discover. The beautiful star filled evening sky and absolute quiet ended of a perfect week for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillbay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Spent three days of absolute bliss in Die Ou Waenhuis at Wolverfontein. Beautifully restored; comfortable; well equipped, decor to die for, two very helpful friendly hosts and we simply adored their dogs. Only the sound of nature around you. The swim in the natural river pool was something so different. Do yourself a favour and go and stay there for a few days to enjoy the Klein Karoo at its best. Can honestly recommend it for an unbelievable getaway. Thanks for the good time we had you guys....we'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeonStillbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Road-tripping through South Africa, spent a couple of nights here and could happily have spent a week. By far the best accommodation of our four week tour - and we've stayed in some very sweet places.
Ashley and Andre are the perfect hosts, and have created accommodation that is comfortable, stylish and deliciously quirky. A sort of under-stated luxurious earthiness pervades.
We stayed in D'Waenhuis, which is a converted Wagon House. One separate double bedroom, and then a put-me-up couch in a large, open-plan living-dining-kitchen-space. There is a larger property available (see their website). The immediate terrain is beautiful and harsh.
We had a morning in nearby Barrydale and on the way back spent a couple of hours floating around in the "Radioactive Springs" of the nearby Warmwaterberg Spa. Back at the ranch, sitting out on the stoep in the evening sun, glass of local wine in hand, the world was ours...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is an absolute gem in the Klein Karoo ( Little Karoo). I stayed in D' Waenhuis cottage which was roomy and airy, lovely high ceiling. Kitchen with everything you need, lovely big gas stove and oven. Good strong fan for high summer. Amazing art and artifacts all over add greatly to a most vibrant ambience. It is very rare to find a place so lovingly well set up. But the best for me is the unbelievable serenity and beauty of nature right from your front porch. I was so thankful for the amazing blessing of having a twilight relax on that porch after two days of driving from Johannesburg. Magic sitting with a drink and beholding beautiful thorn trees with birds nests and amazing bird life right in front of your eyes. And amazing stars at night. Pure rainwater to drink. This is an experience so worth having, do it ! Also Ashley and Andre are lovely people and great hosts....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svengolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Having made quite a few trips to Wolverfontein over the past 3 years, I can highly recommend this as a place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life.

The cottages are so beautifully decorated and it's very clear how much love was put into making the space the ideal place to get away and unwind.

Ashley and Andre are awesome hosts, always making sure that everything is just perfect. I absolutely love spending time out there and generally drive away feeling rather sad to leave that little piece of heaven behind.

Hopefully I will be heading out to the Klein Karoo again very soon....!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral_aka_kuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

my beautiful bride Valerie and i spent a couple of days at Wolverfontein farm cottages on our honeymoon and could not have asked for a nicer getaway place. The owners were friendly and ever so helpful but also gave us the much needed space Honeymooners are seeking - the location is stunning with some beautiful spots to visit nearby and some great walks and really a fantastic spot to just get away to for any occasion. the accommodation itself was really warm and inviting and oozed the kind of Karoo feel that you are looking for when you pass through those parts - definitely keen for another visit when next we pass by that way. thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ladismith hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaksrest Vineyards Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
Mymering
Mymering
#1 of 12 in Ladismith
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ladismith Manor
Ladismith Manor
#4 of 12 in Ladismith
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albert Manor Guest House
Albert Manor Guest House
#3 of 12 in Ladismith
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ritorna Me
Ritorna Me
#5 of 7 in Ladismith
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
#4 of 7 in Ladismith
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages

Property: Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
Address: Portion 8, Wolverfontein Farm | Portion 8, Wolverfontein Farm, Ladismith 6655, South Africa (Formerly Wolverfontein Farm Cottages)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ladismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolverfontein, nestled at the foot of the Touwsberg Game Reserve on the banks of the Touws River, is conveniently situated just of the popular route 62, between Barrydale and Ladismith. These fully equipped self-catering farm cottages are beautifully restored historical buildings and offer a unique and authentic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing