We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Long Melford)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Long Melford)(Great Value!)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Lion Hotel(Long Melford)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
The Bell(Clare)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
19
23
14
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
23
14
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkevery morningstayed for nightscomfy bedwould stay againdelphi
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Small family run hotel with very friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Facilities fairly basic, the room we stayed in (small double) could have done with a bit of modernisation. Good full english breakfast. Location was ideal as we were attending a party in the adjoined function room and bar.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Used Hill Lodge as a base for my daughters Christening at the end of October.

Absolutly fantastic!! Stayed for three nights and I was pleasantly suprised. Having previously managed the Mill Hotel, I looked upon Hill Lodge as competition - and quite rightly so! From start to finish, Irene was great, welcoming and just opened the doors to her house for me and my family.

Had the reception there on Sunday 27th - and again, it was great - smiling team etc.

The bed (I think Room 4).....was too die for! I tried sneaking it outside but got caught!! The breakfast was great.

If you don't want the corporate, standardised experience then go here - the warmth of the family that own this is big enough!!

10* if I could!

Room Tip: Choose room 4
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanW0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I arrived after dark to spend 5 nights on a walking trip, Sudbury being a good centre with strategic bus links. Apart from an illuminated sign on the road frontage, there was little to announce that this was a hotel and first impressions were somewhat underwhelming. It all seemed rather institutional, more like an old people's home than a hotel, with spartan decoration and furnishing. Although the owner was friendly enough on arrival, there was nothing outwardly to indicate "welcome" as I approached across the dominating hardstanding and stepped inside.

In daylight, this establishment was similarly unwelcoming, the building being quite characterless. It really does need a makeover, inside and out.

The room had a double bed but no room for anything else except a wooden chair and tiny bedside cabinets. There was an integral wardrobe and a small en suite wet room. The shower was adequate. Although generally clean, there was grubbiness areas like light switches and the shower handles - a bit jaded. The paper signs on the corridor walls announcing the location of the board room (for breakfast) added to the impression of tiredness.

As I grew more familiar with the place and the couple running it, I felt more comfortable. The slight smell in the room when I arrived (from the wet room I think) quickly went.
I gained the distinct impression that this hotel is aimed principally at the commercial rather than tourist market and this was quite apparent at breakfast, when most other diners were wearing their working clothes. OK for someone staying alone like me but I could see others being disappointed. There was very little tourist information on display, not even a map of Sudbury (except for one on the wall highlighting the town's churches) although the owner kindly found a handy pocket-sized one for me.

Breakfast, in a dated room with a 70s style patterned carpet, was reasonable with a good selection of well-in-date cereals and a decently cooked and presented breakfast, including good scrambled egg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good points - very short walking distance from town where you can access all amenities - shops, restaurants, bars ect... toilets & rooms are clean.
Down side - very dated and needs a good refurbishment and general overhaul - not somewhere to stay if you are looking for luxury / relaxation or a holiday longer than a night or so.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hill Lodge is just a short walk from the town centre and has a sizeable car park. Check in was very straight forward, the room was immaculate with all the usual facilities, comfortable bed, wet room and thick curtains which blank out the early morning sun.

The hotel has a decent bar too and large breakfast room.

For late returning revellers there is keypad system to enter, best to enter the code onto a mobile phone before going out.

All in all no complaints at all, friendly owner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Observer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews