We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding reception!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding reception!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We held our wedding reception here in June and whilst the hotel is in the process of being renovated the areas we used were finished and looking fantastic! The staff bent over backwards to make the day perfect for us and our guests... our guests commented on the fantastic location and the wonderful food!
Thanks in particular to manager Dan , Josie and everyone involved.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newmantoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_wilson99, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your big day! I know for the staff and I it was a great pleasure to be involved!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill very soon (perhaps for your first year anniversary?)

We hope that you enjoy your honeymoon and wish you both all the happiness for the future.

Kindest Regards
Dan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    369
    173
    100
    43
See reviews for
151
584
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed here for two nights recently. We had a very nice room with a good bathroom and comfy bed. It was clean and tidy. Other friends who were staying there as well had to change rooms because they were not up to standard.

The bar downstairs was well priced and stayed open until the last guests went to bed, so there is no worry about last orders, which was great.

The breakfast had the usual full english buffet, along with some meats, cheeses and cereals. Everything i had to eat was fine and pretty tasty and very reasonable for the price we were paying.

There was also free internet throughout the hotel which was very good.

All in all it was a solid hotel but can be a bit hit and miss with the rooms

Room Tip: Have a look if possible before hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_wilson99, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and I am so glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay here at the Mill.

During our refurbishment, the bedrooms will be refurbished, ensuring that they meet the expectations of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mill very soon.

Kindest Regards
Dan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding in the area. The hotel downstairs is alright, but my 1st worry came when we asked to leave our bags somewhere whilst we waited to check in. The lady showed us a cupboard which was absolutely filthy, there was no way I was leaving my dress in there! The room (number 1) was cramped and outdated. The bathroom was pretty dity, there was several years of mould built up around the tap. The carpet was worn bear in places and there was a general feel of mustiness. All we could do was have a large drink and try not to look around whilst we got ready to go out! The breakfast in the morning, although in a lovely room, was pretty inedible, the orange juice especially was undrinkable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catkate83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_wilson99, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Mill.

I have investigated into the state of our cloakroom, and this has now been resolved, offering a clean environment in where guests are able to leave their luggage.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment where bedrooms shall be updated and revitalised minimising the chance of any mould. Carpets shall also be replaced.

I hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Mill Hotel.

Kindest Regards
Dan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We recently established the business networking group 4Networking Sudbury at the Mill Hotel. It was the obvious choice.
As Group Leader I can say that from the very beginning we were made to feel most welcome and that Dan Wilson, the Operations Manager, and his staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant.
The obvious attention to detail, coupled with the Suraya Group's ambitious plans for the property, mean that I confidently expect the Mill to be 4Networking's Sudbury home long into the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMaine_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_wilson99, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Here at the Mill we enjoy hosting 4Networking and look forward to the future.

Kindest Regards
Dan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in the Mill as we were going to a nearby festival, and we stayed in one of the refurbished rooms on the 3rd floor. The room was simple but stylish, with crisp white bedlinen and a lovely large bathroom. It looked as though it had been painted very recently. There was still scaffolding on the side of the hotel whilst we stayed but it didn't cause us any problems. The building is very old and this inevitably meant the floorboards creaked, so you could tell when the people next to you were walking around, but we thought this added to the charm. The view out over the meadows and the millpond was lovely. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was a buffet with cooked and continental options. The value for money was good and we would return if we were staying in Sudbury again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G134Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_wilson99, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Mill.

When in the area, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel whether it be for accommodation or our dining area.

Kindest Regards
Dan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We had a truely wonderful stay at the Mill Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, polite and made us feel welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable, and a wonderfully inviting space. Food was excellent, and we would highly recommend it to others. We would gladly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_wilson99, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you so much for your positive, kind comments.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Mill.

I hope that we have the opporuntity in welcoming you back here to the Mill in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Dan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed here for one night with my wife as we were attending a wedding nearby.

The Hotel itself is very appealing as is the bar and restaurant, it’s a short walk from the centre of Sudbury.
Our room (number 32) was basic but adequate for a single night stay, the view of the river and fields was quite pleasant.
The desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was perfectly fine but service needs to be improved on things such as an absence of plates at the buffet table and tea was brought over but no cups, milk or sugar.
Overall we paid £50 B&B for a 1 night stay which is great value for money.
I feel the basic room and minor service issues are insignificant for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_wilson99, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Mill and your comments regarding our breakfast service have been noted and acted upon.

I hope that we have the opporuntity in welcoming you back here to the Mill in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Dan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing