We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable break”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable break”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Booked as a package with afternoon tea, dinner and overnight stay with breakfast at a truly bargain rate so expectation not terribly high, but what a wonderful surprise! We had a room in the main building which was very clean and comfortable. There were one or two minor maintenance issues in the room but it was well furnished and linens and towels were spotless. Now for the food! Afternoon tea was lovely - very fresh and home made. Dinner was very enjoyable with a lot of choice as the festive menu was also available and they are very happy for you to mix and match. The food was well cooked and presented and the whole meal was very enjoyable. Service was excellent throughout our stay with attentive and efficient staff. The hotel sits in a lovely position overlooking the water meadows and it was lovely to get out for a good walk after the afternoon tea in preparation for the next meal! All in all a lovely break and we will return even without the deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    392
    184
    104
    52
See reviews for
163
630
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel itself is nice, the room was spacious.

This hotel was booked as a gift for me and my partner by his mother. She paid around £100 more on booking to upgrade our room. The breakfast every morning was very nice, and the dinner we received complementary was also nice.

The hotel is very convenient located, and was warm considering we visited in the snowy season. One thing i would add is that the hotel manager (a male) checked us out on departure, and tried to charge us again for our room upgrade. Luckily i checked the bill before signing, but he did seem to insinuate we were being untruthful that it had been paid for on booking (maybe due to our age, i'm not too sure).

The hotel is nice enough, but the staff didnt really go the extra mile.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Room booked had nice views of the water meadows; pity it was so stiflingly hot we had to change rooms immediately. Maintenance at the hotel could do with being on the agenda: bulb missing in one bedstead light, then we found both were not working anyway. A handle was off one wardrobe door; Dinner was first-class on the first night; just average on the second night stayed. Bathroom was very clean, which is a major plus. No signs to the car park means confusion on arrival ... Definitely a turn-off at checkout when I had a confrontational exchange with the desk clerk over data protection issues! Enough to make me rethink staying again when in Sudbury on business.

Room Tip: Make sure the radiators are working. It is a hot environment in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a very very nice time here. The afternoon tea with champagne and absolutely delicious sandwiches and cake was superb as was the evening meal. The bed and pillows were so comfy and breakfast lovely too. All in all a delightful experience - Thank you very much

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Booked a night away through Secret escapes for b/b three course meal and Afternoon tea with fizz.
We Had a Superior room with a river view over the lovely countryside of the Meadows - Room was of a good size and had a large comfortable bed.
Well furnished with nice white bed linen and decorated nicely - Bathroom was a little on the small size but did the job - water pressure was very low - running a bath took quite a while.
Afternoon tea was yummy and scones were to die for!! A most enjoyable afternoon tea.
The evening meal was of a good standard and there was plenty of choice on the menu - My Husband opted for the steak and said it was a good choice - The sea bass was also very well presented and enjoyable.
Breakfast was a buffet help yourself - All very good and hot - not to much of a choice but enough to cater for everyone.
We enjoyed our stay and the staff were all very pleasant and did a really good job of making you welcome.
A nice Hotel to get away from it all - if we are in the area again would stay again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed last Sat on the Travelzoo overnight deal. Charlotte on reception was lovely and friendly, as were the rest of the team who worked tirelessly throughout our stay. They did an excellent job as the hotel was packed to the rafters, (including a large table of people staying for a birthday celebration) Despite this we were never kept waiting for long, and the staff were very well organised. Afternoon tea with a glass of fizz was yummy ( delicious scones especially) and our three course evening meal was very good also, with plenty of choices in all courses. We both plumped for steak which was probably the most tender we have ever eaten ( and we have travelled and eaten a few in our time) Once again service was excellent. Ditto for breakfast where we enjoyed a full English buffet to set us on our way. We stayed in the actual building in a cosy warm room with good sized tv and plenty of tea coffee and welcome biccies. The hotel is near to town so we were able to take an afternoon stroll after tea and then back in readiness for dinner. All in all we had a lovely stay. The staff were great ( thanks especially Charlotte) and we would love to return for another similar visit soon. Big thanks Legacy Mill.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed with a special offer package of dinner, b&b, and champagne afternoon tea. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is wonderful and there are lovely, rural views from the hotel restaurant, bar and bedrooms. Service was great and staff were all very friendly. The hotel welcome dogs, and our very lucky lab had some doggy treats left in the bedroom for him. A very thoughtful touch! The only slight disappointment was that our room was very small and, along with the dog and his bed, there wasn't much room left for manoeuvre. Other than that, the hotel had a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and there is plenty to see and do if the country walks aren't enough to keep you busy.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing, cosy getaway in the countryside, and I would like to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
20.7 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
508 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,164 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing