We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Long Melford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Long Melford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Lion Hotel(Long Melford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell(Clare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Drapers Hotel(Earls Colne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,261)
Filter reviews
1,261 results
Traveller rating
436
450
206
109
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
450
206
109
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream teaafternoon teano liftwater wheelwater meadowsold milloverlooking the riversuperior roomthird floorevening mealbar areasconestravelzoo offerlovely locationgroupon dealmain buildingglass of prosecco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,261 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked a great package through Travel Zoo for my husband's 60th birthday. We had afternoon tea, sandwiches and cakes with a glass of Champagne, a 3 course dinner, overnight stay and full English breakfast, all for an amazing £89 for the 2 of us. Staff in the hotel were welcoming,helpful and friendly and we were very happy with our room. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished with some of the rooms already completed. It is situated by the river overlooking the common and they have some rooms allocated for those who have a dog. You can easily walk into the centre of the town to do some shopping. I really hope that another similar deal will be offered next year, because I will definitely book another stay. In fact would consider paying more!

Room Tip: You may want to pay extra for the view over the common as views are lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Booked as a package with afternoon tea, dinner and overnight stay with breakfast at a truly bargain rate so expectation not terribly high, but what a wonderful surprise! We had a room in the main building which was very clean and comfortable. There were one or two minor maintenance issues in the room but it was well furnished and linens and towels were spotless. Now for the food! Afternoon tea was lovely - very fresh and home made. Dinner was very enjoyable with a lot of choice as the festive menu was also available and they are very happy for you to mix and match. The food was well cooked and presented and the whole meal was very enjoyable. Service was excellent throughout our stay with attentive and efficient staff. The hotel sits in a lovely position overlooking the water meadows and it was lovely to get out for a good walk after the afternoon tea in preparation for the next meal! All in all a lovely break and we will return even without the deal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyMayEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel itself is nice, the room was spacious.

This hotel was booked as a gift for me and my partner by his mother. She paid around £100 more on booking to upgrade our room. The breakfast every morning was very nice, and the dinner we received complementary was also nice.

The hotel is very convenient located, and was warm considering we visited in the snowy season. One thing i would add is that the hotel manager (a male) checked us out on departure, and tried to charge us again for our room upgrade. Luckily i checked the bill before signing, but he did seem to insinuate we were being untruthful that it had been paid for on booking (maybe due to our age, i'm not too sure).

The hotel is nice enough, but the staff didnt really go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Room booked had nice views of the water meadows; pity it was so stiflingly hot we had to change rooms immediately. Maintenance at the hotel could do with being on the agenda: bulb missing in one bedstead light, then we found both were not working anyway. A handle was off one wardrobe door; Dinner was first-class on the first night; just average on the second night stayed. Bathroom was very clean, which is a major plus. No signs to the car park means confusion on arrival ... Definitely a turn-off at checkout when I had a confrontational exchange with the desk clerk over data protection issues! Enough to make me rethink staying again when in Sudbury on business.

Room Tip: Make sure the radiators are working. It is a hot environment in winter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curly10Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a very very nice time here. The afternoon tea with champagne and absolutely delicious sandwiches and cake was superb as was the evening meal. The bed and pillows were so comfy and breakfast lovely too. All in all a delightful experience - Thank you very much

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews