We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is my 'local' but I recommend The Mill to friends and colleagues”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is my 'local' but I recommend The Mill to friends and colleagues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I love the Mill Hotel! The location is idyllic, with views across the Water Meadows & the Mill pond. The dog friendly public bar may put some people off, but it is a bonus for me, after a long walk across the King's Meadow. There are several very interesting country walks and good cycle routes. The hotel is situated in splendid isolation, but is only a 10 minute walk to Sudbury market square.( Excellent Thursday & Saturday markets)
The Mill has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment and represents great value for money. The sun terrace in the Spring / Summer months is blissful, overlooking the meadows. Very pleasant lunch and dinner venue.
All in all a great place to stay, whether it be for 1 night od longer.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Meadows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGrantCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    369
    173
    100
    43
See reviews for
151
584
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Sudbury and do not want to be in the town centre - which can be noisy.This is a very good hotel in an historic building and has preserved much of its original character whilst incorporating modern amenities. The location is ideal as it is only a short distance out of the town centre, which is easily walkable. There is plenty of car parking space available. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. There was only one draft beer available however they do usually serve local real ales. The restaurant choice was a little limited and perhaps overpriced, but the food was very good, well presented and served efficiently.

My only complaint is the music played in the restaurant which was neither entertaining or 'background' - in fact it was intrusive and the staff agreed with me and tried to change it but were apprently unable to.

But I will definitely stay here again. And I agree about the hearty breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask if a room with river view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boss1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile


We have stayed at the Mill Hotel a number of times over the last 6 years but due a bad experience a while ago we had not been back.

We came across a fantastic Travel Zoo deal so decided to give it another go and are so glad we did!

The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment and it certainly shows! We were very impressed with the new bedrooms. The decor was lovely and the room had a super comfy bed! We had a meadow view room (47) which had lovely views.

The staff were very helpful & friendly and checking in/ out was a breeze!

We had a Champagne afternoon tea when we arrived which was very nice. We also had an evening meal & breakfast which were also of a high standard.

The location of the hotel is perfect, right by the river & good for country walks and only a 10 minute walk into Sudbury.

We will definitely be back! :0)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Friendly hotel. Rooms clean but small. Food was good. Room service for breakfast , and I must say its one of the best cooked breakfasts we have had, tasty and hot .. Hotel gets busy with the locals dropping by for a beer, seems to be a popular place with dog walkers. Think we would stay again maybe in the summer and bring the dog too, the Hotel charge £10 a night extra for the dog, and have a couple of rooms that accommodate the dog. So overall a very pleasant stay at The Mill.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was booked as a package for my birthday - not easy to get a good deal for New Year but this was excellent value. Afternoon tea was served in the comfy bar with views across the mill pond. We were lucky to watch a kingfisher diving in, just yards from our table. Evening meal was superb - despite being very busy the waiter was friendly and efficient and the speed of service was just right for us. My husband said the venison steak was the best he had ever eaten, and my belly pork was delicious Breakfast was fairly standard hotel buffet, again the service was attentive and friendly. Our room overlooked the water meadows with lovely views. The room was fairly small with limited storage, fine for one night but would struggle to accommodate much in the wardrobe. It was very warm, we had to open the windows for a while and still struggled to sleep. Décor was in fitting with the location - muted colours and pictures of wild birds on the curtains and cushions. Everything was clean and comfortable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and felt we had been well treated and very well fed!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Sitting on top of its own mill stream alongside the river, and very close to Sudbury town centre, I doubt the Mill will disappoint. Can't comment much on the food, but breakfast was OK, rather than outstanding.

A very pleasant stay, and I would recommend it

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lazy_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Me and hubby just had our Christmas treat here and it was really lovely - all the staff were so friendly from reception the chambermaid - food was all fresh and beautiful - can still taste the honeyed parsnip soup and the belly pork was so moreish - just disappointed I couldn't finish it all as wanted to make way for the cheeseboard which again was lovely - 3 varieties of cheese, grapes, celery ad plenty of biscuits = we had a really good deal with Secret Escapes - Superior room - bubbly afternoon cream tea, 3 course meal and breakfast - will definitely be returning- thank you all for making our stay so nice. was worth every penny even if we had paid the full rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynetty1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing