We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Were regulars, wont be staying again,”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Were regulars, wont be staying again,”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very disappointed as our stay was for my birthday and our anniversary. We chose The Mill for its ambiance, food choices and service. We booked and checked our food choices by phone and were not told there was a temporary restaurant due to refurbishment. On previous visits we ate in the bar, our only choice this visit was a very limited menu in a temporary restaurant which was so cold that we had to wear our coats whilst eating. There was no food being served in the bar. We discussed this with the staff and management to no avail. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    368
    173
    100
    43
See reviews for
151
582
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights and I very much enjoyed my stay. All the staff I came in contact with were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was excellent. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and the location is perfect for exploring Sudbury and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at the Legacy Mill Hotel in Sudbury and took time to visit our family. As the hotel was undergoing refurbishment the meals were being served on the first floor but as my wife had a recent operation on her foot was unable to negotiate the stairs. However the staff let us use the ground floor restaurant and served us meals there. The staff could not have been more professional and helpful. Also, the downstairs room had been refurbished and was lovely. The meals were great. We are looking forward to going back some time soon.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are best if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seemsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Country
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

'A 2.5%. Administration charge will be applied to all payments made by credit card'

'Due to kitchen being refurbished we are unable to serve food....'

Outrageous!

Poor Wi-Fi

I've visited the Mill Hotel many times and seen many changes. This is one change I do not like.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcountryvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I love the Mill Hotel! The location is idyllic, with views across the Water Meadows & the Mill pond. The dog friendly public bar may put some people off, but it is a bonus for me, after a long walk across the King's Meadow. There are several very interesting country walks and good cycle routes. The hotel is situated in splendid isolation, but is only a 10 minute walk to Sudbury market square.( Excellent Thursday & Saturday markets)
The Mill has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment and represents great value for money. The sun terrace in the Spring / Summer months is blissful, overlooking the meadows. Very pleasant lunch and dinner venue.
All in all a great place to stay, whether it be for 1 night od longer.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Meadows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGrantCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Sudbury and do not want to be in the town centre - which can be noisy.This is a very good hotel in an historic building and has preserved much of its original character whilst incorporating modern amenities. The location is ideal as it is only a short distance out of the town centre, which is easily walkable. There is plenty of car parking space available. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. There was only one draft beer available however they do usually serve local real ales. The restaurant choice was a little limited and perhaps overpriced, but the food was very good, well presented and served efficiently.

My only complaint is the music played in the restaurant which was neither entertaining or 'background' - in fact it was intrusive and the staff agreed with me and tried to change it but were apprently unable to.

But I will definitely stay here again. And I agree about the hearty breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask if a room with river view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boss1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile


We have stayed at the Mill Hotel a number of times over the last 6 years but due a bad experience a while ago we had not been back.

We came across a fantastic Travel Zoo deal so decided to give it another go and are so glad we did!

The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment and it certainly shows! We were very impressed with the new bedrooms. The decor was lovely and the room had a super comfy bed! We had a meadow view room (47) which had lovely views.

The staff were very helpful & friendly and checking in/ out was a breeze!

We had a Champagne afternoon tea when we arrived which was very nice. We also had an evening meal & breakfast which were also of a high standard.

The location of the hotel is perfect, right by the river & good for country walks and only a 10 minute walk into Sudbury.

We will definitely be back! :0)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
492 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
24.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing