We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but staff are rude especially the girls at the bar”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but staff are rude especially the girls at the bar”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely hotel over looking a lovely lake. Stayed here for one night with my partner for my brothers wedding. Room good and clean and breakfast very nice. The staff were very rude and could hear the girls b*****g about other people and whispering and giggling to each other. Another thing be careful when you check out as they try and charge you for a bigger room to try and get more money out of you. 3 of my family were told it was 89 for the room when they checked out but it was 79 pounds per room. They quickly say 'oh yeah' when you say the room was 79 pounds. Bit of a joke and a bit of a con. But overall a nice stay a nice hotel but the staff are crap! Only one nice receptionist but that's it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenM1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    399
    185
    104
    56
See reviews for
165
642
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed with my husband and 4 friends on Saturday 24th to Monday 26th May 2014.
Prior to our stay I telephoned the hotel to firstly make the booking then to ensure that ' our experience' at the hotel was just as we wanted it.
Head Receptionist Lorraine, Jenny and Charlotte could not have been more helpful. Really professional, friendly, patient (they may have needed it - I like things right!) - they work as a team and it shows!
We had a room on the 3rd floor; there is not a lift so be aware if you are not physical fit.
The rooms have been refurbished and are really nice, modern with nice bathrooms. The room was spotless, some of this may have been due to the recent refurbishment so I hope that Housekeeping maintains the standard as I am sure they will.
We had a superior room that I think was £10 extra per night. The rooms are not massive and as with any establishment some are better than others and dependant on personal taste.
We booked a Breakaway which included dinner on both nights. The restaurant is a pleasure to dine in and the food of a high standard and well presented on modern white china.
On the first night I ordered cod bites in tempura batter and my husband soup. When the cod bites arrived they were a bit anaemic looking and to my taste were not appealing. My husband offered to swop and just as we were doing so the Restaurant Manager came over to ask if all was well. When I explained, he apologised and took the plate away to return with a fresh much more appetising looking dish.
What actually amazed us is that Andrea, our waitress had noticed that I seemed unhappy with the dish and informed her manager, Codrin, without us having to say a word, how professional is that!! I have expressed dissatisfaction many times in Restaurants and Hotels but for staff to be actually aware of what is going on around them, and to act upon it, is exceptional.
The remainder of that nights dinner and the following night was a pleasure. Andrea was polite and helpful and Codrin was an ever present Manager, fully aware of what was happening in the restaurant - he certainly portrays a 5* approach.
The bar staff and other restaurant members are a pleasure, polite and with excellent customer service skills.
The hotel is in a lovely setting, fields and walks all around. A few minutes from Sudbury Town and Gainsborough's House - well worth a visit.
Nothing is 100% perfect - Breakfast on the first morning was a little chaotic as there was a wedding party staying so they all arrived at the same time to eat breakfast together and the buffet was really busy with people choosing their food. However, everyone was good natured and the young lady in charge of the restaurant managed it beautifully, replenishing food as required. The breakfast was good, lovely fruit salad.
A note to The General Manager of The Mill - you have a lovely team of people working for you, all of them are excellent ambassadors for The Mill and for Legacy Hotels - there was not one member of staff we encountered that would not hold their own in a 5* London establishment - many of which we have stayed in including The Savoy and The Goring.

Room Tip: I think an upgrade to a Superior Room was worthwhile. No lift so be aware if you are to have a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel has the potential to be really good however a few things let it down, the first floor rooms are noisy at night because of the speakers in the ceilings of the bar and restaurants. The reception staff on checkout made us feel like it was our fault that we could not sleep, because after midnight we didn't go searching for a night porter to move us. The rooms are also a little on the warm side.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 2nd floor if you want a decent nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchGunnPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from The Mill Hotel, we had a Travelzoo deal, Afternoon Tea with a glass of Prosecco which we had outside overlooking the meadow. An evening meal, overnight stay and full English breakfast. The Hotel was very comfortable, lovely views and staff lovely. We had a room which had river views, it was small but that didn't matter for 1 night, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer plus toiletries in the bathroom.
One small negative, the two young waitresses at breakfast were not very proactive, items needed replenishing which they only did when asked.
As this is only an hours drive from us we would definitely consider bringing the dog for a walk along the river and having one of the lovely lunch options on the menu.
A real gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnp1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We got a deal re Travelzoo, for this Hotel this Sunday staying until Bank Holiday Monday!
The location was brilliant we went with 4 friends arrived 2pm Saturday sat outside admiring the views, they were breath taking. Afternoon tea was booked for 3.30pm sandwiches so fresh with lots of filling , cakes and scones glass of Prosecco followed by Tea and Coffee.
Our room had an amazing views we unpacked and went outside to listen to the band. Sublime was the word the sun was shining, the afternoon flew it was not long before we had to change before going to
Dinner 3 courses was so nice a good selection of starters, mains and desserts. The staff could not be faulted and service always came with a smile. A late night was enjoyed by all...
But we still managed fresh fruit cocktail, with full english (Greedy i know) all included with the deal. Managed to visit Gainsborough's House and Garden in Sudbury, sitting under the Mulberry tree dating back to 1600s, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night and had a fab time . Our room was lovely with a fantastic view across the meadows.. I found it great having cows grazing right outside our window. Our weekend started with afternoon tea with champagne followed by 3 course eve meal plus bed and breakfast. Afternoon tea was great, the scones ,banana cake and fudge slice were to die for. The food in the evening was delicious especially the pork belly . My duck was also great to. Restaurant was really nice and the restaurant manager was very attentive but not pushy . I was impressed in our room the abundance of teas, coffee and hot choc plus complimentary biscuits which was a very nice added touch . Breakfast was a bit of a fiasco at the time . We arrived around same time as everyone else which was our fault but breakfast was a buffet, so thought it would not be a problem. People were waiting for the food to be replenished so we joined them. The food came out but by the time it was our turn everything and I mean everything had gone . So we then had to wait another 10 mins for a new lot . which again soon ran out and people had to wait again. Although this was a bit annoying at the time I would like to say the breakfast was well worth waiting for as it had all been freshly cooked . Would we stay again ,most definitely .

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the common
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Well Charlotte and the team at The Mill did it again ! Myself and other half enjoyed another fab Saturday overnight stay on what was the hottest Saturday of the year. Arrived to see a lovely setting. Sun beaming down, and people relaxing out on the terrace enjoying lunch and drinks whilst overlooking the glorious meadows and river with swans gliding by . Picture perfect scene. We received the usual cheery friendly greeting from Charlotte at reception who had arranged for us to stay in a lovely recently refurbished suite on the top floor of the Mill overlooking that glorious view we had been enjoying on arrival. Rolling meadows, river, birds singing and cows grazing all could be seen from every view at our windows. Large comfy bed,flat screen tv and good quality teas and coffees plus complimentary shortcake biscuits where there to enjoy. After unpacking we enjoyed another yummy afternoon tea with pretty china, cake stand with sandwiches, cakes and warm scones all washed down with a glass of fizz followed by tea. Lovely! We then enjoyed a stroll into Sudbury town for a mooch around the shops. In the evening we were treated to a three course dinner with bottle of fizz as part of our package. The food and service as always was top notch, as was the relaxed atmosphere of a warm sunny Saturday evening with everyone just chilling out. Next morning we enjoyed a full English breakfast from the buffet with good quality sausage and bacon, plus all the usual breakfast selections. After another friendly goodbye from another lady at checkout we returned home. We had another super smashing stay at The Mill. It was excellent value, and Charlotte and the team once again worked their socks off to make sure we had a lovely time. It was a great refreshing stay. Big thanks to all and we will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Views over the meadows are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kas01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
707 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,008 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing