We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Long Melford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Long Melford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Lion Hotel(Long Melford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell(Clare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Drapers Hotel(Earls Colne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,259)
Filter reviews
1,259 results
Traveller rating
435
450
205
109
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
450
205
109
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream teaafternoon teano liftwater wheelwater meadowsold milloverlooking the riversuperior roomthird floorevening mealbar areasconestravelzoo offerlovely locationgroupon dealmain buildingglass of prosecco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
872 - 877 of 1,259 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely hotel over looking a lovely lake. Stayed here for one night with my partner for my brothers wedding. Room good and clean and breakfast very nice. The staff were very rude and could hear the girls b*****g about other people and whispering and giggling to each other. Another thing be careful when you check out as they try and charge you for a bigger room to try and get more money out of you. 3 of my family were told it was 89 for the room when they checked out but it was 79 pounds per room. They quickly say 'oh yeah' when you say the room was 79 pounds. Bit of a joke and a bit of a con. But overall a nice stay a nice hotel but the staff are crap! Only one nice receptionist but that's it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenM1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed with my husband and 4 friends on Saturday 24th to Monday 26th May 2014.
Prior to our stay I telephoned the hotel to firstly make the booking then to ensure that ' our experience' at the hotel was just as we wanted it.
Head Receptionist Lorraine, Jenny and Charlotte could not have been more helpful. Really professional, friendly, patient (they may have needed it - I like things right!) - they work as a team and it shows!
We had a room on the 3rd floor; there is not a lift so be aware if you are not physical fit.
The rooms have been refurbished and are really nice, modern with nice bathrooms. The room was spotless, some of this may have been due to the recent refurbishment so I hope that Housekeeping maintains the standard as I am sure they will.
We had a superior room that I think was £10 extra per night. The rooms are not massive and as with any establishment some are better than others and dependant on personal taste.
We booked a Breakaway which included dinner on both nights. The restaurant is a pleasure to dine in and the food of a high standard and well presented on modern white china.
On the first night I ordered cod bites in tempura batter and my husband soup. When the cod bites arrived they were a bit anaemic looking and to my taste were not appealing. My husband offered to swop and just as we were doing so the Restaurant Manager came over to ask if all was well. When I explained, he apologised and took the plate away to return with a fresh much more appetising looking dish.
What actually amazed us is that Andrea, our waitress had noticed that I seemed unhappy with the dish and informed her manager, Codrin, without us having to say a word, how professional is that!! I have expressed dissatisfaction many times in Restaurants and Hotels but for staff to be actually aware of what is going on around them, and to act upon it, is exceptional.
The remainder of that nights dinner and the following night was a pleasure. Andrea was polite and helpful and Codrin was an ever present Manager, fully aware of what was happening in the restaurant - he certainly portrays a 5* approach.
The bar staff and other restaurant members are a pleasure, polite and with excellent customer service skills.
The hotel is in a lovely setting, fields and walks all around. A few minutes from Sudbury Town and Gainsborough's House - well worth a visit.
Nothing is 100% perfect - Breakfast on the first morning was a little chaotic as there was a wedding party staying so they all arrived at the same time to eat breakfast together and the buffet was really busy with people choosing their food. However, everyone was good natured and the young lady in charge of the restaurant managed it beautifully, replenishing food as required. The breakfast was good, lovely fruit salad.
A note to The General Manager of The Mill - you have a lovely team of people working for you, all of them are excellent ambassadors for The Mill and for Legacy Hotels - there was not one member of staff we encountered that would not hold their own in a 5* London establishment - many of which we have stayed in including The Savoy and The Goring.

Room Tip: I think an upgrade to a Superior Room was worthwhile. No lift so be aware if you are to have a high floor room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorginaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel has the potential to be really good however a few things let it down, the first floor rooms are noisy at night because of the speakers in the ceilings of the bar and restaurants. The reception staff on checkout made us feel like it was our fault that we could not sleep, because after midnight we didn't go searching for a night porter to move us. The rooms are also a little on the warm side.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 2nd floor if you want a decent nights sleep.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchGunnPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from The Mill Hotel, we had a Travelzoo deal, Afternoon Tea with a glass of Prosecco which we had outside overlooking the meadow. An evening meal, overnight stay and full English breakfast. The Hotel was very comfortable, lovely views and staff lovely. We had a room which had river views, it was small but that didn't matter for 1 night, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer plus toiletries in the bathroom.
One small negative, the two young waitresses at breakfast were not very proactive, items needed replenishing which they only did when asked.
As this is only an hours drive from us we would definitely consider bringing the dog for a walk along the river and having one of the lovely lunch options on the menu.
A real gem!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnp1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We got a deal re Travelzoo, for this Hotel this Sunday staying until Bank Holiday Monday!
The location was brilliant we went with 4 friends arrived 2pm Saturday sat outside admiring the views, they were breath taking. Afternoon tea was booked for 3.30pm sandwiches so fresh with lots of filling , cakes and scones glass of Prosecco followed by Tea and Coffee.
Our room had an amazing views we unpacked and went outside to listen to the band. Sublime was the word the sun was shining, the afternoon flew it was not long before we had to change before going to
Dinner 3 courses was so nice a good selection of starters, mains and desserts. The staff could not be faulted and service always came with a smile. A late night was enjoyed by all...
But we still managed fresh fruit cocktail, with full english (Greedy i know) all included with the deal. Managed to visit Gainsborough's House and Garden in Sudbury, sitting under the Mulberry tree dating back to 1600s, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomeJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews