We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for those fond of a lie in!”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good points:
excellent room service dinner - good quality;
Beautiful position with lovely views on the riverside.

Poor points:
Car park not obvious as sign is miniscule;
Not for those who enjoy a lie in as loud thuds before 7am, and noise from showers in other rooms sound like the old industrial mill!;
Room too hot to sleep - no air con;
Drinking cups in bathroom kept above toilet cistern - hygienic?!
Breakfast left a lot to be desired as lack of choice. In addition, I put a plate aside as it had a dirty mark on it and watched as a member of staff wiped it with her finger and put it back on the pile - another 0 on the hygiene scale.
I wouldn't stay here again given the choice.

Room Tip: Riverside room for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a great stay at the Legacy using a groupon voucher which included afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast.

We arrived on our tandem which was promptly stored away in a locked garage then given the keys to room 46. A very pleasant room overlooking the river and meadow. It was on the upper floor of the annex but it was large enough and very clean. The only problem we had was the lack of hot water. This was reported to reception and we were eventually moved to room 24 which was at the front of the hotel in the original mill. The room was large, had a large walk in shower (with hot water) overlooked a pond and had beams.

The afternoon tea was nice if not large but seeing that we were having dinner in a few hours this wasn't a problem. We had full choice of the dinner menu which is unusual when using an offer. The menu was the type of food you can get in your average pub. The food was cooked well and served quickly. Breakfast was a buffet style with everything that you would expect with a few nice touches like the fruit cocktail being served in wine and champagne glasses.

We stayed on one of the hottest nights of the year so air conditioning would have been good but once we managed to work out how to open the windows we got a nice breeze coming through the room. There was quite a bit of noise from the patio/bar area which didn't bother us but it might be a problem for people with young children. That said the staff did make sure that everybody moved from the open areas at 11.30p.m.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems make sure to ask for a ground floor room as there are no lifts and lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Awthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our third visit to the Mill Hotel,now part of the Legacy chain,booked through Superbreak on a two nights,cream tea on arrival and first night dinner arrangement.Our request for a specific room location was met and although in what I believe would be classed a small double the room was clean,fresh and adequate ,we had a view over the still pond side of the property with a view of the Sudbury meadows only thirty feet away...this place I a magnet for dog walkers and was very busy.
The Mill was at full capacity it seemed, a wedding party arrived mid afternoon going not a full event on the nearby first floor open terrace...despite our windows being open due to the heat the noise was tolerable..we were asleep before the do ended.
Cream tea was filling...two large scones each and the dinner exceeded expectations...I thought we would be restricted to a set amount per person but were told it was simply three courses.....always better to know before you order the most expensive items and get stung later!
We exercised restraint having prawn cocktail and tempura cod bites to start,lamb and salmon mains and eton mess and banana split to end...every course well presented in the Mill Restaurant ,staff were pleasant in the heat!
Breakfast next day was full English,adequate but nothing outstanding...we returned to the room to find,unexpectedly we had been remade and cleaned.
A semi crisis at home meant we had to check out mid afternoon, the receptionist made the point of asking if there had been a problem with the hotel which there wasn't...we were looking forwards to the second night.
The hotel website shows a lovely idyllic scene with cattle standing in the millpond with the hotel behind...glad to say that they fully recreated that shot for us as they tried to cool off!!
Would not have any problem recommending or booking to come back.....just check the deals offered by Legacy first...they seem to offer more than other companies who block buy rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in a single room as on business. Suitcase work bag and lap top to traipse up three flights of stairs as no lift. Parking limited. Reception staff helpful. Creaky building a lot of noise from movement in other rooms. Room unbearably hot even with window open

Room Tip: Single room found at top of hotel to be hot and noisy - not a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cantwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Smooth check in on arrival. Receptionist was very polite and knew what she was doing. Champagne afternoon tea was great - Dinner was fantastic,. Room was lovely,overlooking the meadow The room was a good size, the bed comfortable, the bathroom very clean and adequately equipped. Sudbury is a lovely town

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jon123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a short break here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and friendly, our room was lovely with a great view, and the restaurant food was very nice. We liked it so much that we've booked a similar break for our daughter and her partner, plus we'll be going back ourselves in September.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank ExPunkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I spent a night here on business and for the price, everything was OK. The room was a good size, the bed comfortable, the bathroom very clean and adequately equipped. I did not try the restaurant but the bar was pleasant and the prices were remarkably a few pence cheaper a pint that the town centre pubs. The breakfast was good with excellent local sausages and proper back bacon. The only downside (and this is not the hotels fault) was that some knuckle dragging mouth breather decided that 02.30 was an appropriate time to treat the other of the hotel residents to his somewhat limited taste in music. That said, the night porter quickly sorted it out but it did somewhat take the shine off things.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,262 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,059 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: £53 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in breathtaking Suffolk countryside, The Mill Hotel is a beautifully converted water mill situated on the banks of the picturesque River Stour. Originally a working water mill, this converted historic building now boasts a completely refurbished contemporary interior. The merging of the old with the new, together with The Mill's imposing façade and stunning views guarantee a real wow factor for visitors and guests. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing