We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear!”
Review of The White Hart Inn

The White Hart Inn
Ranked #48 of 93 Restaurants in Sudbury
Price range: US$8 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Now fully refurbished and under new management it's both a traditional village pub and a great place to eat, nestled in the centre of Boxford adjacent to the River Box. We pride ourselves with great traditional pub food lunch and evening. Monday nights eat for just £6! Thursday night pie and a pint for £5! Kids eat free every Sunday!
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Thought we'd pick this place for a family birthday lunch and give it a go as it was fairly new.
No trouble with the booking, pre ordering the meals or deciding to have the dining room away from the bar.
Arrived and were told that we would be seated in an area of the bar (easier for the staff from the kitchen),not too bad as it was still slightly seperate.
Starters out and off we go.
Then the l-o-n-g wait. Over 1 hour between clearing the plates away and the first of the mains served. Sporadically.
The roast dinners ranged between edible and boot leather. Fish between soggy and dry. Beef dish without any visible signs of the lead animal.
Vegetables arrived after most had started to eat, children get hungry, and no yorkshire puds.
Desserts, as pre ordered, were not even available although substitutes were offered. The tarte tatin definately did not live upto the name.
Now whether the function outside had anything to do with deflecting the focus, or that all the staff appeared to be under 25 (Yes I know you have to start somewhere) without an experienced guiding hand, led to the ball being mightily dropped.
Going back???????
Firmly NO.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andya308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lady's wot lunch”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Have just had a delightful lunch. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The quality of the food is amazing as is the service.
It looks as though the recent change in manager has had a more than positive effect on the restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Poohbearharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely lunch ”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Great lunch had here. Beautiful soup of the day, with warm bread. Service was friendly and relaxed and the chef came out personally to check we had enjoyed our food. Not sure what the bad comments below are about, but I have heard there has been a change of management recently which could account for that.

Helpful?
Thank BrettSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub Lunch”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were very disappointed with our visit due to a number of reasons:

1. Lacks atmosphere
2. Very cold - the wood burner wasn't lit.
3. Food took a long time to come
4. There was no cranberry sauce for the bacon and brie panini.
5. Staff very unprofessional
6. Portions very small
7. Food was not hot enough

If you want to save your business... up your game!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehart1664, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I am very sorry, and can only apologise for the lack of service you received.

We have since changed management. So I would like to thank you for your honest opinion, and through your review we have started to serve cranberry sauce in a side dish with our brie and bacon Panini’s.

Our customers are very important to us and we would like to do our utmost to give each individual an enjoyable experience, and we do really appreciate all the feedback we receive, thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“OK , its a Pub not a 5* Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The starter of Prawns in a chili sauce was just that , four peeled Prawns in a small dish with some sauce , no bread or other accompaniment . The Seafood Linguine was not as hot as it should have been but the flavour was good. The Tiramisu was very dry and resembled a slice of cake, again tasty enough but unlike any Tiramisu I have had in other Italian Restaurants.
One real major minus point was the Mustard ! My friend asked for some with his steak dish and was presented with a half empty Jar of Coleman's . Who knows who had been sticking their knife in it before it got to him !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehart1664, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I am very sorry, and can only apologise for the lack of service you received. We have since changed management and are looking to become the best we can possibly be. So I would like to thank you for your honest opinion, and let you know of some of the changes that have happened since your visit.
We now serve our piri-piri prawns with a small bed of rice, and a couple of slices of ciabatta bread.
We also have started serving all sauces in individual pots for each of our customers.

All our customers are very important to us, and we like to hear all comments good or bad so that we can learn from our mistakes and continually improve our customers experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart Inn also viewed

Boxford, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing