We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We now measure every B&B against this one ...”

Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We now measure every B&B against this one ...”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights during September when we traveled up for our friends wedding and it's without a doubt the best place we have ever stayed. Nothing was too much trouble and the room was spotless. The breakfast was out of this world and better than any we have had in top London hotels - we still talk about it now! Clive and Anne were the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome.

We have told our friends and family about this B&B and hope to come and stay again soon. The only problem is we now compare every place we stay to this B&B - meaning we are never fully satisfied!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessica_sampson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I have just had a fantastic five night stay with Clive and Anne. I've said before on trip advisor, we have stayed at many many guest houses over the years and have experienced all possible standards of accomodation and service. Oak Lodge is at the very highest level in all departments. A lovely house and garden, private parking, great location, FANTASTIC food, a warm friendly and professional welcome from the hosts each day.
It really was a brilliant experience, we are already planning our (hopeful) return in 2014. Just look at the other reviews for this B&B, it says it all. Clive and Anne should be very proud indeed, they work hard for their guests and it is obviously much appreciated by everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jimlad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Booked 3 nights but after the welcome from Ann and Clive and having been shown the accommodation, we wished we could have stayed longer but will no doubt return here every time we visit relatives in Sudbury The lodge was 'home from home' as we did not expect (self catering ) any food,tea,coffee, beer to be provided!. Very peaceful and quiet with excellent walking countryside and very good eating establishments close by,( reachable by car.)
Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights fantastic welcome, the room was very clean and lovley decorated the breakfast was absolutley ginormous and all was homemade even the musili which was brilliant. we even had a beefburger for breakfast one day included in our full english due to clive saying his grandson had this for breakfast one day i was dubious but it was fab. Every day we came back there was either chocolates , homemade buns or biscuits which was a lovley touch this does make you feel special , tea/coffee and drinking chocolate are in your room every day . The setting was great with the naf sat it takes you through sudbury and then out slightly as it is in little cornard once you have gone up spout lane, you will turn right and follow the lane up you will need to carry on till you can see a house coming up that is bright pink and once the house is in sight oak lodge is next to the pink house. I cannot say enough about oak lodge as it made our break fantastic ann even loaned us a os map as we did not have one and gave us very dubious instructions ( ha ha ). i would recommend anyone to have a visit as it was well worth the money. Ruby and diesil family dogs and mable the cat were funny and diesil i wanted to take him home as he kept sitting on your feet as he does not like a cold bum . I just want everyone to know we will be going back as nothing is too far to visit as my hubby wants to visit orford spit which is about 45 mins away.

Room Tip: any rooms we stayed in one of the guest rooms and even had a look at the self contained lodge which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funkymonkey693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

My parents visited from abroad in early April and because space at our home just down the road had run out I booked them a room for six nights at Oak Lodge. My parents and myself agree that this was the best decision we could have made. The B&B owners Anne and Clive are the nicest people you could ever meet. My parents instantly felt very much welcome and they couldn't praise their hospitality high enough. Everything was just great, from the location to the room, from the breakfast to the resident dogs Ruby and Diesel. My parents will definitely stay with Clive and Anne again on their next visit and if I need a break from hectic family life I'm very tempted to sneak off and have a few days away at Oak Lodge myself :-)
So, if you want peace and quite in a lovely location with beautiful views yet close enough to local attractions Oak Lodge is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reeceandmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A very warm welcome awaits you at Oak Lodge. Ann and Clive are perfect hosts. The Garden Lodge is a beautyful place to stay. Peaceful, quiet and in a wonderfull setting. We can,t wait to be able to spend another break there. The best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jakki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The welcome and hospitality at this small B&B just outside Sudbury was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for Anne, and Clive's farmhouse breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
3.1 mi away
Hill Lodge Hotel
Hill Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sudbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#8 of 16 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Oak Lodge Upper Road | Little Cornard, Babergh District CO10 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing