We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair trade”
Review of Marimba

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marimba
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Sudbury
Restaurant details
Sudbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fair trade”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Good fair trade drinks and pleasant waitressing! Its a good place to meet people and for small meetings

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pastor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartest, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Devine”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I usually pop in for a caramel latte and sometimes a few slices of cake, very friendly service definitely the best coffee shop in Suffolk (every town needs one) and as other reviews say you must go into the shop which is directly opposite with old fashioned sweets and chocolate pretzels and also try the marzipan gelato in the summer months its just Devine!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop in town”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We've been using Marimba since it first opened and like the other reviewer on here can say nothing but good about the place. We vary our choices between the different hot chocolates and their excellent coffee (the vanilla latte is to die for). Order at the counter and they serve to your table and I always have one of their loyalty cards in my purse. All the staff are friendly and efficient and if that isn't enough to tempt you the chocolate shop is right across the precinct from them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazygreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chocoholic heaven!”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have been regulars in Marimba - a coffee shop in Sudbury - since it opened a few years ago. I say "coffee shop" since I guess most people, most of the time order coffee or tea. But Marimba's speciality - and what makes them different from other cafes in the town - is their hot chocolate. It's made by melting a whole bar of your choice of dark, milk or white chocolate into steamed milk and is absolutely the best hot chocolate I've had in the UK. The choice of different bars gives you the chance to choose the cocoa content you want in your drink and you can reduce the calorie count a bit (?) by opting for skimmed milk (my tip: this makes the drink a little less sweet if, like me, you like the chocolate taste but not some of the sweetness).

The bonus is that the chocolate is handmade by the family who own Marimba - made in their chocolate shop across the road from the cafe. If you like chocolate that's also a place to visit - a great selection of their own handmade chocolates plus some Belgian imports and old fashioned sweets from jars. We often buy a small box for presents - you can pick which ones you want put in a box. And they have some really unique bars - my favourite is their white choc bar with popping candy running through it.

Back to the cafe. They also serve the usual tea cakes, scones and cake etc and have some really nice sandwiches with locally sourced ingredients and dressings and these are, in my opinion, very reasonably priced. They do toasties/paninis also. They have a selection of fruit teas, cold drinks, syrups for flavoured coffees and frappes.

A newer line is their home made ice cream, made, so far as I can gather, in Italian style (gelato) and, like their other products, really delicious.

The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful - you order and pay at the counter but they bring your drinks etc to your table. They also operate a loyalty card scheme - they stamp a card for you each time you buy a hot drink and with eight stamps you get a free hot drink (and that doesn't have to be a small one!). There are a mixture of comfy sofas and easy chairs and sit-up-at tables and free wifi is available. Marimba is in the Borehamgate Precinct which runs between the bus station in Sudbury and the main shopping street, so it can be easy to miss. Note that, beacuse the precinct is locked up on a Sunday, they are not open that day but are open from (I think) 8.30am to 5.30pm every other day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marimba also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Been to Marimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing