We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good evening out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silk Worm

The Silk Worm
Ranked #58 of 93 Restaurants in Sudbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

When I visited earlier in the year for lunch, it was a clean, welcoming place. There weren't many people in there, so the service was fast but the food took a while to come out. The food is the typical chain pub food, but was fairly tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grlewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic but good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Went to this pub/restaurant for a birthday meal.
Very much a sort of Weatherspoon sort of pub. Food was good, reasonable enough,
and served hot.
Service was good, and the eating area was nice and clean.
Overall a good place to eat,but nothing too fancy on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shefti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value for money , friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

we first went to the silk worm for a work do , we where unsure how many would be attending and did not book a table in advance , we arrived ordered drinks and all decided after looking at the very good value for money menu that we would eat ,we then asked if it was possible to have a table for 18 thinking they would laugh at us , most pubs laugh if u ask for a table of 6 without booking !! however the lovely young man behind the bar , quickly responded and he and his colleges laid us a table . the food was great value for money . it is good pub grub , not al a carte for a great price , we where waited on hand and foot , every thing came out , quickly , hot and together, . we have since been back with large parties 3 times, the biggest being 25 . ( we do book in advance now ) , we have have also been on a sunday night for the pub quiz , its great fun and great way to finish a meal and fun evening , this is a great fun pub , catering for all ages , i have no complaints, all the staff are polite and always look like they are hard working , i would highly recommend for most occasions if you want a laid back , good food, and fun experience , for a great price this is the place to go , if you are after a candle light romantic dinner for 2 i would say maybe go somewhere else but for a meal with family or friends , super spot on ;)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Night Pub Quiz, Reasonable food and drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I attend the Sunday Night Pub Quiz every week and have found the staff to be friendly, food reasonable and cheap for a chain pub - burgers, nachos, fish and chips, baguettes and carvery Sunday lunch.

The food isn't gastropub but service is quick and unlike some places you get what you pay for. Some dishes are better value than others admittedly. The bar has a wide range of draught lager and a wide range of wines including a buy two glasses of wine and get the bottle.

The quiz on Sunday is great, £1 entry per person, max of 6 per team. 4 rounds including a joker round and the chance to win £300 on a higher or lower card game. Well worth going (check it is on if you are reading this in a few months time)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gilescorenwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colnbrook
Level Contributor
234 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Decent pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A decent pub, located close to St Peter's Church.
There are loads of TV's positioned around the whole pub, making it a perfect place for watching football or other sporting event. It is large and there is ample seating.
The pub does have a family friendly atmosphere.
The food is typical chain pub food - nothing outstanding, taste is average but it is quite cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silk Worm also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Been to The Silk Worm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing