We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hare Inn

The Hare Inn
Ranked #16 of 93 Restaurants in Sudbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place ”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I have even hear a few times. Mainly in a big group, we have used the function room upstairs, it's good size but dose need a little attention, it looks like it needs a coat of paint and new furniture. Food is amazing and good sized portions. Staff are always polite.

Helpful?
Thank L4ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    44
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing food at this great pub”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The Hare Inn is in the beautiful countryside of Long Melford and is opposite the entrance to Kentwell Hall. You will love the beer garden as its great for sitting out on those hot Summer evenings. I would definitely say this pub serves the most delicious roast dinner ever (better than mine). We were a party of four and three of us had the roast. You can choose from either Pork, Beef or Lamb and if you are not a lover of carrots, which my husband and mother are not, they are more than flexible on changing vegetables. From being served at the bar by the friendly and lovely staff to the great waitress you will certainly feel that you are getting great service. This a gorgeous pub and has the most friendly staff. I love eating here and can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm atmosphere with great traditional pub grub”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Warm and friendly atmosphere. Great food, with delightly naughty deserts! Nice to chill in the beer garden on a warm summers day and perfect for a family occasion. Prices are definitely worth the quality (and quantity) of food. Thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nix2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast at Good Traditional Pub”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

To the Hare Inn in Long Melford for Sunday Lunch with my Mother and my two sons, the Hare is a large village pub on the outskirts of Melford, opposite the entrance to Kentwell Hall. I often overlook the Hare but it is quite refreshing to go to a pub that is still traditional, dark wood and horse brasses, sells proper beer and has a lack of the ubiquitous neutrals that adorn the walls and woodwork in the current raft of gastro pubs in the area. The food too is pretty traditional; being a Sunday they had three roasts on the menu, Beef, Pork and Lamb at around £8.95 but the menu also had some other traditional favourites such as Steak and Kidney Pudding which I have promised to myself the next time I visit. In addition there are a number of dishes on the menu of normal pub grub staples by which I mean something with chips and peas meals.

With the exception of my youngest who had scampi with chips we all had Roast Beef with Yorkshire pudding; the food was good, sort of what you would expect at this price point and in this kind of establishment but well done. The service was polite and efficient on a busy Remembrance Sunday; you do have to go to the bar to order but no problem with that. The boys finished with a sticky toffee pudding and profiteroles with Ice cream, my Mother and I stuck with a cheese board; a bottle of wine and a couple of drinks before that and a couple of liqueurs with coffee completed the order which came out at just under £23.00 a head. The ambiance was good and we were cosy next to the wood burning stove. Based on this visit I would recommend the Hare for a non pretentious Sunday Lunch with family and friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 200911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hare Inn also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Long Melford, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Been to The Hare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing