We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful tea room as well as b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From the minute we stepped into this delightful house you feel at home the owners are very welcoming. They had just opened for afternoon tea the week before and I hope they get many visitors the cakes are lovely also the cream tea with fresh strawberries.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gillfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Bridge Street Historic Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

An absolutely stunning listed home and such wonderful setting to spend a weekend, the kids have enjoyed themselves immensely (exploring in the garden, fetching eggs from the chickens for breakfast) . The owners are a wonderful couple and made us feel like part of the family they spoiled us home made wine and jams, the breakfast alone is worthy of a visit . Will definitely being going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment that we arrived nothing was too much for Lynette and Terry. Finding accommodation for myself, husband and three children is always a headache, but we were all comfortably accomodated with the children on a sofa bed and camp bed in a room directly adjoining ours.

The highlight of our stay was being invited into the beautiful living room complete with inglenook fireplace for a superb glass of Terry's homemade cherry wine! We were made to feel so welcome and at home. My son and I played chess and my other son and daughter played with a very cute and well behaved dog whilst my husband chatted with Terry and Lynette and another family from Holland. A real moment of pure contentment and relaxation from our busy London lives.

Breakfast the following day was superb and the children were able to explore the gorgeous garden complete with stream at the bottom and chickens! Lynette made us a huge packed lunch which kept us going all day.

I think that it is the first time that we have come home desperate to return to the same place. We are already planning our next visit except this time we will book dinner and go in the summer so that we can enjoy breakfast in the garden! We have discovered a true gem of a B&B which couldn't by run by a lovlier couple.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I can't recommend this place enough. An extremely beautiful building bursting with history, incredibly welcoming hosts, and a top notch full English breakfast. I give this place 11 out of 10. If it's sunny, have breakfast outside if you can. And ask about the mummified cat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BENJAMIN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Going to a wedding a mile away, we couldn't get in any of the hotels suggested. We googled and got this lovely B&B by chance. Lucky for us we got to stay in the most welcoming lovely place where Lynette and Terry (and family) made our stay so very memorable and enjoyable, we stayed long after our departure time, chatting and talking and having a delicious breakfast, a wonderful nights sleep in a lovely bedroom and very comftable bed. Look forward to revisiting, Thank you so much xx

Room Tip: The B&B is on a main road, but this did not affect our sleep in the slightest
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerryjr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous bb, the whole place is full of character. The owners were extremely accommodating and made us feel very welcome. The room was spotless and there was a variety on offer for breakfast. The shared bathroom has been decorated uniquely and the shower was fantastic. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for a week. The room was comfy and the owners terry and lynette were very friendly. The bed and breakfast is based in a good area with plenty to explore. The food was very tasty and was cooked using local produce.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
4.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.2 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,208 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#9 of 15 in Sudbury
54 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Street Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Street Historic Guest House

Address: Bridge Street, Babergh District CO10 9BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range: £47 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridge Street Historic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast consists of : Four bedroooms upstairs, The Green and Rose Rooms with En-Suites. The Grandads and Post Rooms with shared bathroom on ground floor. Three Family rooms: The Buttery Suite has a cosy double bedroom, own bathroom with toilet and a bath. Sitting room with double sofa bed and pull out single bed. The Forge has a double bedroom with en-suite with large shower. Sitting room/kitchen area with double sofa bed and pull out single bed. The Garden room, with double bed and two single beds with en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bridge Street Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Street Historic Guest House Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing