We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Boy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Cavendish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I highly recommend the Black Boy in Sudbury. Very friendly and they really look after you. A recent refurbishment has created super en-suite rooms. An excellent full English breakfast is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    39
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
45
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was in Sudbury for one night and found the Black Boy to be a comfortable place to stay. My room was large with a nice, warm bathroom. There is free wifi and the staff were all very attentive and the landlady was charming!

A good cooked breakfast and a good rate would entice me to stay there again when in the area.

Also try the codfather across the square for excellent fish and chips.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband, nine year old son and I had an hour to kill before our train and thought we'd pop into The Black Boy for a drink and some food. After entering the pub the landlady asked us what we wanted before telling us unceremoniously that children were not allowed in her pub. As this is the first time we've faced this problem I expressed some friendly surprise. The landlady became instantly aggressive & confrontational. Shocked and taken aback, I asked why she was being so aggressive and she accused me of contradicting her 'in her own pub'! She became increasingly abusive as we sought to understand what we had done to justify her abuse - all in front of my son and other customers. We are friendly, balanced individuals that understand some pubs might have legal requirements that we might not be aware of, but this woman's aggressive, patronising and smalled-minded treatment of potential customers was totally unacceptable. It completely ruined our day.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Porcupinexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Recently went to the Black Boy at Sudbury Suffolk for Sunday lunch with my mother and daughter.. Nice staff and It had been updated with nice tables and chairs and flooring. Unfortunately not so the food. Our meals were bland to say the least ......the roast potatoes white and hard, the cabbage watery,poor quality meat and thin tasteless gravy. very disappointing. I had been thinking of getting up a party for December but not now. and what a cop out for the Festive vegetarian choice....Quorn chicken!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isturner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed in one of the recently refurbished rooms which was ok and the bathroom was roomy and clean. The bedroom however was minute. At one point the space between the skirting board and the bed was about 2 inches so if you managed your stay without stubbing your toe (or worse) you have done well. Felt VERY claustrophobic. Stayed at Black Boy for dinner and food very average. Restaurant about to be updated but at present plastic table cloths, false flowers and mismatched paper napkins. Hope for sufficient improvement.

On the plus side the Manger, Sharon, very helpful and breakfast good and plentiful. Okay for a basic stay but if you want a treat avoid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bildeston, Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just celebrated my Dads 80th birthday with Sunday lunch at Black Boy. A party of 17 of us including 2 toddlers. Great food and Great service. Very tolerant of our sometimes tired and rumbustious youngsters. Would definitely recommend. Thankyou to all involved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just stayed one night , clean tidy old , personal, not flash , basic.
Nice breakfast , Chef keen to please.
Sudbury is full of eating places We ate in the pub and it was OK! but with such a choice
maybe look around .
Would we go back YES but might look around before booking

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,108 reviews
5.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.3 mi away
Hill Lodge Hotel
Hill Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sudbury
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
438 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
122 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boy Hotel

Property: The Black Boy Hotel
Address: 7 Market Hill, Babergh District CO10 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Boy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy is situated in the heart of Sudbury overlooking the market square with easy access to the surrounding countryside. With it's seven en-suite letting rooms it is the perfect place for either a weekend retreat or a relaxing mid week stay; dog friendly rooms are available with prior arrangement. Serving the finest in traditional ales and a selection of craft beers alongside a fantastic, handpicked, wine and spirit range. The Black Boy has a classic, locally sourced English tavern menu with something for everyone. Come and stay and let our friendly team look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Black Boy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boy Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing