We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Black Boy Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Essex UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant but...”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Room was fine but could have done with a desk for the business traveller. The shower and bath was a bonus. Food was fine. Breakfast is not served until 07.30 weekdays which, for a business guest is too late. Staff pleasant .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyoffiveEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    35
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
42
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from two nights staying at the Black Boy. David & Sharon are so friendly and David cooks a mean breakfast! All freshly cooked - not left standing on some hot plate like in many bigger (and more expensive) hotels. It's brought to your table too so no messing about lifting lids and serving yourself. Plus it's locally sourced produce ... the eggs are delicious. My mum had the full egg & bacon option & raved about it. There's parking too (a big plus considering you're bang in the centre of the high street), but it's only a short walk from the station. Our room (Room 4) and the pub itself retains its olde-worlde character and charm but it's all nicely and newly done out. You really would be hard pressed to find better. Okay, it's not great if you're disabled or infirm but my mum's in her eighties and managed very well with the stairs and the little quirks of such an old building. It's great. And all at a bargain price too. We didn't eat here but if the breakfasts are anything to go by then next time we stay here we will certainly have an evening meal! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I stayed here with my mum who's in her eighties so Sharon gave us Room 4 which is two adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim&June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We did not stay at the Black Boy as we are quite local but were shopping in Sudbury and just called in for a drink. My partner and I were enjoying a drink when our teenage children joined us. Before we could even order them a drink and think about food we were informed that children are not welcome in the bar areas. We were shown to an outside area with a few benches which was obviously also the smoking area. Needless to say we finished our drinks and moved on to a more welcoming establishment!
While I can fully appreciate that it's nice to have an adult only environment in the evening this was 1pm in the afternoon!
I was genuinely shocked to find a pub that seems to be stuck in a time warp. We have taken our kids into pubs all over the country and it is the first time ever they have not been made welcome! There are lots of lovely pubs and hotels in the area but if you have kids under 18 I would give this one a miss!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian-Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

The food here is really nice and tasty, the choice on the menu is limited but the quality of this makes up for it. My only concern which people need to be aware of is there is no disabled toilet or access due to the age of the building, pensioners on walking frames can manage but there's no good handrail to help you in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at the Black Boy last night. We were attending a wedding in the area, and picked the Black Boy for its location.
The lady who checked us in was friendly and efficient and quickly sorted us out with cabs for a journey to the venue and our return.

The room was clean, simple and suited our needs. However the lack of a wardrobe and the rooms small size would have been issues if we had stayed longer.

Bathroom was clean, could have done with a little tlc.........flacking paint on the ceiling, and peeling paper above the shower...........but lots of hot water and nice towels.

A standard range of cold breakfast foods was on offer, and good quality hot food was cooked to order.

If we were to need to stay in the are again we would certainly return,.........its a hotel ideal for a one or two night stay.........

Hope this is useful

Room Tip: we were in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanandcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Good food, the room was quite basic but the bed was comfortable. The stairs to the rooms are quite narrow & steep not an issue for us but could imagine it could be a little tricky fir some. If you're not familiar with the area the car park is a little tricky to find but certainly an added bonus. The hotel is located in a great central location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently stayed here while attending a wedding in the area the staff were very helpful friendly and welcoming i felt more like i was staying at a family members hous than a hotel the rooms were very clean and had everything i needed ensuite tea facilitys tv and free wifi my sister had booked a superour room and it was huge really enjoyed the full english (or whatever you preferred) breakfast would happily stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo_1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill Lodge Hotel
Hill Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sudbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#8 of 16 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boy Hotel

Property: The Black Boy Hotel
Address: 7 Market Hill, Babergh District CO10 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Boy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy is situated in the heart of Sudbury overlooking the market square with easy access to the surrounding countryside. With it's seven en-suite letting rooms it is the perfect place for either a weekend retreat or a relaxing mid week stay; dog friendly rooms are available with prior arrangement. Serving the finest in traditional ales and a selection of craft beers alongside a fantastic, handpicked, wine and spirit range. The Black Boy has a classic, locally sourced English tavern menu with something for everyone. Come and stay and let our friendly team look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Black Boy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boy Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing