We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A positive memorable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed over last night with a meal and breakfast this morning. Lovely setting and room was great. Bed very soft and comfy and bathroom modern with powerful shower. Evening meal very well cooked with a good variety for all. Staff all very pleasant , Linda the owner definitely has the WOW factor when it comes to front of house and exceeding our expectations ( I even got a kiss) Chef out the back deserves a thanks as an unsung hero ( wife loved the goats cheese tart for starter and liver for main) Great value for money and we would definitely come back with friends. Thanks very much to all . Steve and Sarah from Chelmsford

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for The Case Restaurant with Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a truly relaxing stay. Linda and Barry are wonderful hosts. The food was excellent!! Watch out for the fresh fruit pancake for breakfast. There was nothing that was too much trouble. Would return again and again! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at The Case on Monday evening and had a delightful room which was spotlessly clean together with a superb evening meal and a breakfast that was the best I have ever had. The proprietors were extremely friendly and even though there was a power cut for an hour they soldiered on and everyone received their meals. If we are in the area again we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnydays51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent 2 nights at the case with my sisters and their husbands. Linda was very warm and welcoming. We all had lovely rooms. My husband and is stayed in the burgundy room which was very comfortable and had everything we could need.
The food was really delicious. All six of us were very happy with everything we had. The breakfast pancakes were delicious!
One night there was a power cut which would have made it very difficult in the kitchen and we were all amazed that the food was all served to the usual high quality. Barry is an excellent chef and Linda is superb front of house. A wonderful stay

Room Tip: There are 2 larger rooms but the standard ones are also very comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Have just arrived home and must thank Linda and Barry for a fantastic stay,nothing was too much trouble.The room was well appointed with nice bathroom and shower even fresh milk and homeade biscuits in the room a special touch
Food was very good and well presented with a good choice of starters and main courses and a blackboard with a selection of fish dishes.Food cooked to order so were able to enjoy a glass of wine before going to our table.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice .We would like to thank Linda Barry and her team for a wonderful stay and will certaintly retun when we are in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms at back of the case so no road noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolbu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As the name suggests, this is a restaurant with rooms. However, the room are well appointed and well maintained, with nice bathrooms and nice touches, such as a cafetiere and free Wi-Fi in the rooms. We didn't have one, but I believe a couple of rooms are larger with Jacuzzi baths!
Having said that, many will come predominantly for the excellent restaurant and the added advantage of being able to stay over. Especially as the restaurant is fairly remote in the lovely Suffolk countryside. I particularly loved the mini beef wellington starter and the daily changing fish specials are a great addition to the main menu.
The place is family run, with Linda running front of house superbly. The service is friendly, yet efficient and they really look after you.
We met some friends for a meal and ended up drinking until the early hours, yet no one asked us to retire to our rooms and someone staffed the bar at all times.
Finally, I have to mention the amazing breakfast. We had the full English included in our stay, and it was good, fresh ingredients, cooked perfectly.
This is a great place to stay and the service is brilliant.

Room Tip: Nearby Lavenham or Long Melford are great places to visit.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJEColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A friend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Case on Saturday evening as we travelled down to the area for a wedding at nearby Dove Barn. We had a long drive in the morning from Nottingham and Linda was so accommodating by offering us a cup of tea as soon as we arrived and preparing our room for an early check in as she knew we had a wedding to attend at 2.00pm.

Our room was beautiful and we both felt instantly relaxed with the warm hospitality and only wished we could have stayed for more than one night! Breakfast was varied and fresh and served in the conservatory with homemade baking and cooking adding an extra special touch and preparing us for the long drive home to Nottingham and Newcastle.

The area is lovely and we left feeling our visit wasn’t quite long enough so if I do get the chance to return, I would certainly re-book with Linda and her family. First class service!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
3.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,147 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.6 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.7 mi away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
2.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Case Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Case Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Further Street | Assington, Babergh District CO10 5LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range: £72 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Case Restaurant with Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restaurant with rooms where personal service and customer satisfaction is all important. Situated in rural Suffolk with views over ajoining farmland we offer luxurious well presented rooms with many included extras alongside our, twenty year established restaurant, serving traditional and imaganitive dishes. A family business where little things mean a lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Case Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Sudbury
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing