We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid place to eat and sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 16 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A splendid place to eat and sleep.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We found The Case through Groupon with a very good two night deal. We were exploring the area for some family history and it was central to our search. It turned out to be a very lucky find. The room was small but comfortable; a good bed, excellent storage for things and a bathroom with an excellent shower. The coffee and tea making facilities were good; fresh milk, decaf coffee, both instant and cafetiere, good quality tea bags and home baked biscuits!
The evening meal on the first night was part of the Groupon deal. It was excellent. A good and varied menu, some very good meat dishes but with a choice of five fish meals offered for me to enjoy. Good starters and a reasonable dessert menu. The meal was good enough to encourage us to book again for the second night.
The breakfast, we had a full English, was full of excellent local produce and full of flavour. A wonderful start to both days.
The staff were efficient and very professional. They were very welcoming and contributed to the wonderful atmosphere that they obviously work very hard to generate.
We had a lovely two days!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johninliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    50
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
216
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I've visited this restaurant on many occasions and have always had a great time. The menu varies depending on the availability of the produce, the highlights being the fish board but that doesn't diminish from the rest of the menu. Quality is the main ingredient in everything. Ok it's not pub grub cheap but for a special experience nothing locally compares. One minor gripe is the accessibility for disabled people, especially getting in and out of the toilets. Otherwise the staff, food, location and total experience is perfect.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MLKsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband & I had a groupon voucher for an overnight stay with dinner & breakfast. This hotel is excellent & although on a groupon we were not treated any differently to other guests. The rooms are in the garden screened from the car park by shrubs & trees. The rooms are nicely furnished with flat screen TV, hairdrier ,ample tea & coffee & fresh milk. Ironing board & iron were located in the large built in wardrobe. The bed was very comfortable & the room clean. The bathroom had a good size bath & very powerful shower over, also luxury toiletries & little extras. Our evening meal was delicious & the chef did his best to accommodate my husbands special diet. Breakfast was well presented & beautifully cooked with plenty of choice using local produce. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: all rooms good we stayed in the Mulberry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very friendly owners, comfortable relaxing atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble. The food is very well presented all cooked fresh on the premises and sourced locally. Good range of wines and spirits. The breakfast is one of the best I have had in a hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kc21kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were here in March 2014 staying there and enjoying their wonderful hospitality. Have just returned from another stay and have again enjoyed our visit. Stayed in one of their rooms situated just yards from the main building and although fairly small are quite adequate. Separate bathroom, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, home made biscuits provided too. Free wi-if accessible from the room and the main building. Dined here and as usual the menu and food were of a very high standard. Breakfast is cooked to order and again, of very high standard. We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger and have a jacuzzi. Ideal base for exploring the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley and Pau... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We loved our room with all you could possibly want in it. Little things that made it so good including the hair dryer, locking bedside drawers for extra security, lovely bath/shower luxuries. Spotlessly clean. The good was really good and the homemade bread was SOO yummy. Wish we had been there longer. NOTE: if you have special needs, diabetic, vegetarian et., do ring and speak to
Kinda. She will make every effort to ensure you have a good stay with whatever you need.
Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms are all on one (bungalow) level at the back and are very quiet despite the restaurant fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent an evening here for my husbands birthday and the place is absolutely fantastic. Totally faultless and we were both blown away by everything, the lovely warm welcome, the accommodation, the food, the restaurant, and the location and we will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
3.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.9 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
119 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
3.6 mi away
Newmans Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Case Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Case Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Address: Further Street | Assington, Babergh District CO10 5LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Case Restaurant with Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restaurant with rooms where personal service and customer satisfaction is all important. Situated in rural Suffolk with views over ajoining farmland we offer luxurious well presented rooms with many included extras alongside our, twenty year established restaurant, serving traditional and imaganitive dishes. A family business where little things mean a lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Case Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Sudbury
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing