We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous countryside retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset over the terrace 10 m x 5 m private pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sunset over the terrace
10 m x 5 m private pool
Pool/terrace
Nearby lakes/beach
Pool/terrace/table tennis
Comfortable lounge
Fully equipped kitchen
Outdoor eating area with BBQ next to pool
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1 with en-suite
Rear view from Bedroom 1
Château at La Rochefoucauld
Enjoy a relaxing time on the river
.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Chasseneuil-sur-Bonnieure, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Suncream6
1 review
“Gorgeous countryside retreat”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are now 5 nights into our stay here and cannot praise the gite/villa, location and hosts highly enough.
The house is perfect. Spacious, clean, nicely decorated and appears to have everything (and more!) that one would want whilst away. There's even a box of toys by the pool area to add to the overall excitement of a summer holiday!
The area is wonderfully rural. Farms dotted around growing maize or Sunflowers with pretty villages scattered in between.
The local town boasts a 'Hogwarts' style Chateau for families with children who'd appreciate that reference and for those that don't, it's really very impressive nonetheless!
Gary and Deanna have in the house an extremely comprehensive guide full of information and it seems yet again to include everything you could possibly want. A lovely welcome pack will greet you upon arrival and even a bottle of wine chilled down in the fridge. The owners have mastered that impossible task of being around to help, but by no means being part of your experience.
The pool area is secure, which for families with small children will be a relief. In fact, there are 2 gates between the house and pool area. The owners keep the pool beautifully clean and incredibly well looked after making it a joy to use each day.
If you're after a break from the buzz of home life then we can't recommend here enough. A view of rolling hills, cows and crops with a distant donkey braying on a balmy summers night with a glass of wine in your hand is what this place is all about. Heaven, pure heaven!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
We are both very happy that you are enjoying your stay here with us at Les Deux Pins. The weather has been very kind to you albeit a bit hot at times and it's been lovely listening to the children enjoying themselves playing in the pool. We hope to welcome you again one day in the future.
Garry and Deana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p1hab3ach
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous house: great for all ages”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had an amazing time at Les deux pins. House was great, so much to do with the pool and table tennis. Deana and Garry were very welcoming and gave us plenty of privacy but advice too. We had 6 boys aged 5-13 who were entertained by the swimming pool (unheated), very large gardens and fields, pool table, table tennis, table football, nearby lakes and rivers and adventures to nearby towns. Huge space around the house was great for family games in the evening and we were able to let the chidlren have freedom in a safe environment. Would highly recommend and hope to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space around the house was perfect for young and teenage children.
Liked least: Wifi was a best inconsistent.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
It was great meeting you all and we hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie T
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super place, plenty to do and fantastic weather”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a family holiday with our 3 children aged 10-14 at Les Deux Pins and had a fantastic time. There was lots to keep the children entertained from the swimming pool, to billiards table and ping pong, as well as plenty of space inside and out. We really enjoyed seeing the surrounding areas, though cycling was harder work than we're used to as there's a few hills! - but super scenery and quiet roads, so worth the trips. Kayaking in the local river was one of the highlights for us, along with enjoying the French lifestyle. Les Deux Pins is really well equipped, beautifully furnished and lovely and quiet. Deana and Garry were friendly and welcoming and have created a great holiday spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area, well equipped and nicely furnished accommodation
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
It was an absolute pleasure having you here. Glad you enjoyed the scenic cycle routes down through the wooded tracks and lanes, albeit a bit challenging in places. Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
So glad that you were able to utilise all the outdoor facilities at Les Deux Pins also taking time out to explore the surrounding area. Hope to see you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colin M
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful location & fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

6 of us in total stayed at Les Deux Pins - my wife & I, 2 children (10 yrs & 4 yrs), and in-laws/grandparents. We all had a fantastic time. The location is very rural and relatively remote, but with easy access by car to good shops for food/groceries (10-15 mins), a man made beach (20-25 mins), and larger towns (30-60 mins), including a great street market on Wednesday (thanks to our hosts Gary and Deana for the details). Futuroscope is just under 2 hours away if you want to take a longer trip to a bigger attraction.

However, we (me, my wife and children) spent most of our time at Les Deux Pins in and around the private swimming pool (unheated, but a fairly comfortable 24-26 *C). We were very pleased that there is a high child proof fence gate, ensuring our youngest child could only access the pool area when an adult was present. The box of pool toys was also good.

Also the use of the large well maintained garden with lawn was great for our children to run around on and play ball games, as well as large wild meadow for "bug hunting" (but be careful of the large hairy orange & black caterpillars, with toxic/irritant hairs! Nice to see, but don't touch!).

Whilst we were in the pool, my in-laws (+60 yrs old) enjoyed some trips out to nearby Chateaus, including Limoges about 1 hour away. So, there is pretty much something for all ages to enjoy and you might feel (like we did) that 1 week at this beautiful location is simply not long enough! We plan to vist again.

Some things to watch out for and my suggestions for small improvements are:
*Stairs - they are safe with a bannister, but are wooden and so slippy/dangerous when wearing only socks. Some sort of non-slip coating on the stairs would be good, and also would benefit from stair gates being available if toddlers are staying.
*Pool - there is sudden/steep drop off from the shallow to deep end, and so a sticker/marker on the wall surrounding the pool, to mark where the drop off is, would be good so that weak swimmers know where to stop.
*Rug on tv/main room - very slippy as it is on a wooden floor and would benefit from anti-slip grips underneath. We actually rolled if up and put it to one side during our stay to avoid accidents.
*Flies - there are lots of them and can be a particular nuisance in the kitchen. We had a couple of pop-up "food tents" with us, but perhaps a UV/electric fly zapper mounted on the wall might help?

However, please don't let any of this put you off thinking about staying at Les Deux Pins, which is a truly beautiful location and Gary & Deana were fantastic hosts (living next door, but very discrete and non-obtrusive).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool and large garden.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are always open to receiving feedback and will definately look into the comments you have raised. There are stairgates available on request for the younger visitors and I agree wooden floors can be a bit slippery with just socks on so extra care should be taken when walking around especially when using the stairs. Maybe there is a product which can be utilised in this case otherthan carpets which don't normally exist here in France (only on rare ocassions). We will look to placing a rug adhesive in the lounge or even discard the rug altogether. Flies can be a problem sometimes in France and so maybe by purchasing a 'electronic wall mounted zapper' may help the situation but is not a problem all summer round. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you all next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMU2014
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely rural, spacious and comfortable home.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely rural home comfortably accommodating three families of 3 and more than living up to our expectations. Property is well equipped with nice sized kitchen/diner, comfortable lounge and well utilised games room.
Large open space provided ample room for rounders and for the 2 year old to run and explore to his hearts content. Swimming pool is superb and secure. Table tennis and especially the pool table provided plenty of fun for everyone.
The lakes are only 20 minutes away - picturesque, nice beach area, swimming, diving, play area, kayaking and during our stay - peaceful.
We stayed two weeks and also enjoyed a couple of days at the coast - Côte Sauvage (Royan) and Il De Re (Rochelle) had lovely beaches with St Martin (Il De Rey) and La Rochelle Port providing good shopping opportunity.
Whilst, remote, a large Le Clerc supermarket was only 10 miles away as well as smaller supermarkets a short drive away.
Deanna and Gary were very helpful, providing advice and literature for local attractions.
We enjoyed a relaxing holiday in a lovely environment with plenty to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool, games room and open space
Liked least: Some of our party found it bit too remote
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
We are both pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to thank you all for looking after the property. Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma g
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family accommodation in rural setting”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our family are regular visitors to the Charente, this was our first stay at Les Deux Pins and we would definitely return. The property is beautifully decorated and feels luxurious, spacious and well equipped. For our purposes as an extended family the layout of the bedrooms & bathrooms over two floors was ideal. The pool area was secure with plenty of shaded seating, there was also an enclosed gated garden area as well as the larger garden/field for our young kids to play in, they had a ball and we never worried about their safety.
Deana and Gary were extremely friendly & welcoming hosts, they are located on site but away from the house, they were always available when needed but respected the privacy of their guests, the perfect balance.
The property is within 15-20 minutes easy drive of several towns, supermarkets, a quality 18 hole golf course and lakes with child-friendly beaches (we like Plage Guerlie at Pressignac). If you're more adventurous than we are or have older children there are plenty of cycling, walking, kayaking, horse riding (etc.) opportunities in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of accommodation, spaciousness.
Liked least: Wifi was intermittent in the house, worked well by the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
A lovely review from a lovely friendly family who we hope to see again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing