We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Twelve Degrees North
Nearby Hotels
Lance Aux Epines Cottages(Lance aux Epines)(Great Value!)
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$525
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$509
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandela Court(Lance aux Epines)
US$197
TripAdvisor
View Deal
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Hotel(Grand Anse)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$545
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Hartman Bay Estate(Lance aux Epines)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
55
5
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
5
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This was a return visit after several years, and I can’t believe we waited this long to come back. Grenada is a beautiful, friendly island, and Twelve Degrees North is the perfect place for us to stay; a comfortable, one-bedroom apartment in a quiet residential area, with beautiful grounds, a fresh water swimming pool, a large sun deck at the water’s edge with comfortable lounge chairs and hammocks under the almond trees. There is a very small beach on the property just big enough to launch a kayak or the sunfish. A private dock has great stairs leading into the water for easy access to swim and snorkel, and a little thatch roof cabana for sitting in the shade while on the dock. From our balcony, we could see sailboats anchored out in the palm-fringed bay, and watched a beautiful sunset every night. Our housekeeper, Yvonne, was a great cook and we had breakfast on the balcony every day. She would also prepare lunch, whatever we wanted, or, if we were going to be gone on a tour, she would prepare something for when we returned. Our host, Joe Gaylord, went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. He is very knowledgeable about the island, the history and culture of Grenada, and can assist with making arrangements for tours and activities.
This is not the place for you if are looking for big resort amenities and exciting nightlife. There is no TV, no air conditioning. The ceiling fan and ocean breeze through the screened windows kept us very comfortable. You will need some bug spray if you are outside at dawn or at dusk, as the sand flies will want to bite. This place is peaceful, serene, and the nightlife consists of stargazing, watching fireflies and listening to the waves gently breaking while lying in the huge, comfortable bed. Joe’s rum punch is perhaps the best we have ever sampled. I hope we will have the pleasure of returning again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattig71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Spent a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. Neither Grenada nor 12 degrees North are "hopping" (no casinos or wild nightlife) but this a a beautiful island full of friendly people and you basically feel safe anywhere. The hotel is near the end of a peninsula in a quiet residential area. It meticulously maintained but is starting to show its age. Nothing that a few cosmetic touches wouldn't immediately solve. It's a great piece of property and one that might get snatched by condo developers when the current owner retires. Loved the insects and the sea competing for the background music at night.

It took us a while (actually maybe we didn't totally) get use to having our own housekeeper available to us from 8 AM to 2 PM. We've never even had a nanny, so it was difficult for us to get used to doing nothing whiel she was cooking, cleaning and awashing our clothes! If you're not worried about that then this is the place! You can get more modern touches down the road at the Calabash if you are willing to triple the cost.

As for Grenada in November, it's raining most days - sometimes just a little, sometimes a lot. So the hiking trails were pretty muddy and some were not safe enough to try because of rushing torrents. I suspect January is a much better month to go, but nonetheless, if relaxation, peace and quiet, and great quality/cost is what you are looking for, then this might be a very good option. We're not divers, but we met some and they said the water was clear and the diving excellent especially in Carriacou.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSTToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Our return trip to TDN was even better than the first. The coral reef that it flanks is returning gradually and we found the snorkeling to be easy and satisfying. After our morning walk, we had our morning snorkel right off the dock. How easy is that?

Donna was our housekeeper and she was meticulous on cleaning, laundry etc. and a wonderful cook. Actually, we preferred her cooking to many local eateries and ate at least two meals at TDN each day. She also left dinner for us if we came back late from an excursion. We could not have gotten better service.Joe is doing fine and provides the same excellent assistance as always. He can help you with any questions or arrangements. The photos of TDN give you a good idea of the place. One item omitted are the padded chaise lounge chairs on the veranda (a nice place to take a nap because it is shady , refreshingly breezy and protects from a rain shower.

We used Caribbean Horizons for a fly/sail /snorkel one day tour and it was excellent. It was easy, breakfast and lunch were included and we sailed to several locations, including the Tobago Cays Marine Park and Palm Island. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in the Tobago Cays. I did notice the difference immediately between the people of SVG and Grenada. Grenadians are so hospitable and friendly; the people of SVG did not say hello to strangers on the street.

The level of poverty is low compared to other Caribbean islands, particularly Jamaica. The level of crime is low as well. But to relate the friendliness of the people I have one anecdote: Selwynn gave us an island tour this year; his wife Pat took us around last year. When we went with Selwynn to Fish Friday in Gouyave he mentioned that he was sorry that Pat could not join us. On Sunday, when he picked us up at 5:30am for the airport, Pat and his daughter were with him. We all hugged at the airport and said goodbye. I have never seen such hospitable people anywhere in the world like people of Grenada. Besides the gorgeous beaches, rainforest and monkeys, it's the people of a place that make or break a vacation experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We spent the first two weeks of February in a wonderful return visit to Twelve Degrees North and agree with the many positive statements written by others. The magnificent site, the comfortable apartments, the charming, helpful and efficient housekeepers who keep your place immaculate, return your laundry promptly and provide delicious meals and wonderful fruit drinks while, mysteriously, never being underfoot all contribute to a unique experience.
But there is more. Because of the location, on a large quiet cove in a residential area, the water is calm enough for the less than expert swimmer while providing much of interest to the avid (or neophyte) snorkeler.
We found the coral, damaged by Hurricane Ivan in 2004, in the process of renewal, still far from complete. This seems not to bother the fish, which were there in profusion. Not far from the stairs from the dock to the water schools of fish can be seen. In some the fish were small, striped and about 2” long. We saw large collections of midsize fish feeding in a cluster and then, suddenly, organizing into a long school that speeded off. Other schools were composed of large silvery fish, some over a foot in length. Elusive squirrel fish ventured out of their crevices and a green moray poked out its head from a coral nook.. Bring a mask and snorkel.
Most dramatic were two 2-3 foot rays we spotted swimming in shallow water. They were incredibly graceful; we had never seen any before, anywhere.
A few miles away is one of the most gorgeous beaches in the Caribbean, a 2-mile curve of white sand with mountains in the background. Good restaurants are not far either. But frankly, one of the best restaurants is in your own apartment as the housekeepers are all excellent cooks. And it’s easy on the budget.
Down by the water is a small but interesting library. Guests tend to leave books they brought and finished, and sometimes take home others in their place. Everything is very informal and relaxing. If that’s the sort of vacation you seek, 12 Degrees North is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at TDN the last week of June into early July. Before we arrived, we had a few concerns based on research: should we have chosen a resort, should we have stayed on Grand Anse, etc. Fortunately, all our concerns disappeared as each day of the trip came to an end. As we toured the island, we were so impressed by the friendliness of the people, the beauty of the beaches, and the vast, unspoiled rain forests. We were also impressed with the care Grenadians took in maintaining their homes, landscaping etc. In terms of Caribbean islands, Grenada, with its natural beauty and limited development, is now our favorite.
TDN was also the perfect choice for us. In low season it is extremely affordable. The accommodations were comfortable and the housekeeper was a real plus. We had two very nice young ladies, Belinda and Candace, who could not do enough for us. It was such a delight not to worry about meals and laundry. We asked Belinda to cook for us ,"as she would for her family", and purchased the groceries she needed to accomplish this. How nice not to worry about cooking, spending too much money on meals and entertainment. We ate in several nights and since we purchased our own bottles of liquor, that was a bonus as well. At the end of the stay we came in way below our budget for the trip.
There is nothing more wonderful than spending the end of the day on the deck, watching the zodiacs going into the boatyard or returning to the yachts. The air smells so clean, the water's colors so clear, there is no where else my husband and I would rather be. We appreciated every evening's sunset.
The deck and dock have been renovated. There was no problem with bird droppings, the deck area provided both sun and shade thoroughout the day, and the lounge chairs with pads and terrycloth fitted tops were extremely comfortable. We packed in our luggage a collapsable cooler and brought drinks down to the deck for sunset.
In terms of electronics and appliances, TDN has WIFI, Mr. Gaylord loaned us an adapter to charge our cell phone batteries, and there was a hairdryer in the bathroom sink area. We were as connected to the outside world as we wanted to be. The absence of TV & radio was never a problem for us.
Mr. Gaylord's hospitality was wonderful. He was most helpful in assisting us with any plans we had, tours, taxis, restaurant recommendations. We shared a number of dinners with him and always enjoyed his company. However, this does not mean he was intrusive; he was quite adept in reading whether a couple wanted to be alone or not. Remember, he has been doing this for decades.
If you read reviews of TDN and believe it sounds like the place that is perfect for you, then it probably is. If you read reviews and feel that it does not have items important to you, i.e.-resort environment, restaurant and bar, AC, then it probably is not the right place.
We are grateful for Mr. Gaylord's hospitality and hope to return in the near future.
Jill and Darcy

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews