We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
89
8
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
8
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate homeview suiteevery morningbbc beachabsolute luxuryprickly baygrand anse beachnikkikayakislandconchreefgeorgesnutmegstcalabash
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you desire a magical, private and peaceful getaway you will find this all at the
Mount Hartman Bay Estates in the lovely spice island of Grenada. Located the affluent lance aux epine section which is convenient to the airport. If you are looking for a hotel in the middle of the hustle and bustle this is not for you. If you want something extraordinary and super cool, the Mount Hartman Bay Estates is it. Carved into the side of a mountain this outstanding Eco- friendly boutique hotel looks like Gaudi's dream holiday residence. Our room on the very top had sensational views of the bay, beautiful linens and an exceptionally large bath with soaking tub and separate glass shower with dual shower heads and double sinks. Our room was the Odeon.
Prior to our arrival We spoke a number of times to the General Manager, David who happens to be adorable and French. He could not have been more accommodating.
He actually picked us up at the airport and brought us to the hotel where we were greeted with a special rum cocktail. Throughout our stay he could not have been more accommodating. David arranged for a car rental, a charter sail boat and various restaurant and site suggestions around the island. He seems to be in the know about everything on the island. He even sent us to a crab racing event which was very fun.

The other staff at the hotel were excellent and could not have been nicer. There atmosphere is casual and friendly. Breakfast was an array of fresh local fruit plus most anything from exquisitely spiced oatmeal to a full English breakfast. Susan who was our waitress in the restaurant told us about many out of the way places to go which were off the beaten path. She wanted us to experience the real Grenada. Dean, the Maitre d' was also very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

The restaurant is in a natural setting featuring a rock waterfall and is surrounded by massive windows with views as well as out door seating for cocktails. The food is fresh and nicely prepared in a local style. There was a catch of the day but the rest of the menu did not change. I would have liked to have seen daily specials including a grilled fish option. Nevertheless everything we had was good. The ginger pumpkin soup, organic local goat cheese salad, the fried pineapple fritter with nutmeg ice cream and the sticky toffee pudding were a few of our favorites.
We enjoyed watching the sun set outside with a glass of wine before dinner.

The infinity pool was a lovely feature perched over the azure bay dotted with sail boats. It was the perfect size to swim laps or just chill. Below the pool was a small beach and access to the bay for swimming. There was an additional beach next door as a part of the beach house as well as a dock, heliport and impressive yacht of the owner.
The first day we arrived we used the small gym which was not great. We quickly realized we did not want to be in a gym anyway when there was so much to do outdoors.
There is free wireless but is not fast anywhere on the island. We found it to be a bit spotty in the room but always strong in the restaurant. At times I wished it had not worked at all so I would have relaxed the old fashioned way with a good novel by the pool or on the beach.
Like most hotels in the Caribbean some parts are weather beaten. This adds to the charm. One should note the hotel has a number of levels which means stairs. This is not a place for someone who is not able or inclined to climb stairs. The stairs are part of the beautiful design and ambiance especially at night when they are lit.
It is best to rent a car or plan to use taxi's the only trade off for a spectacular view.
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this very special hotel.
As it has only recently transformed from a private Villa into a hotel and restaurant, I suspect that very soon when all the minor kinks are taken care of a reservation will be hard to come by.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Parisjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have just returned from a glorious stay at Mount Hartman Bay. There are not enough superlatives to describe how renewed I am. I am a seasoned Caribbean traveler and usually spend endless time researching where I want to go. I traveled with my sister and 12 year old nephew.

The purpose of our trip was simply to relax, swim, eat good food, and sight see a bit. After reading every hotel review on the island I decided Mount Hartman Bay was my choice. Right from the start general manager, David, was terrific. He immediately emailed me over and over answering all my questions. Anyone can see from the photos Mount Hartman Bay is in a beautiful scenic location. The facility was designed and constructed with great care and detail. The entire staff could not be nicer or more helpful. It is not a social scene or cookie cutter ra ra vacation hotel. It is a wonderful slice of Caribbean beauty.

We stayed in the beach house, which is separate to the hotel. It was so pretty and only feet from the water. We swam every day in the bathtub warm ocean bay allowing the very salty buoyant water to rejuvenate us. There was a warm breeze blowing most of the time and most importantly on our trip no bug bites! We ate almost every meal in the beautiful Mount Hartman Bay Restaurant located up high over the bay with a beautiful view in every direction. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and promptly served. It’s a small dinning room with sweet details. We did try a few other dinning experiences only to quickly decide we were happier at Mount Hartman Bay where the chef went out of his way to give us fresh tasty food.

We drove around the entire island and saw many pretty places. We are back home now wishing we could wake up and have breakfast at Mount Hartman Bay with the nicest staff on the island, go for a swim off the dock, followed by a little reading, drive to a sight we have yet to see, return for another jump in the sea and finish off with a dinner of fresh fish.

Room Tip: We loved the beach house which you can rent totally or room by room. We saw most of the rooms in the hotel and they were all nice. I would prefer the ones on the top if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMBSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Although the location is sublime, the standard of accommodation was a bit tired and the food needs to go up a few notches, especially as we were almost the only guests so got fed up with the same menu;the chef did a special seafood curry on the last night which was great. We were all inclusive but ate out a few times for a change of atmosphere.
However, the staff, Dean, Suzanne and the delightful new French Manager, David, were exemplary and we wish them every success in bringing this grand former private house up to a wonderful standard. If you are looking for a laid back, quiet, meditative break, just reading or sleeping, then you will love it.

Room Tip: Just ask David - we had the Rose room which has a lovely view but the stairs to the beach run right by the window...as there was no one there during the day, that was fine by us.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorraine503839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

If you are looking for a very remote stay and the nightly sounds of frogs, that could be the place for you!

When we arrived we were situated at the Blue Room which is right next to the kitchen. It was very noisy, but changing rooms was not an issue and the staff was very friendly accommodating new room. We were "upgraded" to a room close to the pool, but the noise of the pool pump would only stop during the night. We were able to deal with that rather than changing to another room and not knowing what to expect.

Don't expect to get everything to be working at this place! Hotel does not provide keys to lock your room door, and the safe box did not work in our room. However, nothing was missing during the stay! We did not have any hot water in the shower and could not use the hot tub! It's a good thing the weather was in 80's. There is no refrigerator at the room, so expect to pay for your cold drinks.

When purchased the reservations the following was included: “Unlimited use of water sports equipment, including jet boat, water skiing, wakeboarding, ski scooters, and snorkeling.”
Don't count on using the Jet Boat, which was broken for a while now, therefore cannot use water skiing, wakeboarding, ski scooters. The only 2 things you will be able to use are the Kayaks and snorkeling.

The food was expensive and not good at the place, so we did not eat much there, just went into town or the Aquarium Bar close by.

Overall! I would not return there, unless significant improvements are done to the “Estate”.

Room Tip: The very top rooms looked better and more quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gena60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We, too, were relocated to the Mount Hartman Bay after the unexpected closure of La Source and were slightly apprehensive, having stayed twice before at La Source. However, our fears were dispelled and we loved every moment of our stay at this peaceful and magical boutique hotel, which has just 8 beautifully appointed suites. The manager, David, welcomed us at the airport and, upon arrival, we were greeted by members of staff bearing a tray of cooling rum punches! We positively gasped at the stunning view over Hartman Bay where a cluster of yachts were moored in the tranquil, sheltered bay- a sight for sore eyes after the gloom of Surrey during the Christmas period. Thank you so much to David himself and to Peter, Dean, Susanne and Cheryl who all looked after us like old friends, stopping to chat when appropriate, but leaving us alone to enjoy the peace and quiet at other times when we were relaxing beside the infinity pool - with the only interruptions being a daily mid-morning offer of a cooling drink. The food, too, was excellent and the New Year's eve gala dinner was spectacular, and was followed by a taxi ride to nearby Prickly Bay (arranged by David) to watch the celebratory fireworks and join the party on the beach. My husband had a touch of bronchitis on our third day and not only did David summon the doctor, who arrived within 10 minutes, but he and Peter also kindly went to collect the prescription for him - a typical demonstration of the fabulous service offered by these wonderful people. Although the little man-made beach at the water's edge below the pool could not be compared to those on which the nearby Aquarium and the Beach House restaurants were located (both super venues for lunch or dinner), it was a delightful place to relax with the waves lapping almost at our feet. Our room at the Mount Hartman (Reef View suite) was air conditioned, with a ceiling fan, and was spacious and beautifully appointed. We had a fabulous view over the bay and the reef further out to sea, and we were able to sit there to gaze wistfully at the tranquil surroundingst from the decking outside our door where there were two comfy chairs and a table. We would definitely recommend this hotel as an 'away from it all' location with first-class service. We came home thoroughly renewed after the frenzy of Christmas at home!

Room Tip: Reef View Suite Rose Suite
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chapmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews