We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
89
8
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
8
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate homeview suiteevery morningbbc beachabsolute luxuryprickly baygrand anse beachnikkikayakislandconchreefgeorgesnutmegstcalabash
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful week-long stay here, but I can see that it wouldn't be for everyone. What we loved:
--The privacy: Sure, it wouldn't be terrible if the place was a teensy bit more lively, but I doubt at another resort we'd have the infinity pool and ocean views all to ourselves. It was peaceful and relaxing and the staff never intruded. We knew where to find someone if we wanted something, but it was nice to feel like we had this private house to ourselves without feeling like someone was lurking in the background waiting for us to need something.
--The views: The hotel is set into the cliffs overlooking the bay and the views are simply spectacular. The only downsides: it doesn't get the sunset and it's windy—but it's also pretty hot and humid, so the wind is needed.
--The pool: Gorgeous and a decent size. It was little bit chilly, which we always thought was funny given how warm the air was. We spent most of our time here because the "beach" area wasn't as nice. The ocean was a little bit weedy in front of the property and the actual sand was eroded in places. I know they're working hard on sprucing the place up—rooms, too—and I have no doubt that they will be cleaning this part up soon.
--The staff: As others have mentioned, everyone who works at the hotel is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. The new manager, David, helped us set up cabs, a snorkeling trip and weighed in on day trips. Dean, the restaurant manager, also couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
--The food: Breakfast was always delicious—fresh fruit, coffee, cereal. Dinner was expensive (though in line with everywhere else on the island) and the menu didn't change, but they were willing to accommodate special requests and always had good fish. Given that it was a cab ride to go anywhere else for dinner—and that the island doesn't actually have that many restaurants—we opted for dinner here every night but one.

The big downside, of course, to being in such a remote location, is that you either had to rent a car or hire a cab (not cheap!) to go explore the island. We did both, but after one long day in the rental car—managing to get lost about 4 times despite there only being one main road— we decided it was way less stressful to hire Dave (the hotel's prime cab driver) to take us places. The nice thing about Grenada is that the island's beaches are public, so we spent time at both Magazine beach and Grande Anse where you can rent beach chairs and umbrellas. Highly recommend checking out both. But for an even easier afternoon excursion, check out the Calabash hotel, which sits on a different bay from the Mt. Hartman. We walked over there on two different days. Because they weren't super busy, they let us use their beach chairs free of charge. And they have a great outdoor restaurant on the beach. But we were happy to come back to the Mt. Hartman every night!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Reefview suite on the top level. The three rooms up there have the best views. But the "Blue" room might be the nicest actual room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

If you are reading this, you are someone who wants something more than a nice hotel with a pretty pool. Something special, beyond special. A trip, a place that makes you want to stop the clock and enjoy every single second. Grenada itself is a place that is magical. But this special hotel, it is more than a hotel. From the very moment we got off the plane and were met by David and Peter, it was perfect. There is no issue of "will our room be ready"-even though we arrived at 6am. We were escorted to our absolutely perfect room and then had breakfast. The food here is some of the best on the island, the hotel rooms are absolutely stunning, and the staff is above and beyond amazing. We felt so "taken care of" at this hotel. Part of me wanted to not write this to keep this place a little secret, but I want to share the fact that this place--there is just something so wonderful about it. We spent breakfast with Suzanna, who is absolutely amazing, dinner with Dean and drinks with Timothy, all the while visiting with Peter for a chat and his amazing dogs (and of course David is there to make it all run smoothly). A review simply will not do this place justice, but it was a slice of heaven and a place that I will be back to very soon.
"Be spontaneous, go where the wind takes you."

(ps--if you are a runner, beware of the hills nearby! and if you get lost, everyone knows of Mt Hartman bay affectionately as the cave).
pps-- we spent some time at another hotel on the island, and had a wonderful time there as well--but we got stuck because of a snow storm for an extra night and decided to come back here for our last night. We were welcomed with open arms, and it felt like we were walking back into bliss!
Thank you to the whole team. We cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: Any room, but we loved reefview and rose suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My husband and I were married in Grenada 24 years ago. We decided to go back to relive the magical experience! We couldn't have chosen a better place. From the moment we arrived at Mounthartman we were charmed by the unique property!! We don't like to stay in big hotels with lots of tourists so this was a great choice for us.

From the minute you arrive the manager David and Peter can't do enough to make your stay amazing. We were greeted with a beautiful bouquet of flowers and an anniversary card! It made us feel like home. The Rose room is where we stayed. The furnishing are simple but elegant . The view from the bed is beautiful . The bathroom is large enough for 2 people with a huge tub overlooking the bay.

We breakfast at the hotel every morning and it was devious . The service is perfect and very relaxing. The wait staff is very helpful and will give you great advise on exploring the island.

I do recommend renting a car and exploring other areas of the island. If you want a peaceful experience with an amazing host this is it. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for the Rose room or beach house.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel is very private with an unbeleivable setting on the island, Located and convenient to the airport. If you want something out of the ordinary and just hip and cool this is your place! The Estate is Carved into the side of a mountain, one of the nicest boutique hotels we have been to.

Our room was on the top of the hill with the hotel below us, our view every day was over looking the bay and was sensational. My wife spoke with the General Manager David before we arrived, he could not have been nicer and after meetting him he could not have been more acomadating to us. David picked us up at the airport and brought us to the hotel, a special rum cocktail awaited us from a gentelaman named Dean.

We spoke with David every morning and went out on most of his suggestions on various restaurants and sites.

He was more then accommodating to all our questions and wishes.The other staff menbers at the hotel were amazing and could not have been better, always casual and friendly.

Breakfast was fresh local fruit, spiced oatmeal and or an English breakfast. Dean, the Maitre d' who also served us breakfaest some mornings made sure we had everything we needed, (the man is excellant).

On some other mornings we had two different ladys servers who again were as great as every one else.

The restaurant features a waterfall with very large windows with all views, there is also an out door seating area that wraps the restaurant.

The food is very good and nicely prepared, the catch of the day is always great.

There is an infinity pool over the bay with sail boats everywhere, very pretty. Down from the pool area there is a small private beach for swimming.

Last, I want to mention a gentleman named Peter who overseas the estate. I would say if he is not the owner of this amazing property he should be!. He is one of the nicest most intresting gentlemen I have ever met in all my travels.

If anyone needs to know anyone or anything on that island YOU MUST ASK Peter he knows! this man is amazing, so nice it was truly our pleasure always speaking with him.

Room Tip: On top of the hill.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you desire a magical, private and peaceful getaway you will find this all at the
Mount Hartman Bay Estates in the lovely spice island of Grenada. Located the affluent lance aux epine section which is convenient to the airport. If you are looking for a hotel in the middle of the hustle and bustle this is not for you. If you want something extraordinary and super cool, the Mount Hartman Bay Estates is it. Carved into the side of a mountain this outstanding Eco- friendly boutique hotel looks like Gaudi's dream holiday residence. Our room on the very top had sensational views of the bay, beautiful linens and an exceptionally large bath with soaking tub and separate glass shower with dual shower heads and double sinks. Our room was the Odeon.
Prior to our arrival We spoke a number of times to the General Manager, David who happens to be adorable and French. He could not have been more accommodating.
He actually picked us up at the airport and brought us to the hotel where we were greeted with a special rum cocktail. Throughout our stay he could not have been more accommodating. David arranged for a car rental, a charter sail boat and various restaurant and site suggestions around the island. He seems to be in the know about everything on the island. He even sent us to a crab racing event which was very fun.

The other staff at the hotel were excellent and could not have been nicer. There atmosphere is casual and friendly. Breakfast was an array of fresh local fruit plus most anything from exquisitely spiced oatmeal to a full English breakfast. Susan who was our waitress in the restaurant told us about many out of the way places to go which were off the beaten path. She wanted us to experience the real Grenada. Dean, the Maitre d' was also very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

The restaurant is in a natural setting featuring a rock waterfall and is surrounded by massive windows with views as well as out door seating for cocktails. The food is fresh and nicely prepared in a local style. There was a catch of the day but the rest of the menu did not change. I would have liked to have seen daily specials including a grilled fish option. Nevertheless everything we had was good. The ginger pumpkin soup, organic local goat cheese salad, the fried pineapple fritter with nutmeg ice cream and the sticky toffee pudding were a few of our favorites.
We enjoyed watching the sun set outside with a glass of wine before dinner.

The infinity pool was a lovely feature perched over the azure bay dotted with sail boats. It was the perfect size to swim laps or just chill. Below the pool was a small beach and access to the bay for swimming. There was an additional beach next door as a part of the beach house as well as a dock, heliport and impressive yacht of the owner.
The first day we arrived we used the small gym which was not great. We quickly realized we did not want to be in a gym anyway when there was so much to do outdoors.
There is free wireless but is not fast anywhere on the island. We found it to be a bit spotty in the room but always strong in the restaurant. At times I wished it had not worked at all so I would have relaxed the old fashioned way with a good novel by the pool or on the beach.
Like most hotels in the Caribbean some parts are weather beaten. This adds to the charm. One should note the hotel has a number of levels which means stairs. This is not a place for someone who is not able or inclined to climb stairs. The stairs are part of the beautiful design and ambiance especially at night when they are lit.
It is best to rent a car or plan to use taxi's the only trade off for a spectacular view.
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this very special hotel.
As it has only recently transformed from a private Villa into a hotel and restaurant, I suspect that very soon when all the minor kinks are taken care of a reservation will be hard to come by.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Parisjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews