We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning uninterrupted views and privacy in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated in a lovely spot overlooking a turquoise bay. It has 2 beaches that are white soft sand. On the other side of the bay are rolling hills and the sunrise each morning comes over the hills. We left our windows and doors open and from bed we watched the sunrise. Romantic even for us who have been married for many years! Everything about this hotel is special and so friendly. We were only there for a few days to see our daughter who is at College in Grenada but we were so pleased with the hotel that we invited other people to see it and they were also made very welcome and sat with us for the afternoon by the pool. This hotel does not sell day tickets to use their pool and beaches to the students as other hotels do. All of the meals were delicious and we have already booked our next visit. If you want somewhere special and private but within 10 minutes of SGU you can't beat this hotel. I have absolutely no gripes, everything about our stay was faultless.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Suite which is large and very comfortable. We saw other rooms to choose for our nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dulcie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are thrilled with your review. Thank you so much for your support. We look forward to seeing you again in a few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We are two lawyers in need of an escape from the Big Apple and we certainly found it at Mt Hartmon Bay Estate.

The new property owner, Nikki, provided personalized service and really made our stay unforgettable.

The view from the property is absolutely breathtaking (ask for the Reef Room at the top of the hill!) and the infinity pool overlooking the bay is an ideal place for sunbathing by day and sharing a rum punch or a Carib at sunset. Our room was spacious and clean and the front wall of the room folded open to create an unobstructed view of the bay.

The restaurant offered fresh fruit every morning and a quality dinner each night. The staff went above and beyond, attending to all of our needs. Dean in particular really made us feel at home and Tim was always there with fresh towels and a rum punch. We really can't wait to visit again!

Would we go back? Can't wait. Would we recommend it? Totally. Ps. The wifi is great which was not the case of the other place we stayed at.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrenadasGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear M & S, thank you so much for your comments. You were charming and gracious guests and we really appreciated your good humour as all of the new furniture arrived! Thank you also for your contribution to our cocktail bar list. I hope you enjoyed the second half of your holiday. It was lovely to hear that you came back for dinner last night. The whole team looks forward to the next time you can make your escape from your busy lives. Thank you for your support. Nikki and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Having just returned from a 10 day holiday in this little corner of Grenada I feel I must let others know what a beautiful place this is. The hotel is small and set in it's own gardens on a headland.
The view from the suite was stunning looking over the harbour and the bay where there were a number of yachts at anchor. Watching the sun rise from our suite was a lovely way to start the day before wandering up for breakfast which has a great choice although we mainly have the plate of local fruits and friut juice. Delicious! The days can be whiled away just sitting by the infinity pool watching the boats bobbing about and toing and froing. We rented a boat for the day and went round the island,Unbelievably beautiful. This can be arranged by the ever helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We were greeted at the airport by Alister (the manager) and driven to the hotel by Dave the helpful taxi driver where we were greeted with a rum punch. Beware! Dave is also a good guide for a tour of the island.All the staff at the hotel were helpful and extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: All suites face towards the sunrise and have equally good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so very much for taking the time to let Trip Advisor readers know that you enjoyed your time with us. We really appreciate it. All of the staff enjoyed having you both with with us and we very much hope to see you again soon. We are excitedly awaiting the arrival of our new boat for guest use (a 38 foot centre console) due to arrive in June but in the interim we are very happy to arrange boat hire with our local partner who will collect guests from our private dock as they did for yourselves. We also have new cars and a specially customised MPV arriving on Island May/June for guest transportation to supplement Dave who does a great job for us showing our guests around the island. We look forward to seeing you again soon, I know that you are working with us on your next visit. Thank you. Best wishes, Nikki and the whole Mount Hartman Bay Estate team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I visited Grenada for the first time and were really fortunate to stay at this private and exclusive hotel. Having travelled extensively around the world I have to say that this is one of the most idyllic places on the planet. It has a charm and serenity that allows you to unwind completely. The staff are helpful and generous with their time and every one seems to smile, they can't do enough for you. Our room was called the Dais suite and it has a private outside sitting area as well views over the bay from every angle. We never bothered to close the blinds as the room is completely private and we watched the sun rise every morning from bed. The bed was king size and really comfortable and we had clean white cotton sheets every day and all of our laundry was done without charge. Breakfast is served each morning in the Cave Restaurant with totally stunning views. Fresh fruit is picked every morning in the gardens and is unlike anything I have ever had in Africa. There was a different fresh fruit juice each morning and we left the hotel after a week of eating fresh fruit and vegetables and lots of fresh fish feeling much healthier. We had a late flight and this was no trouble and we kept our room until we were ready to go to the airport. The hotel is well positioned to visit St Georges (the capital) but we only did one sightseeing trip preferring instead to sit on our private terrace and read our books. The hotel has 2 pools but one was closed for renovation and the large infinity pool was a bit cool for us but not for another young couple who did not want it warmer. The sea was warm so we swam in that instead. We loved the food in the restaurant in the evenings and ate there most nights. My only criticism is that the restaurant is popular with locals for special occasions and sometimes we felt scruffy as we did not want to dress up. I mentioned this on leaving to the Manager and he said that they are happy to serve dinner anywhere on the property and in fact they were setting dinner up on the beach for another couple that same evening. We were sorry that we did not know and he said that they will update their welcome letter as apparently this is something new for them to do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luray60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments and our whole team at Mount Hartman enjoyed having you as our guests. We have changed our welcome letter to make sure that our resident guests know that we are happy to serve meals or snacks anywhere on the property and we will also make sure that we pro-actively offer to set up a private dinner on the beach or helicopter deck at least once during each stay. Thank you for the suggestion. From June we will have our new boat for guest use and will also be happy to take guests for lunch to a nearby island and you need never wear your shoes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Mt. Hartman Bay for 6 nights and had a wonderful time.

We are treated like we were the only guests at the hotel:)

They accommodated us with pick up at the airport - and sat down to create a special week's worth of activities for us. We took an Island tour with Dave who escorted us to the Cacao farm / the Nutmeg farm and several other small town treats around the island.

We also visited 4 different beaches - each with their own charm. Later in the week we visited Laura's spice farm and went to a private home where we purchased soaps and lotions. Saturday we went to the market in St. Georges for some additional shopping.

Alistair / Peter / Dean / Tim / and Devonshire couldn't have been more gracious and helpful.

And Trevor cooked special surprise Grenadian dishes for us several times. i went fishing and he cooked a special fish soup with my catch.

The food was superb - and we are jaded New Yorkers:)

They are working on upgrading the area - but that didn't interfere with the quality of the time spent. The only negative is that the Infinity pool currently isn't heated and it's pretty "refreshing" when it's windy out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wow, wow, wow is the first thing that comes to mind. Didn't really know this place was here as we spend most of our time in the north of the island and only come south to go to specific places to eat. So it was great to find new places we hadn't been too before. This place just takes your breath away. For a few days we were the only guests so felt very pampered. Stayed in the Reef View room at the top of the hotel which I think has the best views as it's dual aspect although it can get quite windy up there. Rooms were gorgeous and the whole place is very well looked after. Beautiful freshwater infinity pool. Lovely restaurant. Ate twice in evening and twice for lunch. Very good food all served by the delightful Devonshire and Aggie who seem to be masters of everything. Hotel organised a sportfishing trip for my husband (I tagged along) and it was great - more so because we caught (tagged and released) a 500lb+ blue marlin which apparently is completely unexpected as we were out of season. So that was a real bonus. This review wouldn't be complete without mentioning Peter, the owner/manager, who did a fantastic job of making sure everything was perfect and regaling us with his stories. If you get a chance to stay here, if only for one night, then definitely do it. Still don't understand why this isn't in the hotel section of TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: Reef View Room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR&RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband , myself and my little boy (8) stayed at Mount Hartman at the beginning of August.
We have now been back 3 weeks and still can't believe how lucky we were to visit such a stunningly located hotel .
Both the building and views are breathtaking .
Pete , Dean , Devonshire and the Team made us feel so special and were proud to tell us about their island and where to visit .
Breakfast was always a mass of fabulously tasting how grown tropical fruit , we could choose what we wanted for lunch and evening dinner really showcased the best of Grenadian produce ( including rum!!)
We stayed down in the beach house , which had its own private pool , living room and verandah overlooking the bay ( great for early morning yoga)
There was plenty of space for upto 4 people in our room and the bathroom was equally as big.
We had fresh flowers , tea , coffee , masses of towels and it was immaculately clean .
We quite happily whiled away hours in the infinity pool and I did venture to the gym !

Pete recommended a great driver Dave who was a great tour guide . We learnt a lot about Grenada from him and he made sure we saw everything we wanted too .( and we got to eat Oildown with him - the national Grenadian dish )
Grenada is a colourful vibrant island with so much to explore .. And the people are really friendly .

We ate at so many great restaurants & visited rum distilleries , cocoa bean processing plants , herb gardens and super soft white beaches .
Our favourite was at La Sagesse .
Though we were equally happy at the pool at Mount Hartman .

We spent a very cool Friday night at Prickly Bay Marina 'liming'

There is still so much to explore and eat in Grenada that another visit is definitely planned .

Mount Hartman has 11 rooms making it the most perfect of destinations if you want to escape to tranquility , but still enjoy its own unique 5* luxury .
Pete has designed a most hypnotically alluring hotel nestled amongst a cascade of hills and clear blue water that leave your eyes dreaming of Mount Hartman and the friends we made long after you leave .
In a word Mount Hartman is a must for every independent 5* traveller out there !!!!!



  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbaratresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lance aux Epines
1.1 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.5 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
722 reviews
17.4 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & Marina
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & M...
#1 of 1 in Petite Calivigny
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Grand Anse
863 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Hartman Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Hartman Bay Estate

Address: Reef View Drive, Lance aux Epines, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > Lance aux Epines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lance aux Epines
Price Range: £327 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Hartman Bay Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Hartman Bay Estate is a privately owned and managed luxury boutique hotel. During the Summer Season suites are offered at discounted prices on a room only basis. Please look at our website as many of our suites are only sold on our own website. We have some suites with a kitchenette and there are plenty of local restaurants. Our restaurant opens on the 1st December and is recognised as one of the best restaurants on the Island. We have a fabulous infinity pool with a swim up bar (drinks on a honour system for registered guests). We have 2 man made private white sand beaches, a deep water dock, kayaks, top of the range snorkelling equipment, fishing equipment and from mid December we operate a water sports boat (at additional charge) and fishing charters using our own 31 foot luxuriously appointed motor boat (WC on board). We have plenty of sun loungers spread around 5 acres of tropical gardens so everyone has their own privacy. All suites have their own private balcony with direct sea views. We can collect you from the airport for a small additional charge. Daily maid service. Minibars in all suites. Super comfortable imported king sized beds in all suites. Laundry service available. Just tell us what you need and we will do our best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Hartman Bay Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Hartman Bay Estate Grenada, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing