We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Hartman Bay Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Certificate of Excellence
St. George's, Grenada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We choose to celebrate our first anniversary at home, Grenada. We found the perfect place at Mount Hartman Bay Estate. The location is peaceful and serene. It provided a private, 'get away from it all' romantic hideaway. We enjoyed the calls of nature, the birds, heard fish jumping in the bay and got a snapshot of three iguanas relaxing on a cactus on the cliff face enjoying the cool evening breeze. The view is fabulous. An added feature was being able to enjoy the view while soaking the tub in the bathroom. The staff was warm and welcoming. The meals were delectable. We would highly recommend this boutique hotel to couples. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are very happy that you had a wonderful 1st Anniversary with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and for mentioning the wonderful wildlife that we have at our property. It is always a thrill to me to sit quietly on one of the patios and watch the hummingbirds and in the evening we have hummingbird moths which are also very beautiful. Grenada is blessed with having absolutely no poisonous creatures (other than stone fish by the reefs) so we welcome and encourage all wildlife and we are an all organic produce property. I am so pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    8
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
66
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa, usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are long time Luxury Link users and found this hotel listed on Luxury Link as part of a nice package deal and snapped it up. We are so glad we did as this hotel was simply wonderful! We were in the Reef View room the 1st night and yes it does have a wonderful big window next to the bed looking out at the harbor with an amazing view, however, as we actually spent most of our time outside on the deck we really did not appreciate the view from the bed and since the sun rises on that side we actually found that the sun beaming in the window was making the room hot (there is a metal shutter you can close to block the sun) so we moved 2 doors down to the black suite and loved the black suite. We found the black suite to be a bit more spacious than the Reef View suite and it has a wonderful outdoor shower - loved it! The bathroom itself is smaller than the one in the Reef View suite but it was not a problem especially since it had a bathtub and the outdoor shower. There is also a small kitchenette in the black room (the refrigerator and stove are in need of repair but we did not care as we were not cooking on this trip). There is very ample closet space with plenty of hangers and drawer space, nice plushy bathrobes and slippers are provided as well as very nice amenties in the bathroom - hairdryer, razor and shaving cream, toothbrush and small tube of toothpaste, full size bars of Pears soap (one of my favorites). In the main part of the room there was a beautiful king size bed with pretty mosquito netting drapped around it, 2 couches (one a sofa bed), a nice comfy easy chair, side tables, refrigerator stocked with bottled water and a chocolate bar, coffee/tea maker with tea bags, coffee pods and sugar and creamer - all we needed! There are 3 rooms on the topmost floor of the hotel - Reef View, Odeon and Black suite all share a spacious outdoor deck with plenty of chairs and tables and the most amazing views of the harbor. We spent the bulk of our time sitting out on the deck just drinking in the view and listening to the birds. We did see 2 other rooms at the hotel - the Dais suite - very nice and I would recommend this room too and the Blue Suite which has no outdoor seating area but is a spacious suite with 3 rooms off the main dining area - this suite also has the small "hobbit" windows that you see in the hotel's pictures.
When you arrive at the hotel there is the hotel office and a nice seating area right at the entrance. From the seating area you can go up a beautiful wood staircase to the dining and bar area or down another tile and wood staircase to the pool area and entrance to 2 other suites. It is surprising how spacious this small boutique hotel actually is - I never would have guessed there was this much space in a hotel built into a hillside! The dining room is lovely and the food and service are excellent (I did a separate review on the restaurant - The Cave House). The infinity pool overlooks the private beach and harbor and is wonderful place to just sit, relax and enjoy the stunning views (my only suggestion is maybe a bathroom closer to the pool so you don't have to walk up all those steps - maybe in the Tower room that is getting renovated?)
Peter, the general manager, has been with the property since it was a private house and he and a crew actually built the place. He has been on Grenada for 20 years and is a fount of Grenadian knowledge (he is originally from Wales) - if you have a problem or need help with something, Peter will solve it - he is the man! Excellent staff - thak you Peter, Glenda, Aggie, Tim and Dean and the room maids (sorry we do not know your names) who expertly cleaned our room and did our laundry everyday (free of charge). We spent 7 nights in this amazing hotel and could easily have spent another week here. Great place, excellent food, excellent service, beautiful views and Peter to chat with -what more could you want!!!
I hope the new owner (since December) keeps up the good work.
Highly recommend staying at The Mt. Hartman Bay Estate.
We did take many photos and will have to add them on soon!

Room Tip: Any room is nice - the 3 at the top have a large deck with amazing views (it does get a bit windy bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mrs D, thank you very much for your helpful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not work with Luxury Link anymore (preferring to make our special offers available for direct bookings via our website and on Bookings.com) but we were very pleased to be able to honour the booking that you had made prior to my ownership. I am sorry that the bathroom facility in the Pool Tower was closed during your stay. The Pool Tower is being turned into a swim-up bar but everything takes a little longer in the Caribbean! Likewise we are still awaiting the consignment with the replacement fridge and cooker for The Black Suite so consequently we do not market that it has a kitchenette at the moment. Thank you for mentioning the staff by name, they really appreciate it and I know that our team very much enjoyed your Company and hope to see you again. Thank you for your support and I will indeed keep up the good work! I would love to see your photos when you have a chance to upload them. Best wishes, Nikki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My new husband and I each picked a Granada hotel and divided our 8 night honeymoon in half. The first hotel, my choice, was LaLuna. It was fantastic to be beach-side and we really enjoyed the staff and amenities It's a well-established boutique hotel so I was confident in the decision.

The second hotel was Mount Hartman, my husband's choice, and a little bit of a gamble as we booked it solely based on the TripAdvisor reviews. We were so glad we did - it was AMAZING. The location was secluded and private, yet the staff was so hospitable and attentive so you never felt completely isolated. They have everything you'd want - a fantastic restaurant with the best food we had on the island (at better prices that the beachfront places), a man-made beach if you are craving sand, entry into the water to swim in the ocean, access to snorkels, a kayak and, it appears a motorized jetski in the near future. The infinity pool was a great place to unwind. We enjoyed taking wine poolside to have a pre-dinner drink.

If I went back, I'd rent a car so we could fully explore, but we were feeling lazy so we let the hotel's recommended taxi driver, Dave, take us to all our of destinations. He's fantastic - he navigated our hike to seven sisters waterfalls, took us to see his mom at the spice market for spice shopping and drove us to dinners & the airport.

This place is under new ownership as of December and I am confident it will only get better & better -- and more popular. Go while you still can get it! And tell Glenda and Peter we said hi!

One tip: The 3-course dinner at the restaurant is a fabulous deal. We had the banana fritter with rum sauce & rum-risen ice cream again & again. I typically taste around the menu, but that dessert is so good, it's worth having 3x!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Dias suite - just wonderful, right off the main lobby. I don't think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Suzanne, thank you so much for your wonderful review. I know that the whole team will be thrilled. I am really delighted that you had an amazing honeymoon. We know what a special honour it is to be chosen for a honeymoon and we always upgrade our honeymoon couples to the best available suite. As you rightly say we are in a quiet location at the top of a private drive. We are just 5 minutes from The Calabash but it is a steep hill. I am pleased to say that our fleet of vehicles for guest use arrived last evening! We have a specially customised 11 seater luxury minibus and we are happy to take resident guests anywhere within St Georges parish without charge. You mention the jetboat and that is undergoing some final checks whilst the golf buggy arrives mid June. It is exciting as all of the toys arrive and we really hope to have the chance to welcome you back to enjoy them! Thank you again for your support and your wonderful review and I know that the team really enjoyed your company. I was sorry not to have been there during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated in a lovely spot overlooking a turquoise bay. It has 2 beaches that are white soft sand. On the other side of the bay are rolling hills and the sunrise each morning comes over the hills. We left our windows and doors open and from bed we watched the sunrise. Romantic even for us who have been married for many years! Everything about this hotel is special and so friendly. We were only there for a few days to see our daughter who is at College in Grenada but we were so pleased with the hotel that we invited other people to see it and they were also made very welcome and sat with us for the afternoon by the pool. This hotel does not sell day tickets to use their pool and beaches to the students as other hotels do. All of the meals were delicious and we have already booked our next visit. If you want somewhere special and private but within 10 minutes of SGU you can't beat this hotel. I have absolutely no gripes, everything about our stay was faultless.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Suite which is large and very comfortable. We saw other rooms to choose for our nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulcie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are thrilled with your review. Thank you so much for your support. We look forward to seeing you again in a few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We are two lawyers in need of an escape from the Big Apple and we certainly found it at Mt Hartmon Bay Estate.

The new property owner, Nikki, provided personalized service and really made our stay unforgettable.

The view from the property is absolutely breathtaking (ask for the Reef Room at the top of the hill!) and the infinity pool overlooking the bay is an ideal place for sunbathing by day and sharing a rum punch or a Carib at sunset. Our room was spacious and clean and the front wall of the room folded open to create an unobstructed view of the bay.

The restaurant offered fresh fruit every morning and a quality dinner each night. The staff went above and beyond, attending to all of our needs. Dean in particular really made us feel at home and Tim was always there with fresh towels and a rum punch. We really can't wait to visit again!

Would we go back? Can't wait. Would we recommend it? Totally. Ps. The wifi is great which was not the case of the other place we stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrenadasGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear M & S, thank you so much for your comments. You were charming and gracious guests and we really appreciated your good humour as all of the new furniture arrived! Thank you also for your contribution to our cocktail bar list. I hope you enjoyed the second half of your holiday. It was lovely to hear that you came back for dinner last night. The whole team looks forward to the next time you can make your escape from your busy lives. Thank you for your support. Nikki and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Having just returned from a 10 day holiday in this little corner of Grenada I feel I must let others know what a beautiful place this is. The hotel is small and set in it's own gardens on a headland.
The view from the suite was stunning looking over the harbour and the bay where there were a number of yachts at anchor. Watching the sun rise from our suite was a lovely way to start the day before wandering up for breakfast which has a great choice although we mainly have the plate of local fruits and friut juice. Delicious! The days can be whiled away just sitting by the infinity pool watching the boats bobbing about and toing and froing. We rented a boat for the day and went round the island,Unbelievably beautiful. This can be arranged by the ever helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We were greeted at the airport by Alister (the manager) and driven to the hotel by Dave the helpful taxi driver where we were greeted with a rum punch. Beware! Dave is also a good guide for a tour of the island.All the staff at the hotel were helpful and extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: All suites face towards the sunrise and have equally good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to let Trip Advisor readers know that you enjoyed your time with us. We really appreciate it. All of the staff enjoyed having you both with with us and we very much hope to see you again soon. We are excitedly awaiting the arrival of our new boat for guest use (a 38 foot centre console) due to arrive in June but in the interim we are very happy to arrange boat hire with our local partner who will collect guests from our private dock as they did for yourselves. We also have new cars and a specially customised MPV arriving on Island May/June for guest transportation to supplement Dave who does a great job for us showing our guests around the island. We look forward to seeing you again soon, I know that you are working with us on your next visit. Thank you. Best wishes, Nikki and the whole Mount Hartman Bay Estate team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I visited Grenada for the first time and were really fortunate to stay at this private and exclusive hotel. Having travelled extensively around the world I have to say that this is one of the most idyllic places on the planet. It has a charm and serenity that allows you to unwind completely. The staff are helpful and generous with their time and every one seems to smile, they can't do enough for you. Our room was called the Dais suite and it has a private outside sitting area as well views over the bay from every angle. We never bothered to close the blinds as the room is completely private and we watched the sun rise every morning from bed. The bed was king size and really comfortable and we had clean white cotton sheets every day and all of our laundry was done without charge. Breakfast is served each morning in the Cave Restaurant with totally stunning views. Fresh fruit is picked every morning in the gardens and is unlike anything I have ever had in Africa. There was a different fresh fruit juice each morning and we left the hotel after a week of eating fresh fruit and vegetables and lots of fresh fish feeling much healthier. We had a late flight and this was no trouble and we kept our room until we were ready to go to the airport. The hotel is well positioned to visit St Georges (the capital) but we only did one sightseeing trip preferring instead to sit on our private terrace and read our books. The hotel has 2 pools but one was closed for renovation and the large infinity pool was a bit cool for us but not for another young couple who did not want it warmer. The sea was warm so we swam in that instead. We loved the food in the restaurant in the evenings and ate there most nights. My only criticism is that the restaurant is popular with locals for special occasions and sometimes we felt scruffy as we did not want to dress up. I mentioned this on leaving to the Manager and he said that they are happy to serve dinner anywhere on the property and in fact they were setting dinner up on the beach for another couple that same evening. We were sorry that we did not know and he said that they will update their welcome letter as apparently this is something new for them to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luray60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments and our whole team at Mount Hartman enjoyed having you as our guests. We have changed our welcome letter to make sure that our resident guests know that we are happy to serve meals or snacks anywhere on the property and we will also make sure that we pro-actively offer to set up a private dinner on the beach or helicopter deck at least once during each stay. Thank you for the suggestion. From June we will have our new boat for guest use and will also be happy to take guests for lunch to a nearby island and you need never wear your shoes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lance aux Epines
0.4 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel &...
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.0 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
2.1 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & Marina
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & M...
#1 of 1 in Petite Calivigny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
1.7 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Hartman Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Hartman Bay Estate

Property: Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Address: Reef View Drive, Lance aux Epines, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > Lance aux Epines
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lance aux Epines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Hartman Bay Estate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the 1st April, 2016 the property is being offered on a 'room only basis' without access to the pools and beaches and the restaurant will generally not be open. Guests will still enjoy luxurious rooms and fantastic views at much more affordable prices. Many restaurants and beaches within a 30 minute walk but car hire recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Hartman Bay Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Hartman Bay Estate Grenada, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing