We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation at it's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lance Aux Epines Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had booked this family holiday for 6 of us after reading lovely review in this website. We knew that Grenada was beautiful and the people so friendly. But what we experiences blew us away.
Sterling customer service from the time of booking, to our eventual departure.

We were picked up at the airport by David, who is such a gentle soul with an engaging smile. We were welcomed by Thaneia, and what really impressed me was the way were were shown around our gorgeous two apartments Wren and Ramier which were linked so it felt like one huge open space. We were made to feel like this was our home away from home. There was also no pressure to fill in paperwork as one has to do when checking in to some hotels.

For my Mum who was recovering from knee surgery, the location of the apartments to the little gazebo was perfect as she could get there with her walker, on her own, sit and relax, looking out to the sea. She even managed to get into the water with our assistance.

The kitchen was fully equipped and we loved the fact that on arrival there was a jug of water already chilled and trays filled with ice cubes. We did most of our cooking but next time we will have some food prepared for us! Rooms are spacious, well decorated and so homely and so clean. Lots of clean towels available and especially beach towels!

Who needs a pool when this gorgeous beach is on your doorstep! We loved the fact that the beach is off the main tourist track, it really truly felt private and no hassle from beach hawkers. A portable icebox in the apartments made sure the boys took their beers down on the sand for truly relaxing time. Kayaking across the bay was lovely.

Prickly Bay Marina is on the other side of the bay and a short 7 min walk away. There is small supermarket here, where you can get bread, groceries and vegetables. The bar and restaurant here is really good where many ex-pats (british and american) hang out. The pizzas are amazing. And we even took part in the BINGO night where all the locals come to try their luck at winning the jackpot and several cheesy prizes. The atmosphere is truly energetic. Grenadians are so polite, have a great sense of humour and again so welcoming!

We have never experienced a self-catering holiday like this before. Lance aux Epines.....you have set the standard so high up there, thank you.

We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a charming, peaceful place to stay. LAE cottages were able to put up my entire family in four cottages and assist me with my wedding on their shaded beach. The staff are the friendliest on the island. They go beyond to help you with any need that might arise. I almost hate to write this and let out the best kept secret.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is our third time staying in the Cottages - this time we were in Sandpiper, which is a two bedroom/two bath cottage. First, the scene is spectacular - looking out on Prickly Bay with it's own private beach is beautiful. The cottages are clean, well maintained and comfortable. We arrived to the island late in the evening, but prior to arrival ordered a food hamper, so we had some basic food items stocked in the refridgerator. The kitchen has all of the "basics" that you need to cook simple meals - they even offer to have someone cook for you (we've never requested this amenity, but it soulds great!) The staff is friendly and helpful. Wi-fi provided great reception and was very fast. The kids really enjoyed the game room for playing pool, foosball and watching TV. I'm already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you to Tim and his whole staff for another great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent 3 nights here - Prickly Bay is idyllic and the views from our apartment (Wren) were spectacular. It is dry season, so the garden is not as verdant as it would be in the rainy season, but it was still beautiful, because the bouganvilla , oleander and allamander were all in bloom. Wi-fi service is reliable and fast, the kitchen is stocked with the stuff we needed , there are several restaurants within walking /driving distance, St. Georges is but a taxi ride away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wren apartments which were spacious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our initial 4 days of our 2 week stay was in the Swallow Cottage and then we moved to the Kite apartment as availability dictated. Both were equally comfortable and spacious. The kitchens were well stocked with the tools you need to cook and serve a decent meal. I brought my own knives and didn't have to use the somewhat blunt instruments supplied. Only the bedrooms are AC'ed as it is not necessary in the other rooms with the constant sea breeze flowing through.

The grounds are immaculately maintained with plenty of trees to provide shade throughout the day making it ideal for reading and napping on their lounging chairs. Even though all beaches are public in Grenada, this particular stretch is as close to private as you’ll get. There are few people sharing this beach of fine sand and calm protected waters. I swallowed a bit of the salty stuff during my first morning when I fell asleep floating on my back.

All staff is very hospitable and service oriented. Any issue will be addressed quickly to the best of their ability. A special thanks to Eva, our housekeeper, who cooked us a delicious ‘oil down’, a Grenadian national dish as well as a couple of cakes that where accentuated with local flavours.

LAE Cottages is situated within walking distance of some good restaurants as well as easy access to shopping by bus or taxi. St. George’s is just a 15 minute ride by taxi.

Room Tip: Book early. Some of the regulars have their bookings made for years to come!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Greetings! Thank you for doing a double review of sorts, and providing us with feedback about both the cottage and the apartment you stayed in. Your positive rating was gratifying to see.
Maintaining a well stocked kitchen is important to us, as many of our guests like to do their own food preparation, or have food prepared for them by our staff. We've made note of the blunt knives and will look to put sharpeners into all of the kitchens in the very near future! I hope bringing your own knives was not an inconvenience.
Our friendly staff are a stellar team and make our carefully maintained facility truly shine. Thanks for noticing! We will relay your compliments to them and hope to see you again one day in the future.
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The apartment we had (Kite) was spacious, clean, and well-appointed for self-catering. Being on the second floor, for sleeping, we definitely found it necessary to use the air conditioner that is located solely in the bedroom. We found the manager and staff to be very helpful and accommodating: indeed, the manager loaned us a cell phone and gave us his cell phone number to be used any time we had a problem anyplace in Grenada. The grounds were pleasantly landscaped, clean and located on the bay; watching the sun set over the bay while sitting outside was almost obligatory after experiencing it once. BTW, walking out to the tip of the LAE peninsula from the Cottages is delightful and quite beautiful. In short, I do not hesitate to recommend LAE Cottages and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelin_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for reporting back about your stay at Lance Aux Epines Cottages. Feedback on what you enjoyed, or ways we can enhance your visit is always welcome, as it helps us tailor our services, so we can continue to meet the expectations of our valued patrons.
Without a doubt, the heat in the Caribbean can be intense during certain times of the year. You’ll notice it first when you step off your plane. Our beach-front property allows guests to cool down quickly though, by enjoying a refreshing dip in the sea, and we recommend several cold drinks at Sand bar on weekends! Standing fans can be requested to help increase the airflow in the non air-conditioned part of the apartment and all bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, providing you with a respite from the tropical heat. This also makes sleeping much more restorative.
Lance Aux Epines is a special place to us, and we are glad you took some time out to explore it. The view from the peninsula, especially when the sun sets, is nothing short of breathtaking. I hope you brought your camera. We would love to have you back and hope to see you again one day in the future.
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I almost didn't want to write this review as I don't want this place to become famous and raise their rates or get swamped with other tourists.

Main thing about this place was how nice and friendly everyone here was. Great room looking right out at the beach. Not real fancy but always clean and just nice.

I will be back for another visit.
Biggest disadvantage is that it is away from most things (i.e. shopping) so you can't just walk to the store to buy food etc.. I guess it woould help to have a car but driving in Grenada didn't look like much fun (I didn't try it)

Room Tip: Bring bug spray anywhere on the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonpieh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for choosing to share your positive experience at Lance Aux Epines Cottages with others. We appreciate your honest evaluation and are pleased to learn that you feel that LAE Cottages in and of itself is a secret almost too good to share! :-)
Since our beach front property is away from tourist traps, there is a lot less foot traffic, and it feels at times like a private beach. Most maintain the increased privacy and tranquillity is a good trade off, as access to the islands Spice Land Mall is about a 5 minute drive away. Our unique location means guests will most likely want to avail themselves of a car or bus, if shopping and sight seeing is a desired pursuit. For the adventurous who want to explore the island, a bus ride into town, from the roundabout (about 20 mins. walk), is an affordable $2.50 EC ($1.00 U.S).
Our talented staff are what make it possible for us to do what we do. Many have been with us for a long time and we are proud of the care they consistently provide our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day in the future!
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lance aux Epines
0.7 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
17.5 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lance Aux Epines Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lance Aux Epines Cottages

Address: PO Box 1187, Lance aux Epines 00000, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > Lance aux Epines
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lance aux Epines
Price Range: £133 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lance Aux Epines Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped Cottages and Apartments directly on a peaceful tree-shaded beach. Maid and light laundry service included so you can relax! Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lance Aux Epines Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lance Aux Epines Cottages Hotel St. George`s
Lance Aux Epines Hotel
Lance Aux Epines Resort
Lance Aux Epines Cottages Grenada, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing