We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT FOOD CASUAL ATMOSPHERE”

The Beach Club at Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Placed on the white powdery sands of L'anse Aux Epines Beach, The Beach Club at the Calabash offers the perfect lunchtime setting. British chef Mark Banthorpe fell in love with the island's flavours, and this love lead him to create an exciting menu focused on Grenada's natural ingredients and spices. Lunch is served between 12 noon - 3pm and "tapas" bites and cocktails available from 10.30am - 6.30pm everyday.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD CASUAL ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Bash restaurant is a must for Lunch. The food is to die for, so many different flavours. The setting perfect right on the beautiful beach overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Too many wonderfull dishes to recommend just one or two so if your heading for Grenada make sure you eat their a few times. We stayed at the Calabash for 10 days in February & eat their most days.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    32
    7
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Unbeatable quality and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Bash Restaurant & Beach bar takes its name from an abbreviation of the [Cala]Bash Hotel who own it and run it. Light snacks and tapas are available all day. More substantial meals during the lunch hour. Great meals and good value. My only quibble is the slightly casual service, perhaps we are spoilt by the excellent standards in the main hotel.

We have frequently shared one of their gi-normous club sandwiches between two. Arrive by boat at the Scubatech diving jetty or walk through the hotel gardens down to the beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were not bowled over by either the food (perfectly nice) or the service (somewhat disorganized and dissultory -- slow I don't mind). I was looking forward to a special treat, and it didn't happen. Three stars is a little harsh, but my husband who is much more forgiving than I, wasn't impressed either. We had made reservations for Friday lunch which they were indifferent to when we arrived, which set the tone for the lunch. They did have a very nice Calalloo soup -- though the waiter couldn't tell us anything about it. I think it would make a big difference if they just trained their staff to be more gracious and knowledgeable. The setting makes it special, although the bar 'hut' blocks a lot of the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely lunches right by the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very casual, swimwear with a sarong or shorts acceptable. You can sit inside in the cooler shade or outside under the umbrellas. Good selection and they didn't bother if one of you wanted food and the other just a drink. The quality of the food was excellent, and there was a good choice from light snacks to substantial meals. Very pleasant friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank whitesheilagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“True personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Having been lucky enough to stay at The Calabash, this meant we could dine at the Bash Restaurant whenever we liked! The setting is gorgeous: right on the beach with the Caribbean Sea just metres away. The menu is delightful: everything is so tempting and prepared fresh that day. We just loved choosing several small dishes to have a tapas style lunch and everything was delicious: squid, fish roti, shrimps and garlic, salt cod fritters and sweet potato fries were our favourites.
But what really sends this restaurant to the highest level is Mark himself. He is constantly chatting to his clients, discussing his food and making recommendations; he will even cook your favourite dish just for you if you so desired. Whilst discussing evening dining options, Mark then offered to drive us around some of the options that were available. This is outstanding and friendly service from a chef at the top of his game.
Outstanding in every respect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveH302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Club at Calabash also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Beach Club at Calabash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing