We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable”

The Beach Club at Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Placed on the white powdery sands of L'anse Aux Epines Beach, The Beach Club at the Calabash offers the perfect lunchtime setting. British chef Mark Banthorpe fell in love with the island's flavours, and this love lead him to create an exciting menu focused on Grenada's natural ingredients and spices. Lunch is served between 12 noon - 3pm and "tapas" bites and cocktails available from 10.30am - 6.30pm everyday.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Variable”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Sometimes the food is all right, sometimes it is greasy and stodgy. It varies. This is not a place you go to have a fantastic culinary experience. It is a place you go to have an acceptable meal with a good view. The view is always fine. The food, sometimes. And the service? Well, to say it is slow would be a gross understatement. But, if you are not in a hurry, it is not a problem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALLISTER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    34
    8
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunchtime Meals”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel and ate here every lunchtime.
Great food, lovely views ,wonderful friendly staff and Mark who will come chat with you while supervising the kitchen -what else can you ask for.
The menu is extensive but if you want something different they will try to fix it for you.Mark says if you want Ham & chips everyday rather than Lobster-so be it you're on holiday -enjoy. !! My wife had them turn their chicken wrap into a cheese wrap (she's veggie)and loved it-not only the meal but the fact Mark's crew would go out of the way to prepare it off menu
Great place to eat lunch Great bar.
.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lepont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late afternoon snack”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We visited bash for a late afternoon snack right before it closed so we were only able to have tapas.... The restaurant is closed after 3.

The tapas were all fabulous, except for the espresso bisque which tasted like hot whipped cream...not good at all.

However service was good and the place is beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank SCHENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
1 review
“lunch”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had lunch here a few times , while on a two week holiday !! Definitely the best food on the island, the lobster on the Sunday was fantastic!! and all in a fantastic location!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
1 review
“Beautiful Beach, Fabulous Food!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had wonderful lunches here several times during our stay in Grenada and between us all I think we must have tried the whole menu! We loved the Tapas menu and Sunday was a good day to go as its BBQ day & live music - we had lobster which was delicious. Try to save room for banana crumble or chocolate pot (or both) as they are divine!

Mark was great, he came to speak to us each time we visited & genuinely cared about what we thought of our food.

The service was good and we didn't feel rushed at any time even when it was busy. Drinks are served at your table from the little beach bar which does lovely cocktails and soft drinks (the Bentley was our favourite) Ask Herbie for an iced coffee - he makes the best on the island in my opinion!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaFbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Club at Calabash also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Beach Club at Calabash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing