We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most relaxing place on earth...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint-Clementin, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

simonwitt...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most relaxing place on earth...”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014

I cannot express how wonderfully relaxing this place is! Being tucked away from noisy towns, trains and planes next to the beautiful river with its exciting wildlife makes this the most relaxing place I have ever visited. There is plenty of space to stretch out into and a boat to take a trip up the river in addition to all of the home comforts one could need. A quick fifteen minute walk brings you into the sleepy village of Saint Clementin where one can easily wile away a couple of hours sitting outside Didiers bar in the sunshine with a beer or three! The hosts are extremely friendly and accommodating. I would challenge anyone not to come away from this place feeling fully refreshed and relaxed!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing holiday in a lovely old cottage with the perfect hosts.”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent four weeks during September 2014 in the Millers Cottage. It is a lovely old building that has been refurbished to make the ideal holiday accommodation. The area is completely rural but with many old and interesting towns within easy reach by car. We enjoyed our stay there and were overjoyed that Suzy and Tony made our Jack Russell as welcome as we were. I really can't recommend anywhere nicer if you want a quiet and peaceful but interesting holiday.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeyFriend
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This 11-century mill deep in France, far away from the autoroute and even from a Route National, "in the middle of nowhere" is perfect for those looking for a quiet holiday and planning to enjoy rural life. With our three children we enjoyed it a lot. The house has all you need (if not, the caring owners Tony and Suzy will look for it), there were games and toys of all sort and there is plenty of room to make a stroll on the grounds, look for berries and enjoy the little Argenton river. At night all you hear are the owls.
You will have your own private garden where your barbecue awaits you, on the bank of the river, with view on the Roman bridge.
We hired bikes and made trips in the area. Cycling proved relaxing: there is hardly any traffic (it looks as if France has more roads than cars), and the occasional motorists were very attentive. There are also some converted railwaytracks that are cycleroads nowadays.
The nearest Loire-chateaus are 45-60 minutes drive: Montreuil-Bellay, Brézé, Saumur. Same distance for the fascinating man-made cave-dwellings (the so-called troglodytes) of Rochemenier. There are other attractions in the area, but the main attraction is the quietness of this ancient charming mill in the bend of the river, with two old chapels as neighbours.

Date of stay: July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claremcgi...
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Eveything was just as we needed and more”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very relaxing stay at Millers house absolute paradise, this is the place to unwind and simply chill out. Suzy and Tony were wonderful and even got our grocery shop in for us prior to our arrival..priceless! Have booked in again for wk at end of Aug and cant wait.Highly recommend and so worth the money. ANTHONY & CLARE

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliki1984
Winchester
2 reviews
“The most wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a throughly pleasant stay at Le Moulin D'Arche in July 2014. We came for a relaxing break and all our expectations were exceeded. The countryside is beautiful, the mill is a wonderful little hideaway full of history, wildlife and natural beauty. The Millers House, where we stayed, was marvellously maintained, seamlessly combining authenticity with convenience (the kitchen is the best equipped self catering kitchen I've ever seen!) Our stay was very much enjoyed by all four of us. Suzy and Tony looked after us remarkably well, wonderful added bonuses included the BBQ, the boat and the vast expanse of grounds to relax and sunbathe in.
Having our dog here was also a real pleasure, we felt he was very welcome and he had a wonderful time as well. We would definitely recommend this to others and we hope to be back very soon!

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoloStef
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Delightful and Charming place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If your wanting peace and quiet and tranquility then theres no better place to stay. The Gites have been refurbished to a high standard by the new owners Tony and Sue. Whether you stay short or long term they are very clean with modern touches. Each Gite has its own little garden with a seating area and barbecue. You also have access through the Mill onto one of its twelve islands. Here you can sit in peace and quiet with a nice glass of wine watching the abundance of wildlife.
The hosts are the most friendliest and will go out there way to make your holiday as good as it can be. You'll most likely to join them sitting in the evening sun enjoying a bottle of wine or two!.
I would highly recommend the Moulin de L'arche.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.