We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant

The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Think of the Wheatsheaf as a place to relax. For people looking for comfort to socialise where it is as much about drinking as eating think "The Wheatsheaf Inn".The Wheatsheaf is about value for money, your need to escape, to relax and enjoy, somewhere where the food is traditional and comforting, all homemade on site using nothing but fresh local produce. Enjoy the company of family and friends. Watch the latest sporting event on the large screens. It more than just a pub it is a time - honoured village pub at the heart of the local community
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The roaring fire which is great on cold days. Good homemade food with a good selection. Warm and friendly atmosphere. Good choice of ales.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    47
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The food here was very good and good value for money. The service was fantastic particularly the girl with the blonde curly hair. The pub quiz is also worth a visit, would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lo223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We called in on the way home from Christmas shopping on Saturday, and the place was heaving at 5pm after the foorball results, with tears from Man U fans and gloating from Newcastle fans making for a lively and good hearted hour or so.

We were going to have a meal but as all tables were booked we decided to get a Burger from the "take away menu" (the main resteraunt menu but wrapped to go).
Great choice (I had the blue cheese and my partner the cheddar topping) and both burgers were worth the wait.They were Freshly cooked, moist and full of flavour and the toasted bun was a great touch.
The chips were chunky and beautifully cooked and had not gone soggy or limp by the time we got home (approx 10 minutes).

So congratulations to the new chef, and we will be back to test the rest of the menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gordon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good, traditional pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Found this place on TA when looking for somewhere to have lunch on the way to Scotland. The owner was very responsive when booking a table and very nice when we arrived.
Good menu and choice of drinks. The Sunday lunch was very good and the sticky toffee pudding was one of the best ever. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pomsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Burger Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Called in here whilst staying at a local hotel and had been advised to book a table but we didn't as wasn't particularly hungry so uncertain what to do but as it happens we got lucky with timing. Both still being in one of those fussy "I'm not really hungry moods" we decided we should order something otherwise would certainly be hungry later so we both went for what we thought was a good old boring burger and chips. Certainly not, it was the best burger me and the (very fussy) other half have ever eaten. The chips were deliciously chunky and homemade, the meat was excellent quality and had just the right amount of garlic sauce in the bun to finish it off. Heaven!! Our only complaint is that we live a mere 90 miles too far away to sample it more often ...however worth considering a house move for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claires79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing