We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ingredients, perfectly cooked!”

The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Think of the Wheatsheaf as a place to relax. For people looking for comfort to socialise where it is as much about drinking as eating think "The Wheatsheaf Inn".The Wheatsheaf is about value for money, your need to escape, to relax and enjoy, somewhere where the food is traditional and comforting, all homemade on site using nothing but fresh local produce. Enjoy the company of family and friends. Watch the latest sporting event on the large screens. It more than just a pub it is a time - honoured village pub at the heart of the local community
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ingredients, perfectly cooked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife had a fillet steak "Old School" which was perfectly cooked to her liking, the taste of the beef was excellent! I had swordfish from the specials board which was full of flavour and delicately cooked. All in all and excellent meal and we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madyarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    47
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food - traditional pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Family meal, Saturday 6:00pm, on a sunny "fete" day.

Grassy beer garden next to the car-park was being put to good use. Pub is traditional and not part of any chain. We ate paella (specials board), fish + chips, and a kiddies pasta. Food was really very good, and there was plenty of it. Service pleasant and polite, pleasant clientele.

Wife thought the toilets could do with a remodel.

Highly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Panhead-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“warm & friendly, lovely food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Got a reservation for 2 at short notice on Saturday night, we live a few miles round the corner so nice and handy for us. The menu is varied and has some different extras which aren't found at some other Pubs in the area. Very friendly staff and the pub although not massive, is very rustic and cosy and locals very friendly, we had a good chat with another couple from the village who we were sat beside. There is an outside beer garden if you want to enjoy the sunshine, the food we had was lovely and service fairly quick, we have been several times before and will definitely go again. The tick box question above is not a fair reflection on the meal as we eat out extensively in a lot of venues.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillouttime46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Miles above typical pub fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We visited the Wheatsheaf twice for dinner during a week-long stay in the area. Among several village pubs we visited, it was the only one we returned to for a second visit, it was that good. Staff were friendly each time. Upon arrival the first time, we were warned the kitchen was quite busy and there would be a bit of a wait. They were right, and we did have to wait a while for the food, but it was worth it, and it was nice to have our expectations managed.

The meals were such refreshing departures from standard pub fare. I actually had the same meal twice (chicken curry with lovely papadums and chutney) it was so good the first time. Everyone else in the family enjoyed their meals, including the vegetarian pasta and Cumberland sausage. The portions for the children's pizza was massive.

The restrooms were among the cleanest I've ever experienced in a pub. The village locals were friendly and struck up conversations a couple of times during our visits. We ate inside both times but the garden area looked like a nice place to have a pint or meal. The real ales I had were fresh and well-poured.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AirCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An afternoon to remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having visited this little gem on the outskirts of Carlisle, I was awestruck by the professionalism and knowledge of both the bar stuff and the owner of the lovely establishment on the area.

This cute little pub lies to the north of the village and is extremely welcoming but also offers a unique experience in that it has a huge beer garden and a picture perfect garden area for the kids to be let loose.

The only drawback we experienced was that even though the majority of the clientele were aristocrats, a couple of young lads with tattoos were speaking pretty loud in the corner of the pub and even swore once to our amazement.

However, the overall experience was smashing with some brilliant ales on offer.

Keep up the good work Wheatsheaf Inn Wetheral.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank offdutypolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing