We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant

The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Think of the Wheatsheaf as a place to relax. For people looking for comfort to socialise where it is as much about drinking as eating think "The Wheatsheaf Inn".The Wheatsheaf is about value for money, your need to escape, to relax and enjoy, somewhere where the food is traditional and comforting, all homemade on site using nothing but fresh local produce. Enjoy the company of family and friends. Watch the latest sporting event on the large screens. It more than just a pub it is a time - honoured village pub at the heart of the local community
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We went for our sunday lunch and it was absolutely lovely. The roast beef was cooked to perfection and the whole meal was delicious. Some of our party chose from the menu instead of having the beef. There is lots of choice and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. A lovely friendly pub thats worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank happy-couple101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    47
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top draw local pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

3 of us went for dinner . The food quality was excellent, well priced and the service was superb. would recommend this place to one and all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbrianblue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I visited the wheatsheaf today with my son and his wife and I have to say the food was very good but the swearing coming out of the kitchen wasn't,very disappointed. Not what you want to here whilst eating your meal.I have giving a rating of 4 because the food was good shame about the rest.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kizzy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Past through the village after looking for something to eat. And glad we did. The food was outstanding and I am a very fussy eater but even with my demands the food was excellent. The staff are a credit to this pub especially Katie who was always there when we needed something and was very knowledgeable. Would definitely return when in this neck of the woods.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lotty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Very friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Brilliant service from all staff. Food was excellent with a wide range. Full hearty meals too. and the selection of drinks was also brill. If like Ales, Lagers or Beers there is numerous selections of each. Can't praise the place enough. Will definitely be coming again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing