We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Romantic Break”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Last Minute Romantic Break”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked this hotel on recommendation of a work colleague and am so glad we did. The welcome was warm and friendly. We upgraded to the Eden Suite which was luxurious and comfortable which made our stay more relaxing.

Waltons bar has a homely feel and great atmosphere, this is where we had our evening meal and a few drinks, the food did not disappoint.

We also used the leisure facilities, walked around the village and down to the river as the weather was sunny and mild the village looked picture perfect.

Will definitely be back to the Crown Hotel.

Room Tip: The room we had in the older part of the builing had a lot of character so I would hope to stay in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your rewarding comments.

On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was my pleasure to look after yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    253
    82
    30
    11
See reviews for
193
417
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I want to give our thanks for the very professional and friendly service given to us at the restaurant on valentines day especially from Caroline. She was very attentive and could not have done any more for us! Thanks Adrian and Helen

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at the Crown on business following a word of mouth recommendation. Was extremely impressed from start to finish. Service was excellent (on a par or in some cases exceeding many 4*/5* hotels). I would single out Caroline who served us in the restaurant. The food was excellent. The hotel also has a small leisure centre with a pool which was great for unwinding in. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your rewarding comments. I am delighted that enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, that we have here to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granbury, tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have been to England several times with my church choir on tour as well as to visit friends, and this is the best place I have ever stayed. Granted my dad and I had a suite with a living/dining combo and a separate small kitchen, a separate bedroom and bath off the entry hall, and a sofa bed in the living area. It had a flower-lined walkway to the front door and lovely rose gardens that could be seen all around from the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your comments ( wow the best place you have ever stayed). Im delighted to hear this. It was our pleasure to look after you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Second trip to the Crown Hotel, and still as good as ever. Well signposted from main road with easy acess from motorway.Staff all very pleasant, from reception to dining staff, and also cleaning staff, who are often overlooked. Special requests made when booking were dealt with exactly as requested. Bedrooms and public areas all comfortable in freezing weather. Dining conservatory can be a litle cool, though, when sub-zero outside. Food was excellent and well-presented. Close proximity of railway line was not a problem as it is well screened from the hotel grounds. Saving up for return visit when it is warmer!

Room Tip: Warning for older folk - no lift to upper floor and going outside to access some rooms in mid winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your comments

I have taken onboard your comments regarding the dining room and we are look into alternative heating on those extra cold days.

Im glad you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and we look forward to your return in the summer time.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Our stay here was fantastic. Such a beautiful hotel and made full use of the pool and steam room.
Then the dinner was out of this world. They really know how to cook a good salmon.

Would love to stay there again, but it is a little expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to read your rewarding comments regarding our food in our AA rosette Conservatory restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We took advantage of a dinner, bed and breakfast offer and were very impressed with the value and service provided. All staff seemed friendly and effective, the food was good, especially the breakfast.
With it's avocado suite and plastic wood, the room was a little dated in taste but in good order and very clean and right for the price.
All in all, no complaints and a good choice for an out of town location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
974 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#2 of 20 in Carlisle
225 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Property: Crown Wetheral Hotel
Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing