We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Star rating”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Have stayed an dined in the the hotel many times and unfortunately I think their standards are dropping, food was not well presented and cold (rump steak on a slate?), also not usual to find a guest (I think) sleeping on a couch on the first floor landing at 7:30 in the morning. The hotel is now also becoming a little dated, could do with a makeover green suites went out years ago!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grasp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your comments. Im sorry to read that your dining experience was not to the standard that you had expected. I have passed your comments onto our head chef to investigate and react to.

On discussion with our night porter, the guest who was asleep on the couch was unwell and decided to rest there as she didnt want to disturb the guest who was in her room. Please be assured this is not a normal practice that we accept here at the Crown Hotel.

Currently we are undergoing refurbishment of bathrooms, which is ongoing and we anticipate all bathrooms to be completed by August. Please note this could take a little longer depending on business if the hotel is busy.

We hope to see you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    248
    78
    29
    11
See reviews for
185
410
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at the crown for the jubilee celebrations on the 4th great stay, only down side was not having the pre authorisation charge cleared off my account, I hope this was a oversight or maybe due to the bank holiday.
Rang up today to ask why it hadn't been removed yet & the girl on reception was very helpful in informing me to wait possibly 5 days. Hopefully all will be resolved in 5 days. Keep you posted

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABK-Aerial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your comments.

It is hotel practice to take pre- authorisation for stays in the hotel. Depending on which bank you do your banking with, a pre-authorisation can be held for up to 5-7 working days. Due to you staying over the Jubilee weekend and having two working days as public holidays this may take a little longer.
We have contacted HSBC on your behalf and they are working on the situation. Please if you have anymore problems regarding this situation please contact the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times now mainly with groups and I can honestly say it has to be one of the best hotels anywhere in the country. The food is always excellent and the staff are a credit to the hotel. I visited a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights with my wife and our daughter and her partner to celebrate our daughters 21st birthday and it was perfect, in fact the whole experience could not have been bettered. The feature rooms are incredible and are well maintained, the cleanliness is a credit to the housekeeping staff. Reception staff and bar and restaurant staff are very attentive and caring. The manager of the Crown Paul Hicks goes out of his way to make sure every guest feels at home and this attitude obviously influences his staff. One thing I must mention is the setting of this hotel The Eden Valley is a stunning location so easily overlooked, overall a perfect hotel in a stunning location. Thank you Paul and all of your staff for making our family celebration extra special.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a feature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Wow thank you for your comment, The best Hotel in the Country. That is such high praise. I have passed your comments onto all the team here.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us

On behalf of myself and my entire team here at The Crown Hotel, it was our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

i stayed here for 2 nights on business in april, i had booked late so i knew all the singles rooms had gone and didnt mind paying a bit extra for a double room and i was thrilled with the room. it was vast and best of all for me, right over the leisure centre so i could slip down the back stairs and be straight in the gym or pool. The leisure centre was one of the best i have been to in a hotel, two gyms a good pool and steam room, sauna etc. All the staff i encountered were lovely, from the receptionist, to restaurant and leisure centre staff. Breakfast was excellent and i would be delighted to return to this charming hotel at any time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minglem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your rewarding comments. Im delighted to read that you enjoyed our extensive leisure facilities that we have here to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is an excellent stop on a long journey from Scotland to England or vice versa, especially as one can have a swim to unwind. The possibility of a picturesque walk along the river is also a bonus. A real find.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at the Crown Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stumbled upon this bar attached to the hotel by accident and I'm really glad we did. The food is excellent and a very varied menu. Even when busy we didn't have long to wait. The service behind the bar very friendly and helpful and always smiling. The steak is the best I've ever tasted. The wine list is good and the white served chilled. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Price wise not cheap but worth the cost. I highly recommend the Crown for a meal. We haven't stayed at the hotel so cannot comment on accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your rewarding comments. I was delighted to read that your steak was the best you have ever had. I have passed your comments onto our head chef.

On behalf of myself and the entire team, it was our pleasure to look after you and your guests, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigton
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We went to the crown for a family reunion on last saturday night, the staff were very attentive and our meals in the walton bar were fantastic !!! The family really enjoyed the meal and the reunion , it was a great night. Thank you to all the staff for making our reunion very speical night.
Many thnaks from the Armstrong Family..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanWigton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I was very happy to read that your meal in Waltons Bar was the best meal you have ever had. I have passed your comments onto our Head chef and the Bar Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Property: Crown Wetheral Hotel
Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing