We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The hotel exceeded every expectation. The staff were friendly totally attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We decided (if possible) to stay an extra night. We could not retain our existing room as it was already booked but the hotel found us alternative (more luxurious) accomodation and transferred our bags etc to the new room for us. In both cases the accomodation could not be faulted, it was clean comfortable and well appointed.The food was good with plenty of choice and the dinner menus excellent with a good wine list. The restaurant staff were superb and the style of service was of a high standard. We did not use the leisure/fitness facilities but from the constant traffic it is safe to say they are of an equally high standard. Although perched above Wetheral railway station the line is not heavily used and the passage of a few passenger trains and heavy freights was not intrusive. Wetheral is a beautiful village (I have been visiting for about 50 years - since childhood) and no stay would be complete without a walk down to the Eden and along its banks facing Corby Castle. We ended our stay with great regret and will be hurryng back in the future to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: A view over the gardens is lovely from the first floor of the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was our pleasure to look after yourself and your guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Found this hotel to be excellent in important respects: well run, comfortable and good food. Staff were all friendly and attention to detail impressive. Our room was warm and comfortable with all the facilities needed for a pleasant stay. Unfortunately we only were booked in for one night, could have done with a longer visit. It also has a proper looking bar with real beers available. Swimming pool and gym were at hand though we did not have the time to try them out. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Modern rooms were very good. There may have been some older rooms which other "Trip Advisors&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucebassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your high praise review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the hotel, and that you think we should be 4 star hotel.

On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was our pleasure to look after yourself and your guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have known The Crown for over 30 years, during which time we calculate we (and four generations of our family) have stayed here over 100 times.
Kath & I stayed there again 3 weeks ago, together with our grandson and were so pleased to see that the same outstanding levels of hospitality remain. Nothing has been spoilt in all those 30 years.
The hotel offers a wide range of well maintained acccommodation. We always stay in the older (original coaching inn) part of the hotel (squeaky floors are part of its charming historic character) but there are modern extensions, complete with lovely pool and fitness facilities.
The conservatory restaurant is a sensitive extension to the Listed Building, offering a very high standard of dining, whilst Waltons Bar retains all its old character. We love to explore Wetheral village, a Conservation Area beside the River Eden but there is so much more to see nearby.

Perhaps most worthy of compliment, though, is the oustanding level of service enjoyed by guests. In our 30 years of visiting The Crown we have always enjoyed memorable service but manager Paul Hicks' present team consistently provide the very best of British hospitality.

Long may our family continue to visit The Crown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Wow thirty years of visits to the Crown hotel, you are one of our most loyal families that visit us. I am delighted to read that visit after visit you still find the Crown hotel to be fantastic.

On behalf of myself and my entire team, it is our pleasure to look after yourself and your family, we love to see you come back year after year.

I hope to see you back at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A great hotel in a lovely surrounding. The room was nicely set up in an old fashion sort of way that was charming. The dining room was very nice and the menu choices were excellent. We did not have the time to use the extra amenities but we did here good things about them. My only complaint was that there was a wedding there that night and the noise outside the hotel was very irritating since we were trying to sleep. If they are having this sort of function and you know about it ahead of time, maybe you should stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderlust458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to read that you were kept awake by guests attending a function. We do host functions throughout the hotel over the year, when there is a function on we do advise our guests that there could be noise. It depends on the type of function and the extent of noise that may affect our other guests. We do endeavour to allocate our guests who are not attending the function away from all function noise, so they will not be disturbed in any way.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, please contact myself or my reception team who will only be to happy to make your next reservation.
Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is my second visit to this hotel, both on business, so the pool didn't get used!!
Requested a single room, which was clean, but in need of an up lift. The avocardo bathroom has got to go.
However the bed was comfortable, and I had a good night sleep.

Last time we ate in the bar, which was very good, on this occasion I ate in the restaurant. And it was 1st class, lovely service, and the food was excellent. Well priced Too.

Good breakfast, Though I didn't have cooked the continental was excellent. My colleague had scrambled egg & smoked salmon which looked lovely.

Good service, lovely staff. Get the bedrooms done and this hotel would warrant a better grade.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Tobyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your comments, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the food that we have to offer at the Crown Hotel.

Thank you for your comments regarding the bedroom, we are currently undergoing a constant refurbishment program in the hotel, where we are updating bedrooms and bathrooms. I have taken onboard your comments thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for one night (shame it wasn't more) as part of an organised tour. The welcome we received was very warm. The staff, hotel and food were all excellent and I would thoroughly recommend a visit here. There is a swimming pool and gym facilities but we did not really have time to make use of these. Also, the hotel bar is used by local customers and the prices were very competitive (the cheapest we came across during our week's tour) The hotel is just in front of the local station so excellent if you travel by train as we did. We were not disturbed by any train noise and it was hard to believe that they were so close.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your rewarding comments.

On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was our pleasure to look after yourself and your guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Crown on our way to Scotland. The room was spacious and represented very good value for money, especially since breakfast and use of the leisure facilities were included in the price. We arrived late in the evening and had a drink in the hotel lounge; we didn't sit in the pub/bar because it was busy and noisy.

The leisure club is a little dated, although very clean.

Two things that soured our stay: 1. The early morning freight trains that went past the hotel, directly outside our room. 2. The lady working on the desk in the morning who asked us twice if we were sure we hadn't eaten in the hotel the night before, intimating that we were trying to leave without paying. Made worse because she had checked us in the night before after the restaurant had closed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWPDWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,031 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,417 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
648 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,086 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range: £76 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing