We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par Excellance - A spar hotel in the grand manner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Tintwistle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Par Excellance - A spar hotel in the grand manner”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A two day business stay at this excellent estabilishment with leisure facilities which include an indoor swimming pool, gymnasium, squash court, sauna, solarium and steam room.situatied in a delightful village setting - ample carpark space.

A lovely building and grounds to maintained to an exceptionaly high standard - that standard is reflected right though the hotel from decor, cleanliness, linen, hygiene and the standard of the staff - no, not staff but partners in a well run ship.

The standard and quality of food and the service is well above the standard for this grade of hotel. The food prices reflect the standard, quality, service and menu. Considering the amount of people desending on both the restraunt and the internal pub for food the price is not to high. The Beer is well kept and a good pint of John Smiths is on offer for those bitter drinkers amoungst us.

A place to take a partner for a treat.

Room Tip: Because this is an old building rooms on the first floor suffer from squeaky floorboards from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefJDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your highly praised review. I was happy to read that you have had an excellent stay with us at the hotel, and that you thought the food and service was well above the standard grade of our hotel.

I have noted your comments regarding the floor boards and I have passed these onto my maintance department.

On behalf of myself and my team, it was our pleasure to look after you, and I hope to see you back at The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    253
    82
    30
    11
See reviews for
193
417
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Had a lovely weekend at the Crown Hotel, could not fault it at all. Room was lovely with view of the well kept gardens. The hotel was very clean and well ran. Meals were perfect both breakfast and our evening meal which we had in Waltons Bar, Service was really quick. We used the Swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam room, it was the perfect weekend. The staff were all really pleasant and helpful, in fact we had a good look around the very pretty village and everyone we met spoke it is a really friendly place. The walk along the river is very nice too. We will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your rewarding review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Crown Hotel was a very welcome break from the stresses and strains of life! Immaculate, full of charm. The staff were very warm and friendly, happy to chat if you made the effort. They were very helpful indeed and attentive without over doing it. The food in both the Conservatory and Waltons country pub within the Hotel was excellent. The fillet steak outstanding ordered rare. I can highly recommend the Cod and Chips in the bar. Beautiful panoramic views very close by. And the gardens surrounding the hotel beautifully kept. The front of house staff particularly a lady called Lorraine went the second mile for myself and my girlfriend to ensure we had a gorgeous stay. Greg.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that you had a perfect stay with us and you especially enjoyed your meal. I have passed your comments onto all my heads of departments.

On behalf of myself and my entire team it was our pleasure to look after you and your guests and I hope to see you return to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were celebrating our ruby wedding anniversary and were treated to a one night stay at the hotel by our wonderful family. It was a special experience from the time we walked in, with a lovely greeting from reception. The suite was amazing, having a quality feel; the bed was beautifully presented with drapes and matching cushions. Every need was catered for from dressing gowns and toiletries to a trouser press. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a colour changing whirlpool bath and warm fluffy towels, which was perfect after a busy day of surprise celebrations. The restaurant was a delight; situated in a conservatory with views of the landscaped gardens. There was a extensive menu, consisting of a variety of locally sourced produce, which was freshly prepared and beautifully presented. We both ordered three courses, in addition to the complimentary fresh bread and sorbet; the food was absolutely delicious and of a very high standard and quality. The restaurant staff were very attentive throughout our dining experience ensuring that our every need was catered for. We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends and family for either accommodation or for a special dinner. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your highly praised review. I was delighted to read that you had a perfect stay here with us and you especially enjoyed the food and accomodation.

On behalf of myself and my staff it was our pleasure to look after you and your guests, and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards and best wishes
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

stay regular at this hotel , not too far from newcastle, the service to the cleanliness of the rooms, the food is very good, we normally order from waltons bar and always good. breakfast always fab, husband has the cumbrian full english i normally opt for omelette and lovely, got give massive shout to jean and gabi in there, remember us always lovely, we had rainy day gabi couldnt do enough telling us which indoor soft play to go and visit, thanks gabi, beppe has place running great! we go into waltons bar and lots of locals but very friendly, pat in there what lovely friendly lady, bros in law silver wedding not long ago, we paid for night for them at this hotel, we know they will love it as much as us. we booked to come back in august can't wait! thanks again mr hicks to you and your team and was a pleasure to meet you last time. lisa, stephen and steffi foster, newcastle upon tyne

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
It was lovely to see you and your family return back to visit us again so soon. Its always a pleasure to look after you all.

Once again I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay here with us, Im just sorry that the weather was not good for you.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to The Crown Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards and best wishes
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Called into the hotel for a break on our way back home from Glasgow. Ordered a meal in the bar, which came very speedily (which was good given our long trip ahead) Fairly basic stuff (a chicken kiev and scampi) with drinks. Only fault was my wife's salad was not properly washed so she left it. Staff were very welcoming and attentive. Overall, not a bad experience, certainly better than the service stations on the M6.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read about your salad, I have passed your comments onto my head chef who inturn has passed it onto his team and I do apologise for this shortfall.

I do hope we can see you return the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

we are a family of 4 and we all love staying at this hotel!we stay here when we come for the racing at Carlisle,they all make us very very welcome every time we go!they always remember us which is really nice,the gardens are beautiful and our 2 boys love running around in them,only disappointing thing is when they have a wedding us residents are not aloud to go in the gardens,i do feel this is wrong as we have paid to stay there!if you like a swim,sauna etc they have lovely facilities to do this in with your price of stay,the rooms are lovely and clean,and plenty of space,on the food front we haven't eaten in the restaurant before but the breakfast is plentiful!lots of choice,but if you fancy a bar meal the waltons bar is inside the hotel and the food is very nice and they welcome you too,i would recommend this hotel to any one

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
974 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#2 of 20 in Carlisle
224 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Property: Crown Wetheral Hotel
Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing