We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, quaint location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for one night to get a spa treatment and a nice evening meal for the bank holiday weekend.

The spa treatment was really good value for money and I couldn't fault it. Very relaxing and good facilities. The swimming pool was in a nice place, very light with tables and chairs for family to sit and relax by the pool without having to go in the pool themselves. The steam room and sauna were good too.

The room was not big but it was comfortable and the decor was really tasteful. The bathroom was really clean and light. The doors do bang and the walls are quite thin so I didn't get much sleep - try to avoid 206!

The food was amazing and the service from the waiting staff was exceptional - tip - get your drinks from the bar yourselves as getting them from the wait staff costs extra with a longer wait!

The breakfast was lovely too and we would like to mention Sue Murray who had a lovely manner and nothing was too much for her. Good to see someone enjoying her job and taking a real pride in looking after her customers.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and if you are looking to get married it is a really pretty location.

Overall really pleased with our stay and the price meant it was really good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid 206 - its next to a very noisy fire door
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsjtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Good Morning

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your recent spa break with us over the weekend. I have passed all your highly praised comments onto my team and especially Sue who you gave the special mention too.

On behalf of myself and my team, I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
There are newer reviews for Crown Wetheral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel was pretty hectic during our stay due to a wedding party. In the older section of the building, sound insulation is poor with partying and plumbing system noises all too evident. One of our friends had to complain about the noise at 3.00am!

The staff are welcoming and seemed eager to please. The standard of food is acceptable without being outstanding.

It's a pleasant place to stay provided it's not too busy.

Room Tip: Chose one that's not above the bar.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Good Morning.

Thank you for your review, firstly I would like to apologise that the noise from the wedding and plumbing disturbed your stay with us. I am happy to read that you thought all the staff were welcoming.

If you would like to return back to the Crown hotel please contact myself directly where I will be happy to offer you a favourable rate on a return visit.

Once again I do apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope in the future I will be able to welcome you back to the Crown Hotel.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is situated only a few miles off the M6 in a pleasant, quiet, little village. We had booked a dinner, B&B package. The dinner was excellent and the service very professional. Our (executive) room was a good size and overlooked the attractive gardens. The hotel is close to a railway station but trains are few and far between and unobtrusive. We stayed the night to break a journey from the south of England to the north of Scotland and this was an ideal place to rest between the two halves of the journey. The buffet breakfast in the morning was a good start to the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Good Morning

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel. On behalf of myself and my team I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Attended a friends wedding and I cannot fault the hotel or the service from the staff, I noticed a lot of things as I work in a hotel myself but the hotel In question I couldn't find a fault , well presented gardens lovely, areas throughout hotel clean and well managed, staff all friendly polite and helpful :-)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, where upon you have stated that you could not find fault with the hotel. Thank you for this, I have passed your comments onto my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed this weekend for a Spa break. Fantastic value for money but with absolutely no cut backs in service, quality or cleanliness. A lovely little country hotel with the warmth, charm and hospitality to match. The staff were amazing from reception, the spa, the restaurant and the bar.
Would highly recommend. We have already booked to go back and will probably slot another visit in over the next few months too.
We went for the silver spa package.... wonderful and the food included was first class.
Go on give it a go.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gspeed11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent spa break with us at The Crown Hotel. Its a pleasure to read that you have already booked your next spa break with us.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back personally in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A comfortable country village hotel, near Carlisle and Hadrians Wall
A mix of old and new buildings, nice rooms in the newer block have a balcony.
Pleasant small garden, separate block of leisure facilities.
Good food, proper public bar with draught beer and food. Useful stop from M6.
Service could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaviaEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have passed your comments onto my team.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from an overnight spa break at the hotel. We all had a great time enjoying fab treatments, amazing food, great accommodation but the best thing was the helpfulness of each member of staff. They were so welcoming, polite and such credit to the hotel. The spa packages are excellent value for money I haven't seen any deals like that elsewhere. It was so good were booked to go back later in the year!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your rewarding review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent spa break with us at the hotel, where upon you have enjoyed all the facilities and services that we offer. I have passed all your comments onto my team.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next spa break .

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,008 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,400 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
640 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,067 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#15 of 20 in Carlisle
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range: £66 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing