We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on a pamper break with 11 of my friends for a hen weekend. The break is great value, the hotel is lovely and the staff were all friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them, especially David the night receptionist who came to our rescue after one of our group fell over her heels on the way back to the hotel.
Wetheral is a lovely peaceful pretty village.
The food in the restaurant was delicious, also had a decent bar meal, and the breakfast was a winner too.
The beauty therapists were fantastic and kept very busy by our group. The pool and all facilities were clean and well kept.
I'm already planning another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your rewarding review. I am delighted to read that you and your guests enjoyed your recent hen spa break weekend where upon everyone has enjoyed the services and facilities that we offer.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I am delighted that you are already planning your next visit back to The Crown Hotel.

On behalf of myself and my team, I would like to wish you and your Fiancé the best of luck for your wedding day.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have recently returned from our 4th stay at the Crown Hotel and enjoyed it very much. It is a smaller and more intimate hotel located in a lovely village just 3 miles from Carlisle where we always find the service to be first class and welcoming. The rooms are furnished to a good standard and guests have the option of modern or more traditional rooms in the original building. The staff are always only too willing to accommodate our requests and our dog is made equally welcome. Has a nice spa and pool and when we have visited it has never been busy. Food is always good quality and all in all the hotel provides for a relaxing stay. Looking forward to our next stay later this summer.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms available in the modern wing on request
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrs149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. Its always a pleasure to welcome repeat guests back to the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your fourth stay with us.

On behalf of myself and my team, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This establishment is a classic example of the rule that stars are awarded by ticking boxes against a list of facilities rather than being a measure of the quality of the establishment and the level of service one can expect. The hotel has plenty of facilities, including a spa, pool and leisure centre (which we did not use) but the public rooms and our bedroom were finished and furnished on a low budget basis and certainly did not exude any class. Dinner was well up to the AA Rosette standard in terms of food quality and cooking but it was very surprising and disappointing to be faced with a choice of either a three course table d'hote menu (all three to be taken) or the a la carte which featured only two starters and two mains - the shortest such menu we have ever encountered. Service was average at best. Our bedroom was the biggest disappointment. An attic style room with a small roof light and no air conditioning was not a good environment on a hot day. The bed turned out to be fitted with a worn, hollowed out mattress that was most uncomfortable. With a decent level of investment in facilities and service this hotel could be very good, especially given its excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MET2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased that I have had the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding the points you have raised and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked a 3 night stay at the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis , as a base for exploring Hadrian's Wall. It is situated in a very small village about 5 miles from Carlisle. It's a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean. Our bedroom was lovely - overlooking the garden ( only complaint is the garden lights are left on overnight and even though curtains are blackout, still allow some light in). The beds were comfy.
It was very warm the few days we stayed and the room is not air conditioned, however a large room fan was provided as soon as we requested it.
There is a Leisure Centre and swimming pool available as well.
The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Self service cereals, fruit etc and table ordered cooked food.
We ate the Table d'Hote menu each night in the lovely Conservatory Restaurant. It has lots of choice and the food was wonderful, tasty and good portions.
The staff are attentive and friendly.
I thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Garden, which was quiet - although a bit of light does enter bedroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your recent three night stay with us. Yes as you mentioned sadly our hotel bedrooms are not air conditioned but we do offer fans for guests staying in the hotel. I am delighted that you would recommend our hotel to other guests, thank you in advance.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Saturday morning splash club for the children is great. Staff are always friendly and helpful and you feel children are safe as lifeguards constantly watching. Able to relax while the children played. Exceptionally clean too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to review our Saturday morning splash time. I am delighted that your family all enjoyed the their time with us at our leisure facilities. I have passed your rewarding comments onto my leisure club staff.

I would like to thank you for attending splash time and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to splash time in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Located a few miles outside of Carlisle in a lovely little village, this hotel was quite the stately place. It's bigger than it looks and there were tourists, business travellers and a wedding party or two making it quite the busy spot. It's slightly dated but still quite posh - there's a nice pool and well kept grounds, as well well as a restaurant and a pub. We walked the grounds and yes, we had a drink in the pub, which was really quite nice (we got a spot by the fire). Breakfast was good and I was pleased to hear Guns & Roses playing quietly as we munched on toast soldiers and looked out over the grounds. Nearby there's a path going down to run beneath the impressive train bridge and along the exceedingly lovely Eden River. It's a far cry from the grit and history of Carlisle, but only a short drive or train ride so its a nice place to cool your boots on a tour of the region. It's close to Hadrian's Wall and the Long Meg standing stones, as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent value at this hotel with a fairly newly renovated room and a nice dining/breakfast area. The food for dinner was really good as was the breakfast menu. Way more than we needed but we did enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, where upon you have enjoyed the services and facilities that we offer here at the Crown Hotel.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel as your desired accommodation and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,053 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,434 reviews
4 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,117 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#10 of 20 in Carlisle
659 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range: £72 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing