We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£81
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Expedia.com
£80
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£78
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ellee79
England
Great Stay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2024
Great hotel.
When I saw the hotel on the main website I really wanted to stay , so booked a two night stay.
Friendly welcome and everything explained, and a bonus we were able to purchase reduced entrance prices to the park being hotel guests.
Hotel area very secure with passes needed to access it and the rooms.
Nice addition of the kitchens on both floors, vending machines for snacks and microwave, ice machine etc.
The room was comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay, great tea tray offerings and a bonus of a fridge so we could have fresh milk.
Nice view over the hex courtyard and hive shops / wheel.
Bar / bistro was really nicely decorated and all staff friendly .
We didn't eat a main meal there but when having a drink heard the gentleman next to us praise the chef on his meal.
Breakfast was also in the bistro, all very clean and well laid out.
The only thing we were not keen on were the sausages, and on the 2nd day my coffee was cold from the self service machines , however it's only minor and I was happy with the other offerings.
Spent a lovely day walking round the park and was nice to have the hotel so close to go back and relax after all the walking around.
Date of stay: February 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£81
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £78
  • Expedia.com
    £80
0.0 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Toby Carvery Doncaster by Innkeeper’s Collection Double Room
Booking.com
£53
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £144
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £144
2.4 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Entrance
Booking.com
£43
  • Expedia.com
    £43
  • ZenHotels.com
    £41
  • Priceline
    £50
3.4 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Premier Inn Doncaster Central East hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
£35
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
3.6 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £72
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.8 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£35
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
3.8 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£72
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
4.1 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    £50
  • eDreams
4.4 miles from Hex Wildlife Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Auckley
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
84
21
17
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
84
21
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yorkshire wildlife park family room ice machine the hotel reception soft play hope to return next year bunk beds separate building mini fridge my daughters birthday the actual hotel separate review adjoining rooms check in was quick and easy beer garden hotel is beautiful room key
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Hotel clean but very basic...room OK but furnishings could do with an update...no carpets which is OK until you have a child staying in the room above you which is running round screeching all evening and from 7.00am in the morning! You would have no idea you were connected to a wildlife park. The only animal is on a screen as you walk in the hotel...Nothing in the room....Food in Evolution was terrible..Have been looking forward to staying here for a long time but feel very very disappointed 😞

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maisey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robyn B, Guest Services / Front Office at Hex Wildlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to deliver feedback from your recent hotel experience. I am sorry to see that on this occasion we unfortunately did not meet your expectations and that the design of the hotel interior was not to your liking.
All rooms are designed with a contemporary modern style that we hope meets the requirements of all the guests that stay here, ranging from families to couples and also to the business traveller. It is shame to see that the design was not what you expected or to your preference. I feel that had you of reserved a room with a park view you may have felt differently. We do offer park side rooms on our booking platforms, should you wish to return again in the future maybe a room overlooking the Wildlife park would be better for you?

Thank you again for your feedback and comments.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Great hotel room very clean, 2 adults and one young teen, spacious room we was overlooking the shopping area which was fine. Plenty of supplies to make drinks, mini fridge, good size bathroom with lovely products. Lots of fluffy towels. Good temperature room. Comfy beds and a great buffet style hot and cold breakfast. Felt very safe, good reasonable price would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bev_Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manon V, Guest Services / Front Office at Hex Wildlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear guest.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review from your recent hotel experience.
I am delighted to see that you had a lovely stay and that you enjoyed all the facilities in the hotel.
Hopefully we can welcome you back next time.

Kind Regards,
Hex Wildlife Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Premium room with balcony was amazing!
Beautiful design with huge bathroom including bath, spacious & comfy, modern & stylish. Good selection of tea & biscuits. We did see some animals from the balcony but was not clear what they were! I could not fault the room. Hairdryer is hiding under the mirror (in a lift up drawer).

Staff were all so helpful and kind especially when my son locked closed the safe & forgot to code….thank you for sorting!

Breakfast was very good in a beautiful restaurant next door to hotel with an outdoor area with views of the park. Breakfast is not included but is definitely worth it if you like a fry up!

The Evolution restaurant is super fun for kids with some moving features including a dinosaur, pirate staff, disco, dragon etc. You should prebook this as it does get booked up! Food was very good.

The dinosaur softplay Uproar is well worth the entrance fee (£8 for kids, £1 for adults) - 10% discount for hotel guests on first visit & 50% discount on second visit. You can’t prebook with discount, as hotel give you a card on check in.

There are lots of fun shops & cafes including an ice cream parlour. There’s a big wheel. There really is lots to do even without the wildlife park but we are excited to visit the park today!

Great value for high quality. Tip-you can use clubcard points to get a hotels.com voucher to help towards the cost.

Room tip: Prebook evolution restaurant,
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thegeorgiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tara G, Guest Services / Front Office at Hex Wildlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as we always strive to offer the best experience for our guest and we will be more than happy to pass on your wonderful comments to other areas that you visited on your stay as they would all appreciate the great feedback.
We hope that we get the chance to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Hex Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

We had a great family break at the Hex hotel and Yorkshire wildlife park. There was so much to keep the children entertained. The hotel was clean and well equipped. Shower was good, plenty of clean towels and lovely comfy beds. There was lots of choice at breakfast but I would prefer my bacon and sausages cooked a bit more. Room was small but sufficient for our one night stay, there was a fridge, plenty tea and coffee and an iron but a hair dryer would have been good. Would stay again and recommend to friends and family

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 770vi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tara G, Guest Services / Front Office at Hex Wildlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, all of our rooms are equipped with hairdryers that can be found in the lift up vanity, we would have been happy to help with this while you were with us had we been made aware, given this we are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and facilities that we offer and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Hex Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2024

The modern rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was impressed by the seamless check-in process and the hotel's attention to cleanliness.

Check-In is in a seperate building to the main hotel, but not an issue. Options to purchase temple spa packages from the check in area.

Rooms were very quiet with no noise from other guests etc, each floor had access to a kitchenette area with vending machines to cook / purchase hot snacks. Rooms had tea coffee facilites, chrome cast on the TV, hairdryer etc

Restaurants were very very quiet mid week.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tara G, Guest Services / Front Office at Hex Wildlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review of your stay with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Hex Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews