We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.....”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lavendon
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This village pub has so much potential but frankly is let down by inadequate staffing and poor management. Hubby and I popped in for supper tonight, we live in a nearby village. It was quite early so not busy. We stood at the bar for what seemed an age and were final 'served' by a young man who was obviously new/inexperienced as another guy came and took over. This should have served as a warning for what was to follow, but we were both hungry so decided to ask for a table. We found a table but still didn't have a drink. Eventually our drinks order (a bottle of wine), was brought to the table we had been given. We had already chosen what we wanted to eat as had been waiting so long, but were not asked for what seemed another age. After eventually placing our order, the server came back to advise that my choice (fillet steak) was not available. I therefore went for the same as my husband, the chicken fajitas. We waited and waited. Other people were seated and got their order. There were not enough staff and we heard some commotion in the kitchen and the f word shouted....not impressed. After 30 mins my husband went off to see what was happening. The guy that had brought our wine said that he would find out and let us know. Nothing..... Another 10 minutes passed, he spotted us across the restaurant, opened the door to the kitchen, shouted 'are the fajitas next', to be told 'no'. He did not come to our table to tell us, so we decided enough was enough and went to the bar to advise we we leaving and pay for our wine. At this point the guy who had said he would let us know what was happening with our order came into the bar. We thought he would apologies and not charge for the wine, but no. He said 'next time you come in I will charge you two for the price of one'. Next time? No chance. A really poor experience, handled very badly by the staff. Give it a wide berth......

    • Service
37  Thank happygirl043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, we take everything our customers say on board. We are working really hard to recruit and train our very new team at the moment, and are sorry you encountered issues with our new team who were clearly struggling at the time. Training is paramount to our success and we will continue to work with our team to ensure they have the training they require to give excellent customer service in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to this pub last night and whilst it all looks goods the food is terrible.
Service - painstakingly slow 25+ minutes between courses, no courtesy check at any stage.
We ate the mixed grill and a sirloin streak - asked for it rare and got it well done. The mushroom was deep fried and the tomato looked like it had been used elsewhere.
A la carte it isn't it's badly cooked pub food served on a table with a table cloth, that's it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
37  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your meal on this occasion and have spoken with our kitchen team, we hope you may return again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to this pub about a month ago for Sunday lunch and were very pleased with the service and food, it was a very pleasant family lunch. However, we went back today (8 June) for my birthday Sunday lunch with a party of 9 and were very disappointed with the service. The food was adequate but there were silly niggling annoyances. The salad had no dressing and was very tired looking, the new potatoes were very grey. The children's ice cream had melted by the time it came out to them and we had to ask for one dessert which they appeared to have forgotten. The service was so slow the meals came out in dribs and drabs, which with young children is less than satisfactory. All in all we were very, very disappointed with our dining experience today.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
32  Thank Ladysue2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene K, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to The Green Man, I’m sorry we didn’t meet your and our normally high standards of service and food quality.

I hope you will return again in the near future as I can assure you your recent visit does not reflect our normally excellent standards of food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Regarding the review Slow and Rude We have visited The Green Man most weeks since Andrew and Michele took over the Management of it and have always had SUPERIOR service ( we were customers of theirs at The Globe ) We have always found them very curtious and polite and certainly never rude. I would advise anyone to try The Green Man and decide for them selves regarding service etc.I think you will enjoy the experience Also Kevin is very polite The slow and rude review bears nothing that I have ever experienced at this Establishment

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank terrytarbox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene K, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent visit, We are very pleased you had a great time here at The Green Man, and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards Michelle & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We called in the Greenman after a day out in Bletchley, We ordered Three times fish and chips and 1 gammon steak. The fish was first class as was the gammon, all meals were piping hot, the service we received was excellent, will be returning in the near future

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 12one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
Bromham, Bedfordshire
 
Turvey, Bedfordshire
Turvey, Bedfordshire
 
Newton Blossomville, Buckinghamshire
Olney, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing