We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear”
Review of GreenMan

GreenMan
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lavendon
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I hate writing bad reviews and if I could easily find an email I would email direct. Had food yesterday evening it was bad. Service good but end product meal grey ham hard fried eggs, kids food burger dry and shrivelled what a shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
34 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at GreenMan, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your comments

We are sorry that on your recent visit your dining experience did not meet the usual high standards we pride ourselves upon. your comments have been taken on board and any issues that may have influenced the food quality in this instance have been addressed.

It is only from constructive feedback that we can strive to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    69
    42
    36
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Why the Bad Comments?”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Since Andy and Michelle took over this pub a couple of months ago the drinks have improved significantly. We decided on an impromptu meal and much to our surprise (the meals have been awful in the past!), the meals were yummy. Ok so the service can be a bit slow but if you want fast service I would suggest going to McDonalds not to a village pub. If you want restaurant service and restaurant quality then I'm afraid to say you need to pay restaurant prices and go to a proper restaurant. The Green man is a pub and you get good pub meals at pub prices, if that's not for you, then the Green Man isn't for you either. Michelle and Andy are doing their best to turn this pub around but they need time to do that. They have only been here for 5 mins and they have made some great improvements so I am sure the rest will follow. They are the best landlords this pub has had in quite a while so please Give them a chance!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PoBo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at GreenMan, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, we look forward to your continued support and custom, Michelle & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Terrible.....”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This village pub has so much potential but frankly is let down by inadequate staffing and poor management. Hubby and I popped in for supper tonight, we live in a nearby village. It was quite early so not busy. We stood at the bar for what seemed an age and were final 'served' by a young man who was obviously new/inexperienced as another guy came and took over. This should have served as a warning for what was to follow, but we were both hungry so decided to ask for a table. We found a table but still didn't have a drink. Eventually our drinks order (a bottle of wine), was brought to the table we had been given. We had already chosen what we wanted to eat as had been waiting so long, but were not asked for what seemed another age. After eventually placing our order, the server came back to advise that my choice (fillet steak) was not available. I therefore went for the same as my husband, the chicken fajitas. We waited and waited. Other people were seated and got their order. There were not enough staff and we heard some commotion in the kitchen and the f word shouted....not impressed. After 30 mins my husband went off to see what was happening. The guy that had brought our wine said that he would find out and let us know. Nothing..... Another 10 minutes passed, he spotted us across the restaurant, opened the door to the kitchen, shouted 'are the fajitas next', to be told 'no'. He did not come to our table to tell us, so we decided enough was enough and went to the bar to advise we we leaving and pay for our wine. At this point the guy who had said he would let us know what was happening with our order came into the bar. We thought he would apologies and not charge for the wine, but no. He said 'next time you come in I will charge you two for the price of one'. Next time? No chance. A really poor experience, handled very badly by the staff. Give it a wide berth......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank happygirl043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at GreenMan, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, we take everything our customers say on board. We are working really hard to recruit and train our very new team at the moment, and are sorry you encountered issues with our new team who were clearly struggling at the time. Training is paramount to our success and we will continue to work with our team to ensure they have the training they require to give excellent customer service in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wost Pub in Bucks!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to this pub last night and whilst it all looks goods the food is terrible.
Service - painstakingly slow 25+ minutes between courses, no courtesy check at any stage.
We ate the mixed grill and a sirloin streak - asked for it rare and got it well done. The mushroom was deep fried and the tomato looked like it had been used elsewhere.
A la carte it isn't it's badly cooked pub food served on a table with a table cloth, that's it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
37 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at GreenMan, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your meal on this occasion and have spoken with our kitchen team, we hope you may return again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to this pub about a month ago for Sunday lunch and were very pleased with the service and food, it was a very pleasant family lunch. However, we went back today (8 June) for my birthday Sunday lunch with a party of 9 and were very disappointed with the service. The food was adequate but there were silly niggling annoyances. The salad had no dressing and was very tired looking, the new potatoes were very grey. The children's ice cream had melted by the time it came out to them and we had to ask for one dessert which they appeared to have forgotten. The service was so slow the meals came out in dribs and drabs, which with young children is less than satisfactory. All in all we were very, very disappointed with our dining experience today.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
32 Thank Ladysue2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene K, General Manager at GreenMan, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to The Green Man, I’m sorry we didn’t meet your and our normally high standards of service and food quality.

I hope you will return again in the near future as I can assure you your recent visit does not reflect our normally excellent standards of food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GreenMan also viewed

Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Turvey, Bedfordshire
Turvey, Bedfordshire
 

Been to GreenMan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing