We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility with fine dining”
Review of Domaine Michaud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine Michaud
Ranked #1 of 1 Roullens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012

If you should pass through life without spending at least a few days in this wonderful haven you will have missed a rare treat!! The house is situated in the hills above Carcasonne with great veiws of that stunning walled town and the Pyrenees mountains. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully appointed, the hosts are charming and welcoming and the food is superb. Having lived in France for seven years I can honestly say the dinners we ate here during our short stay were some of the best meals I have eaten in France. We will be back without a doubt - maybe just for a relaxing time by the pool, reading and dozing and replenishing the batteries..

Room Tip: The setting is tranquil so all rooms must be peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frencheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Having decided on a 4 night break in Carcassone we researched hotels in the Cite.Having read various reviews about the limited number of things to do in the Cite we checked the surrounding area.This proved to be the right decision for us.

The reviews for Domain Michaud were outstanding,We now now why.

Jolanda greeted us on arrival with a friendly welcome and a pot of tea.

We had originally booked dinner just for the first night but the food was so good we dined at the
Hotel every night.Jolanda's 'Surprise' menu was excellent and innovative (she does ask if you have any dislikes).For a vegetarian she certainally knows how to cook meat.The duck and chicken dishes were outstanding.

The menu consists of an appetiser followed by 3 courses with wine and coffee to finish.At 30 Euro per person we thought it was good value.

Breakfast is a continental buffet and was very good.We were lucky with the weather and managed to sit outside for 3 of the mornings.With the sun out and lovely views it was a great way to start the day.

Our room,Serena,was spacious as was the bathroom which also had a walk in shower.It was very light,bright and airy with great views over the pool towards the hills with the Pyrenees in the distance.

Jolanda is the perfect host.She advised us of possible trips and loaned us the maps which made the daunting task of arranging car tours fairly easy.She cooked the meals,arranged breakfasts and seemed to be everywhere around the hotel.She was ably assisted for 2 of the dinners by Naomi Esme,her charming daughter.Jolanda is very keen to discuss any ideas guests may have and always enjoyed discussing food.She really should take time to write a cook book.

In conclusion we had a marvellous break due in no short measure to Jolanda and family.

P.S . We had not realised just how much there was to see and do within a fairly short radius of Carcassonne.We did 2 full day car tours but when I looked at the tourist board publication "The 7 best things to see and do around Carcassonne" we had not visited any of them!! So we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed in Domaine Michaud for two nights in September 2012. We travelled straight there from Perpignan airport - it was a tiny bit difficult getting there but it when we arrived we were taken aback by the spectacular views and peaceful setting. Yolanda welcomed us and described at length everything we needed to know about the house and its history. The house is well presented, very clean and the centre piece is a fantastic, giant fireplace in the middle of the dining area (there's an amazing wood-burning smell when you pass through the room). Our room was the perfect size, very chic and stylish, with a decent sized, clean, bathroom/shower. Opening the shutters gave a spectacular view over the pool and rolling hills that are part of the property. On both nights we stayed we decided to eat at the house. Prices were very reasonable for the (high) quality of the food & wine. Yolanda really is a talented chef - she should really expand the restaurant! Her daughter, Naoimi, chatted with us and explained about the background of local wines we tried. Breakfast options were plentiful, fresh and delicious. They're lucky to have a good quality baker nearby!
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There were other very nice guests staying at the time - so, between them and Yolanda and family it was a very convivial atmosphere. The two (small) complaints I would have is that the pool was not available for use when we arrived. I know most French people would not want to swim in a pool in September but us Irish guys have a high tolerance for cold water! Also, there needs to be credit card facilities so it is difficult to have cash on hand to pay the final bill when the nearest cash machines are probably in Carcassonne.
I'd highly recommend staying here if passing through, or even as a destination - you'll not be disappointed by the location, quality, rooms, food nor the hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjdmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I visited Domaine Michaud for a much needed relaxing break after travelling from Australia. My sister-in-law and her partner joined us from England and we found this to be the most amazing B&B for our family holiday. Its location was peaceful with the most spectacular views, rooms were large and comfortable and Yolanda's cooking was just fantastic (breakfast, lunch, dinner). Sitting in the afternoon sun having a lovely glass of wine looking over the country side truly was a beautiful and relaxing experience. Thank you Yolanda for making our family catch up so special :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful 9 night stay at Domaine Michaud. The B&B is in a very quiet location but only 15 minutes from Carcassonne. Jolanda, the hostess with the mostess was very friendly, helpful in giving suggestions of things to do and places to visit and kept this fabulous B&B clean and inviting. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were basically continental with cereals. The museli was scrumptious. We had dinner there on three occasions and found the food to be excellent. We especially enjoyed dinners when the daughter, Naomi Esmee was available to be the lovely waitress. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable and our ensuite had a bath tub and separate shower - nice decor and furniture. The views from the pool area are just spectacular and we enjoyed several days just chilling around the accommodation and pool. We would well reccommend if you like lovely views, a tranquil location you stay at this great find.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be individual and nicely presented and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were going to stay in Carcassonne for 4 nights but were having difficulty finding an hotel that we liked. We came across Domaine Michaud almost as a "last restort" and we are sooooo pleased we chose to stay there for 4 nights. Our room was a good size and nicely presented. The view from our window was superb. Jolanda and her daughter Naiomi Esme are Dutch and speak very good English too! After a day sightseeing it was lovely to come back to the peace and quiet of the garden and sit with a glass of wine and soak up the late afternoon sunshine. We opted to eat there and we weren't disappointed. Jolanda's food (served with wine) was superb, some of the best we had during our month long tour of France,Switzerland, Italy and Spain. Jolanda was very helpful in planning our sightseeing and Naiomi Esme's evening greetings and stories were a highlight. Domaine Michaud is still "work in progress" but what they have achieved in the short time they have been there shows their commitment to make their guests stay as memorable as possible. We would not hesitate in recommending a stay here and don't miss out on Jolanda's cooking.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and pool have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We bathed in the magnificence of Domaine Michaud for three nights and so wished that we could have stayed longer. A stunning location tucked into the hills above Carcassonne. Beautifully appointed with everything you could want; an enveloping bed, a large bathroom, comfort and such cleanliness. After a day of sightseeing, to return to the terrace, a crisp bottle of chilled white wine from the local 'cave' and a good book was more than anyone could wish for. To while away the time in the October sunshine until our superb dinner is something I intend to do whenever I am in the region. This is truly a rare place made special by the care and consideration to all aspects of the hospitality given by this friendliest of families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine_balson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roullens
8.1 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
321 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
450 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chateau de Cavanac
Chateau de Cavanac
#1 of 1 in Cavanac
371 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2.9 mi away
Aux Anges Gardiens
Aux Anges Gardiens
#4 of 53 in Carcassonne
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Michaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Michaud

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Michaud, 11290 Roullens, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Roullens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roullens
Price Range: £137 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel , luxury B&B + high qualified restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine Michaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Michaud Carcassonne/Roullens, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing