We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting with wonderful food and charming hosts”
Review of Domaine Michaud

Domaine Michaud
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Roullens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Domaine Michaud is a concept restaurant and works with a surprise menu of the day. We kindly remind you that you must make reservations in advance. However you are able to specify any matters concerning allergies or real dislikes to take into account during your reservation. Our service is possible in: French - English - Dutch - German
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with wonderful food and charming hosts”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We visited Michaud after seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor. Well worth the 20 minute journey from Carcassonne. The setting is beautifully tranquil with stunning uninterrupted views over the City. Dinner was served in the simple, yet elegant dining room and was a beautifully prepared array of courses that started with an amuse-bouche tomato appetiser - delicious! Then, a pancake with a goats cheese, leek and honey filling - lovely! A wonderful pea compote that my husband raved about, followed by the main of Pork with a vegetable risotto. Perfectly sized portions, that we accompanied with some superb locally produced wines. The young waitress was absolutely charming, spoke impeccable English and was knowledgeable about the wines and explained what each course was. The owner also came out to talk to us at the end of our dinner for a chat with all the guests.

My only, very small criticism would be that a little more music would add to the ambience. We spoke in hushed voices because the music was virtually inaudible, which made you conscious of what you were saying. There were 5 tables, but nonetheless, it was very quiet!

Excellent value - 168 euros for 4 of us, including 3 bottles of wine!

A beautiful evening. We would definitely recommend...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,006 reviews
502 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Four of us recently enjoyed a delicious three-course meal in their stylish dining room. Great food and service in a lovely setting away from the busy Carcassonne area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food with a view”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Imagine an exquisite dining experience, sitting at an elegantly laid table. Views of The Pyrennees on your right and La Cite of Carcassonne to your left. The menu is a total surprise and very well thought out. Beautifully cooked and presented, sourced with local ingredients. Even the wine was from a local grower and tasted divine. Absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HeidiKirkland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabuloso!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just got back to our hotel in carcassone and we spent the entire car journey talking about the incredible food, service and atmosphere of domaine Michaud.
Beautiful setting, lovely family run business and incredible views. The food was just incredible - but also comforting and warm (no overly fancy stuff) cooked to perfection. We sat next to a French couple who said it was the best confit du canard they had eaten. I think that says it all!
A mouse bouche - a warm creamed carrot pot was a delight, followed by the rich starter of pesto mousse with courgette goat's cheese and sundries tomatoes. The confit du canard was rich and luxurious with a particularly wonderful sauce made from local port wine. Dessert, a lemon meringue was the best meringue I've ever had, warm marshmallows lemony flavours. Wonderful.

What an incredible family who run this wonderful place. Go. Eat. Look at the view. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best ever”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A wonderful dining experience - wonderful views from the terrace of Carcassonne Cite and the Pyrenees. Then we went into what can only be described as a beautiful dining area and lounge.
We had been asked when we booked if we did not like any types of food and if we had any allergies - this then enabled the chef to buy appropriate fresh items for a set menu for all the guests - so making the meal a surprise. There were a total of 18 guests - many appeared to be residents in the Chambre D'Hote run by the Domain.
Excellent choice of locally produced wine from Domain Cointes close by - also in Roullens - http://www.chateaudecointes.com/ (we chose the white grenache which was an ideal acompaniment for the turkey main course).
After the meal we spoke with the chef who came to speak to all the guests.

A fantastic evening - one we will remember - especially as it was given as a gift for my 60th birthday by our son Jonny and his girlfriend Sarah who beat us by a couple of weeks to finding this place to eat.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith_Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Domaine Michaud also viewed

 

Been to Domaine Michaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing