We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have stayed here several times and have always found the service/staff wonderful.
The Rooms are always clean and fresh.
The Beds are very comfortable but the pillows are NOT (I must remember to take my own in future)
The view of the Harbour is truly beautiful.
I enjoy the walk from behind the Motel down to the harbour.
There are plenty of restaurants within a short distance.
200m from Railway station which is very handy.
The Motel bar has a pleasant atmosphere and a nice wine selection.
Wednesday evening the motel does special drinks & nibbles which is nice & it is lovely to meet other guests.
The Motel restaurant itself has a moderate selection of menu choices of good quality however the Breakfast is overpriced for the quality which is 'only just'.
Shops are close by if you need anything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    480
    137
    46
    35
See reviews for
146
362
49
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Room was ok, refurbishment is nice, beds are comfy, bathroom was clean. But...
So much for their 2pm room guarantee. We got there early and parked the car so we could walk around the corner to get some lunch. On arrival we were invited to check in now (12 midday) but were told the room wasnt quite ready but the hotel does have a 2pm check in guarantee - No problem. We went and had some lunch and returned at 2pm. Room not ready.
We were supposed to be at engagement party at 4pm. We went upstairs to a relatives room and were told they would call us when the room was ready. 2:30pm, still no call. I went back down to reception to be told it still wasnt ready and they will check with house keeping. No offer of a drink at the bar while you wait. 10 min later, at 2:40, i was still sitting at reception waiting, and finally the room was ready. So basically we had 45 min for 2 adults and a child to get ready. The room was ok, although it was on the second floor. and our relatives who also stayed payed $30 less than us for their foom, were 4 floor higher and 10 times better view than ours. The who room shakes when the trains go by.
Breakfast was nice, but at $30 each, a little expensive for what they had.
Wont stay here again, we were considering their NYE package, but will look elsewhere.
Something as simple as a complimentary drink while they get your room ready would have made a world of difference.

Room Tip: Dont count on a 2pm check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_t_man05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

A lovely stay - easy to get a taxi from the hotel; VERY friendly hotel staff; clean, comfy rooms. Great restaurant food! The location is good...nice and central and 15 min from most attractions. Really fantastic - I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank YummyTravellerMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Woke up in the morning by the rumbling trains

Starts from 5:45am
At peak time, the room rumbles for 17-27 seconds every 2 minutes.
It was as loud as my TV (72db) and minor vibration too

Room is clean and tidy. As you would expect.


Won't be coming back again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZacChanteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our family have just stayed for two nights in a family room with a view of the bridge. The rooms were clean, staff were friendly. The deal we got included buffet breakfast for the four of us which was real value for money - we had breakfast around 8:30am each day, there seemed to be a line up for the people who arrived at 9. (The hotel was full capacity as Vivid was on)

We had dinner in the restaurant - the meals were $29-$36 a main but were fantastic. Only a minute's drive and you are on the bridge heading over to Circular Quay. Short walk to Luna Park.

Will definitely stay again on my next stay in Sydney as so close to the city yet without the city price.

Room Tip: Book a bridge view room - fantastic.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luckybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Harbourview Hotel in North Sydney is my hotel of choice when visiting Sydney for either business or pleasure.

The staff there are super friendly and go out of their way to make you feel right at home.

It's the little things that the Harbourview do that make this place special - from the 'welcome back' card and complementary sweets on the table when you get to your room, to the shoe-shine gentleman in the foyer on weekday mornings, to the fruit bowl in reception.

Yes there may be a little noise from the railway line that runs under the building, but you would quickly get over that when you look out of the window at the view of the stunning Sydney Harbour.

I would highly recommend the Harbourview Hotel as the best value for money in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 6 are better if you want to reduce noise from the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights & it was amazing. I was on the 9th floor & looking outside the window I saw the bridge & the city. The staff were great & helpful. It's a business area & close walk to great restaurants & felt safe. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzi88best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Property: North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Address: 17 Blue St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing